FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 42 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 626
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    462

    How to ndiswrapper in Fedora

    I originally had a write up on linuxquestions.org at Broadcom but after some time, I found an easy way of making things work

    If you want ndiswrapper from cvs then use the above link else download the stable version from
    ndiswrapper

    or
    Please make sure kernel-devel is installed to make the install easy and painless
    If you have FC4 and have /etc/yum.repo.d/livna.repo configured
    Code:
    [livna-stable]
    name=Livna.org Fedora Compatible Packages (stable)
    baseurl=http://rpm.livna.org/fedora/$releasever/$basearch/RPMS.lvn
    enabled=0
    gpgcheck=1
    Code:
     
    # yum --enablerepo=livna-stable install ndiswrapper kernel-module-ndiswrapper-$(uname -r)
    or for FC5 do this

    Code:
     # yum -y install kmod-ndiswrapper
    For my case, I have a Broadcom BCM9306 chipset and the windows driver needed is bcmwl5.inf and bcmwl5.sys. Move both files to a folder in your home directory called bcmwl. I hope you know you first have to creat the folder bcmwl
    Code:
    mkdir bcmwl
    Do the "make install" only if you have the source file. I will strongly recommend the rpm file from livna
    Open a terminal and uncompress ndiswrapper.

    Go to the ndiswrapper folder and as root
    Code:
     
    #make install    --do this if you downloaded the source file or skip this if you used the livna rpm
    Code:
    # /usr/sbin/ndiswrapper -i <your home directory>/bcmwl/bcmwl5.inf   
             ...this command will create a folder in /etc/ndiswrapper/bcmwl5/bcmwl5.inf
    # /usr/sbin/ndiswrapper -l
             -- make sure it says "bcmwl5 present" 
    # /sbin/depmod -a
    #/sbin/modprobe ndiswrapper
    # dmesg 
             --you will see a log about the driver been loaded if you do then
    # /usr/sbin/ndiswrapper -m
            --create an alias in /etc/modprobe.conf
    Here comes the easy part
    close terminal and point your cursor to Desktop -->System Settings -->Network Configuration and type in the root's password when prompted.
    In Network Configuration, click on New and then "Select Device type box" shows, highlight Wireless connection and click on "Forward".
    This brings up the "Select Wireless Device box" window, which has ndiswrapper(wlan0) highlighted, then click "Forward".
    This bring up the "Configure Wireless Connection box" which allows you to set the mode, ssid, channel, rate and hex key. After you are done, click "Forward"
    This brings up the "Configure Network Settings box" which allows you to set the dhcp, dns and ip address. When you are done, then click forward.
    The next box "Create Wireless Device box" has all you settings for you to double check before hitting apply.
    When you hit apply, it should take you back to Network Configuration, highlight the created wlan0 and click "Edit" which allows you to fine tune the configuration, like if you want all users to be able to enable wlan0, if you want wlan0 to start on boot etc. Go though the tabs and check everything and make sure it is up to your specification, then click "Ok" and then the final thing
    on "Network Configuration", click on "File" and then "Save"

    If every is correct, you can then click on activate to activate wlan0

    If you have any constructive comments please post

    Below are screenshots and broadcom drivers and on page 13, I have posted the newer driver
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	wireless1.png 
Views:	9246 
Size:	629.8 KB 
ID:	7408   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	wireless2.png 
Views:	5726 
Size:	639.1 KB 
ID:	7411   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	wireless3.png 
Views:	4600 
Size:	817.5 KB 
ID:	7412   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	wireless4.png 
Views:	4983 
Size:	580.1 KB 
ID:	7413  
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Darkmage; 12th September 2006 at 10:21 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    1
    My wireless card (Dell TrueMobile 1350 I think) requires bcmwl5a. It works fine when I use the commandline utilities to work with it (iwconfig, iwscan, dhcpd, ifconfig, etc.), but the Network utility won't see the card.

    Code:
    ndiswrapper version 0.12 loaded (preempt=no,smp=no)
    usbcore: registered new driver dellomci
    ndiswrapper: driver dellomci () added
    ACPI: PCI interrupt 0000:01:03.0[A] -> GSI 7 (level, low) -> IRQ 7
    ndiswrapper: using irq 7
    divert: allocating divert_blk for wlan0
    wlan0: ndiswrapper ethernet device 00:90:96:bb:f6:69 using driver bcmwl5a
    wlan0: encryption modes supported: WEP, WPA with TKIP, WPA with AES/CCMP
    ndiswrapper: driver bcmwl5a (Broadcom,02/17/2004, 3.40.65.0) added
    ndiswrapper: driver bcmwl5 (Broadcom,02/17/2004, 3.40.65.0) added
    Any suggestions?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    462
    What is the output of /etc/modprobe.conf

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,317
    Gah I finally got my card to work again after reading this, I forgot about the -m flag that creates the appropriate alias for ndiswrapper. I was starting to loose hope until I read this, thanks for posting it.
    Ware wa mutekinari.
    Wa ga kage waza ni kanau mono nashi.
    Wa ga ichigeki wa mutekinari.



    Please vote for this bug and help me make GAYT [Go As You Type ]a standard option in Firefox.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    462

    Thumbs up

    I am glad this helped and yes you are right the key to ndiswrapper in Fedora is
    Code:
    ndiswrapper -m
    I think this allows the Network Configuration to detect it and can then be configured with the gui tool

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,317
    that creates the alias the gui tool needs in modprobe.conf...elusive thing it is.
    Ware wa mutekinari.
    Wa ga kage waza ni kanau mono nashi.
    Wa ga ichigeki wa mutekinari.



