[SOLVED] Grub Error with Fedora 20 install
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Grub Error with Fedora 20 install

    I am fairly new to Linux. I had Windows 7 installed on one hard drive (sda1) and Ubuntu 13.10 on a second hard drive (sdb1). I replaced Ubuntu with Fedora 20, and used the recommended partitioning with separate partitions for boot, /, and /home. After completing the install, I got the grub rescue screen, and using the ubuntu live cd I was able to create a new primary boot partition on sda (sda2) and got grub installed onto it. Now I get the grub> command line and cannot for the life of me figure out what to type. I have tried supergrubdisk, but no matter what option I choose it says "error 15" and puts me back in the menu. Boot-repair in Ubuntu never successfully finishes either, giving me an error: "Please enable a repository containing the [grub2] packages in the software sources of Linux (mapper/fedora-root). Then try again." What should I do? I can get whatever info anyone needs to help me. Thanks.

    Update: I have just completely reinstalled fedora 20, and after rebooting I am still stuck on the grub> command line. Fedora installation seems to be completely missing the part about GRUB altogether.
    Last edited by shadow0861; 28th January 2014 at 08:55 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,891
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Grub Error with Fedora 20 install

    The grub prompt means that grub has been installed on the machine. Grub has a shell with commands that you can use after the prompt to try a recovery. Have a look at the website:

    http://tuxers.com/main/instigating-a...e-grub-prompt/

    where there is an example of fedora with lvm. If you have done a standard installation and let the installer make the decisions then it usually chooses lvm as I understand it. The described recovery on this webpage has worked for me in the past.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Since writing this, I have since installed Ubuntu and, just now, successfully installed Fedora 20. Every automatic partition setting that Fedora chose would ALWAYS end in a Grub Rescue> after an error. Fortunately I randomly had a 4GB partition left on my primary (Windows 7) Hard drive. This last time I manually added partitions /, swap, and /home on my second HD in LVM, and added /boot to /dev/sda2, the 4GB partition on the first HD.

    For some reason unknown to me, my computer hardware setup requires my /boot to be on a separate HD from the rest of Fedora, whether I use LVM or not. Long story short, this didn't work:

    Sda1--Windows 7, NTFS
    Sda2-- Unused

    Sdb1--/boot, ext2
    Rest of Sdb used in LVM or standard partitions, ext4

    This is the only way I got it to work:

    Sda1--Windows 7, NTFS
    Sda2--/boot, ext2

    Sdb--entirely LVM partitions, /, swap, and /home, ext4

    Thank you for your help though, I have saved that page for future grub repair help, it would have been the missing link that I needed to complete my repair.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    17
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Grub Error with Fedora 20 install

    This is depressing to read. I am in a very similar situation. I just installed fedora 20 from a live USB stick, and I am getting error 15 when I try to boot up. I am a linux installtion novice, for sure. I have the same hardware setup as you - windows 7 on one hard drive, and linux on the second hard drive.

    It looks like I have a reasonable grub.cfg file, with entries for linux and windows 7. I really have no idea how to proceed.

    Here is the result of "fdisk -l". I thought the sdb drive would have a boot partition. I let the Fedora installer set up the partitions automatically. I am booted from the installation USB stick. Anyway, this is what I have now:

    Disk /dev/sda: 1.8 TiB, 2000398934016 bytes, 3907029168 sectors
    Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disklabel type: dos
    Disk identifier: 0x899d417f

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 2048 206847 102400 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
    /dev/sda2 206848 3907026943 1953410048 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT


    Disk /dev/sdb: 1.8 TiB, 2000398934016 bytes, 3907029168 sectors
    Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disklabel type: dos
    Disk identifier: 0x0001246c

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sdb1 * 2048 1026047 512000 83 Linux
    /dev/sdb2 1026048 3907028991 1953001472 8e Linux LVM


    Disk /dev/mapper/fedora-swap: 11.8 GiB, 12691963904 bytes, 24788992 sectors
    Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes

    Disk /dev/mapper/fedora-home: 1.8 TiB, 1933490257920 bytes, 3776348160 sectors
    Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes

    Disk /dev/mapper/fedora-root: 50 GiB, 53687091200 bytes, 104857600 sectors
    Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes

    Disk /dev/sdc: 3.7 GiB, 4004511744 bytes, 7821312 sectors
    Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disklabel type: dos
    Disk identifier: 0x00000000

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sdc1 * 32 7821311 3910640 b W95 FAT32


    Disk /dev/mapper/live-rw: 3 GiB, 3221225472 bytes, 6291456 sectors
    Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes

    Disk /dev/mapper/live-base: 3 GiB, 3221225472 bytes, 6291456 sectors
    Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes

    Disk /dev/mapper/live-osimg-min: 3 GiB, 3221225472 bytes, 6291456 sectors
    Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Grub Error with Fedora 20 install

    EDIT=Me saying things like "I think" or "if memory serves" is not me not sure about the process, just not sure what the menus are actually labelled.

    Just by looking at your hard drive set up, I see what I believe is your issue. If it is, then you will just have to reinstall, and follow these instructions. You will have to control the partitioning process yourself.

    Right now, you have 2 active boot partitions, one on SDA1, I am assuming from Windows, and one on SDB1 from Linux. This is no bueno, as for some silly reason, Fedora only boots well for me if the /boot partition is placed on the first hard drive, with Windows.

    Run Fedora install again. Tell it you want to configure partitions yourself (the option is 'something else' if memory serves). When both hard drives show up, the first thing you want to do is select dev/sda1 (you might have to remove old partition) and format it to ext2 (that is what mine is) and select that to be used as /boot (you select this from a drop-down menu I believe called "mount point"). At the bottom of the screen, there should also be a drop-down menu where you can select which drive is the one to boot from, make sure dev/sda is selected.

    Now to work on dev/sdb. First, select the old partitions and remove them each. What I did after that was I made logical partitions for Linux itself. It would look like this for you:

    LOGICAL PARTITIONS:

    swap 12 GB Logical partition (swap is in mount point drop-down, as are all the rest of the different labels"

    "/" (system mount point) 50 gb Logical partition

    "/home" (data partition) All remaining HD space (default) Logical Partition

    That should do the trick. /boot seems to have to be on dev/sda

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    17
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Grub Error with Fedora 20 install

    Thanks for the reply. I remember that Grub has to write to the MBR of the Windows 7 hard drive, otherwise Windows 7 will not be happy.

    I wish there was a away I could convince the Fedora 20 installer to use the existing boot partition on the Windows hard drive. I'm timid about reformatting anything on the Windows drive. But, I guess it has to write something other than what was on that boot partition before, so I have no choice. OK, here goes nothing....

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Grub Error with Fedora 20 install

    How did it go?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    17
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Grub Error with Fedora 20 install

    Hi,

    It went pretty great! Thanks! I got Fedora 20 to boot up by following your instructions. The Fedora 20 installer was a little cludgy, but it's nice to be able to set it all up before hitting the "fire" button. I had to restart it a couple times to make sure I had what I wanted.

    Now, the only problem is that I need to get grub2 to offer me a chance to boot into windows 7. I see at the top of grub.cfg that the entries are generated automatically by running grub2-mkconfig. I just ran grub2-mkconfig, but it did not create a Windows 7 menuentry. Should I copy the menuentry for windows 7 out of my old grub.conf file? I hesitate to edit the grub.cfg, since the comments at the top warn against it.

    the good news is that the file browser in F20 can see my windows 7 files - so I successfully rewrote the boot partition on sda1 without destroying my windows 7 files. Yeah for that.

    I don't want to jinx it, but I have a feeling that I am pretty close to having the dual boot working properly.

    Thanks again!
    Last edited by johnLIC; 21st February 2014 at 03:42 AM. Reason: forgot to mention

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    17
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Grub Error with Fedora 20 install

    I don't think this is the problem, but this looks wrong to me, given that I have two hard drives:

    [root@localhost grub2]# cat device.map
    # this device map was generated by anaconda
    (hd0) /dev/sda
    (hd1) /dev/sdb
    (hd2) /dev/sdc
    (hd3) /dev/sda
    [root@localhost grub2]#


    I thought I should just have

    (hd0) /dev/sda
    (hd1) /dev/sdb

    Why do I have the 3rd and 4th lines?

    I think the real problem I need to solve is getting windows 7 into the grub.cfg....

    thx

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    17
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Grub Error with Fedora 20 install

    OK, I found some info about getting a Windows 7 entry into grub.cfg. I tried a couple different ways. Neither way works.

    On the first way, I get "unkown command 'chainloader+1'":


    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/11_Windows ###
    menuentry "Windows 7" {
    set root=(hd0,1)
    chainloader+1
    }
    ### END /etc/grub.d/11_Windows ###


    The other entry I inserted into grub.cfg end up with an error about "unkown uuid [ a long sting of random looking letters and numbers]"

    Here is that bit of the grub.cfg:
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
    # This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries. Simply type the
    # menu entries you want to add after this comment. Be careful not to change
    # the 'exec tail' line above.
    menuentry "Windows 7 (loader) (on /dev/sda2)" {
    saved_entry=${chosen}
    save_env saved_entry
    insmod ntfs
    set root=(hd0,1)
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set e0d4a286d4a25e92
    chainloader +1
    }
    ### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    17
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Grub Error with Fedora 20 install

    Status: I am able to boot into Fedora 20, but I am not able to boot into windows 7. I have tried a few different times to adjust the grub.cfg entries, but I keep getting errors like "invalid signature" or "BOOT_MGR not found".

    Any advice anyone?

    I ran the bootinfoscript. The summary right at the top seems to point out my problem, but I don't know enough to sort this out. Here are the results:

    Boot Info Script 0.61 [1 April 2012]


    ============================= Boot Info Summary: ===============================

    => Grub2 (v1.99) is installed in the MBR of /dev/sda and looks at sector 1 of
    the same hard drive for core.img, but core.img can not be found at this
    location.
    => No boot loader is installed in the MBR of /dev/sdb.

    sda1: __________________________________________________ ________________________

    File system: ext2
    Boot sector type: -
    Boot sector info:
    Operating System:
    Boot files: /grub2/grub.cfg

    sda2: __________________________________________________ ________________________

    File system: ntfs
    Boot sector type: Windows Vista/7: NTFS
    Boot sector info: No errors found in the Boot Parameter Block.
    Operating System: Windows 7
    Boot files: /Windows/System32/winload.exe

    sdb1: __________________________________________________ ________________________

    File system: LVM2_member
    Boot sector type: -
    Boot sector info:

    fedora-swap': __________________________________________________ ________________

    File system:
    Boot sector type: Unknown
    Boot sector info:
    Mounting failed: mount: unknown filesystem type ''

    fedora-root': __________________________________________________ ________________

    File system:
    Boot sector type: Unknown
    Boot sector info:
    Mounting failed: mount: unknown filesystem type ''
    mount: unknown filesystem type ''

    fedora-home': __________________________________________________ ________________

    File system:
    Boot sector type: Unknown
    Boot sector info:
    Mounting failed: mount: unknown filesystem type ''
    mount: unknown filesystem type ''
    mount: unknown filesystem type ''

    ============================ Drive/Partition Info: =============================

    Drive: sda __________________________________________________ ___________________

    Disk /dev/sda: 1.8 TiB, 2000398934016 bytes, 3907029168 sectors
    Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes

    Partition Boot Start Sector End Sector # of Sectors Id System

    /dev/sda1 * 2,048 206,847 204,800 83 Linux
    /dev/sda2 206,848 3,907,026,943 3,906,820,096 7 NTFS / exFAT / HPFS


    Drive: sdb __________________________________________________ ___________________

    Disk /dev/sdb: 1.8 TiB, 2000398934016 bytes, 3907029168 sectors
    Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes

    Partition Boot Start Sector End Sector # of Sectors Id System

    /dev/sdb1 2,048 3,907,028,991 3,907,026,944 8e Linux LVM


    "blkid" output: __________________________________________________ ______________

    Device UUID TYPE LABEL

    /dev/mapper/fedora-home 81063b5d-9f0c-4596-b1dd-76f1bc0060de ext4
    /dev/mapper/fedora-root c49eb23b-289a-4be6-8f04-e4f6690b9cb4 ext4
    /dev/mapper/fedora-swap 7e501108-1e9f-4f4a-8107-8c8ff9d270ef swap
    /dev/sda1 11402898-4d8c-43ad-bc50-aee3ad1cb9f6 ext2
    /dev/sda2 94B26CA5B26C8D94 ntfs
    /dev/sdb1 Xd4gDf-nJPo-YskT-fOJR-kLyl-f1yF-PPZ24G LVM2_member
    /dev/sr2 2010-11-25-15-53-25-00 udf CDROM

    ========================= "ls -R /dev/mapper/" output: =========================

    /dev/mapper:
    control
    fedora-home
    fedora-root
    fedora-swap

    ================================ Mount points: =================================

    Device Mount_Point Type Options

    /dev/mapper/fedora-home /home ext4 (rw,relatime,seclabel,data=ordered)
    /dev/mapper/fedora-root / ext4 (rw,relatime,seclabel,data=ordered)
    /dev/sda1 /boot ext2 (rw,relatime,seclabel)


    ============================= sda1/grub2/grub.cfg: =============================

  12. #12
    PabloTwo's Avatar
    PabloTwo is offline "Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Seville, FL
    Posts
    8,010
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Grub Error with Fedora 20 install

    Quote Originally Posted by johnLIC
    I see at the top of grub.cfg that the entries are generated automatically by running grub2-mkconfig. I just ran grub2-mkconfig, but it did not create a Windows 7 menuentry.
    In Fedora, when you use the "grub2-mkconfig" command, you have to also provide the location of where to create the newly generated grub.cfg file. If you don't, it's created in whatever is your current working directory, which in all likely hood is not where grub will be looking for it. Try, as root:
    Code:
    grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg
    You might want to remove the edit to your 40_custom file first though.
    With an MBR install of W7/Fedora, 30_os-prober should have no problem at all finding and including a W7 install into the grub.cfg menu file.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    17
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Grub Error with Fedora 20 install

    Hi,

    Yeah, I figured out how to use the grub-mkconfig command. The 30_os-prober should have picked up Win 7 during the fedora install, right? I had no win 7 menuentry after installing F20, which is why I'm trying all this stuff to get Win 7 to boot. I just tried removing my edits and remaking grub.cfg, but no entry for Win 7 got created.

    This is what has caught my attention. Can anyone interpret this snippet from bootinfoscript?:

    => Grub2 (v1.99) is installed in the MBR of /dev/sda and looks at sector 1 of
    the same hard drive for core.img, but core.img can not be found at this
    location.


    thanks,

    JP
    Last edited by johnLIC; 21st February 2014 at 06:52 PM. Reason: tried remaking grub.cfg

  14. #14
    PabloTwo's Avatar
    PabloTwo is offline "Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Seville, FL
    Posts
    8,010
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Grub Error with Fedora 20 install

    The 30_os-prober should have picked up Win 7 during the fedora install, right?
    Yes, that's right. Unless something somehow got clobbered and/or deleted in your W7 install concerning critical W7 boot files, it should have "just worked".
    This is what has caught my attention. Can anyone interpret this snippet from bootinfoscript?:

    => Grub2 (v1.99) is installed in the MBR of /dev/sda and looks at sector 1 of
    the same hard drive for core.img, but core.img can not be found at this
    location.
    I can't resolve this "issue" for you (not on my W7 machine at the moment) but it certainly doesn't sound good, and may be the cause of the missing W7 grub.cfg menu entry, but I can't with any certainty that it is the cause.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    17
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Grub Error with Fedora 20 install

    Yes, 30_os-prober picked up Win 7 the first time I tried to install over my Fedora 15, but grub2 couldn't load either operating system. So, I reformatted the boot partition on the Win 7 drive. After that I can boot F20, but not Win 7. I hope I don't have to repair the Win 7 MBR or something.

    Ideas, anyone?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Fedora 19 install fail Grub error
    By miclineback in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10th August 2013, 11:03 PM
  2. Fedora x86_64 won't install GRUB GEOM Error SOLVED
    By jonathonp in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23rd December 2009, 01:18 AM
  3. GRUB Raid0 & Install "grub hard disk error"
    By synic in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 24th February 2008, 11:45 AM
  4. Grub Error 13 after install/reboot
    By gerasmus in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th August 2006, 09:35 PM
  5. Grub install error...
    By AlaxMAX in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13th July 2005, 12:26 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •