FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 ... LastLast

VICI: A Software Development Project

I thought I might create a thread to document a moderately complex program I have been working on.

The main aim of the thread is to show what is involved in creating a non-trivial program. We often get members that are just starting out on a programming career and get a bit carried away once they have done anything more complex than Hello World. I would like this thread to show that software development is far more than just writing some code, and that writing large programs need not be overwhelming.

The target program is one that I have been contemplating for many years but work commitments usually got in the way. I have often considered it to be a waste that the command line programs, like sort, are almost invisible from the GUI desktop environment and we occasionally get threads on these forums from users wanting a simple way of automating some actions. The project aims to remedy this by creating a GUI program that can be used to create simple scripts.

I think that the first step in any project is to create a vision statement. This should aim to describe what the project is about and hopefully enable some one to determine if the software would be of any use to them. Think of it as the first draft of the home page for the project.

Comments are, of course, very welcome, and I hope we can have some interesting discussions along the way.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by ocratato; 18th March 2016 at 12:49 AM.

Re: VICI: A Software Development Project

Good idea, it may prove to be instructive.

How do you intend to prototype that?

Quote Originally Posted by dobbi
    Good idea, it may prove to be instructive.

How do you intend to prototype that?
    Prototyping is an interesting issue. There are three different sorts of prototypes that could apply to this project.