    Please vote for this bug and help me make GAYT [Go As You Type ]a standard option in Firefox.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    7
    hi there...

    i followed this guide and it seems to have worked without any problems... having manually set the ip details for my dlink dwl-g520+ card from my router's ip management details i can activate the wireless connection...

    i'm pretty green when it comes to linux however and i was wondering what else i need to do to actually get the internet working; i get a 'google.co.uk could not be found' type error when i run firefox... am i missing something really obvious?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    462
    Quote Originally Posted by andywhitehurst
    hi there...

    i followed this guide and it seems to have worked without any problems... having manually set the ip details for my dlink dwl-g520+ card from my router's ip management details i can activate the wireless connection...

    i'm pretty green when it comes to linux however and i was wondering what else i need to do to actually get the internet working; i get a 'google.co.uk could not be found' type error when i run firefox... am i missing something really obvious?
    Since you can activate your wireless connection, post the output of
    Code:
    /sbin/iwconfig

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    21
    Beautiful, hopefully this is the solution to my problem. :P

    EDIT: Do I still have to make a symlink for the modules folder? That seems to be my main area of frustration.
    Last edited by solidsnake; 5th April 2005 at 11:52 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    462
    Quote Originally Posted by solidsnake
    Beautiful, hopefully this is the solution to my problem. :P

    EDIT: Do I still have to make a symlink for the modules folder? That seems to be my main area of frustration.
    Please specify what modules you want to make a symlink to. I am trying to understand your question.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by Darkmage
    Please specify what modules you want to make a symlink to. I am trying to understand your question.
    It seems I resolved that problem, ndiswrapper works fine, however, now i get this error when trying to install the .inf file:

    Code:
    Installing mrv8k51
    Parse error in inf. Unable to find section W8100PCI.zerocfg
    Parse error in inf. Unable to find section W8100PCI.zerocfg
    Parse error in inf. Unable to find section W8100PCI.zerocfg
    Wireless card is a DWL-G510, driver was downloaded from dlink for the revA version. I'm stuck at this point, because ndiswrapper says it is installed even though i get the above error, but it will not work.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    462
    Quote Originally Posted by solidsnake
    It seems I resolved that problem, ndiswrapper works fine, however, now i get this error when trying to install the .inf file:

    Code:
    Installing mrv8k51
    Parse error in inf. Unable to find section W8100PCI.zerocfg
    Parse error in inf. Unable to find section W8100PCI.zerocfg
    Parse error in inf. Unable to find section W8100PCI.zerocfg
    Wireless card is a DWL-G510, driver was downloaded from dlink for the revA version. I'm stuck at this point, because ndiswrapper says it is installed even though i get the above error, but it will not work.
    My suggestion as root, delete /etc/ndiswrapper with
    Code:
    rm -fr /etc/ndiswrapper
    then install your *.inf file again with
    Code:
    ndiswrapper -i <this contains the location of your .inf file
    After the above, try to bring up your wireless connection

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    21
    Darkmage,

    I believe I was using an incorrect driver, or I completed one of the steps out of place. Everything works now! Your guide was a big help, thanks again mate

    My installation of a DWL-G510 RevB:

    Before I begin, I want to say that you need to update your kernel to a 16k stack size first and foremost: http://ndiswrapper.sourceforge.net/p...dex.php/Fedora

    I copied the drivers from the install CD included with my wireless PCI card directly to my home folder.

    After running # make install, I had to run "# bash -l" in order for it to recognize the ndiswrapper command.

    All other installation was just as Darkmage described, hopefully you are all familiar enough with routers to get the IP information set correctly for the wireless card. For some reason, the software made it default to Channel 1, and I cannot seem to change this option, so I set my router to broadcast 802.11g on Channel 1 instead of 9.

    I was running WEP and a MAC filter on my wireless network prior to this, but I had to disable all of them in order to troubleshoot this card. Now, I guess I will gradually turn those options back on and see if I can get them to work properly.

    All I can say is patience and perseverence will get you up and running 8)
    Last edited by solidsnake; 7th April 2005 at 06:35 PM.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    462
    @solidsnake
    I am glad you got it working. The 16k stack is recommended but not required because I am using the development kernel.
    For the Channel, the default is 1 but, you can change it.
    Code:
     Click on System settings, 
    then highlight and click on Network, 
    type in the root password, 
    hightlight your wireless connection
    Click Edit on the Top menu
    Go to the tab that says Wireless Settings
    Here you can change the Channel, add the WEP key 0x before the hex numbers, transmit rate, ssid and Mode.

    I am using Mac filtering and WEP encryption as I type this response
    Last edited by Darkmage; 8th April 2005 at 04:29 AM.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    21
    That is good to know!

    One more question: It seems that it takes my computer about 2-5 minutes to establish a conneciton after being idle.

    Example: I launch Firefox, it states that is it "looking up <website>" for a few minutes, then it works fine from then on. Is there a service that I should be running to stop that?

Page 1 of 42 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. ndiswrapper on fedora 10
    By demonmail in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 4th January 2009, 09:48 PM
  2. ndiswrapper + Fedora 9
    By BlackWolf in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 30th August 2008, 12:40 AM
  3. Ndiswrapper Fedora 8
    By boromlamtoro in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 327
    Last Post: 3rd June 2008, 06:49 AM
  4. Fedora 8, ndiswrapper, WPA
    By KirkD in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 26th February 2008, 12:06 AM
  5. Ndiswrapper for Fedora 8!
    By keatonvictor in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 30th November 2007, 03:18 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •