NDIS Wrapper?
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    /US/FL/Orlando
    Age
    39
    Posts
    633

    NDIS Wrapper?

    Is anyone here using the NDIS Wrapper to get their Wifi card working using Linux adn Windows drivers?

    I need help i reguards to this issue.
    It said install Windows 98 or better so I installed Linux...

  2. #2
    Darkmage Guest

  3. #3
    Darkmage Guest
    [carlos@localhost ~]$ tar zxvf ndiswrapper-0.12.tar.gz [carlos@localhost ~]$ cd /home/carlos/ndiswrapper-0.12 [carlos@localhost ndiswrapper-0.12]$ su Password: [root@localhost ndiswrapper-0.12]# make install make -C driver install make[1]: Entering directory `/home/carlos/ndiswrapper-0.12/driver' WARNING: Kernel seems to have 4K size stack option (CONFIG_4KSTACKS) removed; many Windows drivers will need at least 8K size stacks. You should read wiki about 4K size stack issue. Don't complain about crashes until you resolve this. make -C /lib/modules/2.6.9-1.667smp/build SUBDIRS=/home/carlos/ndiswrapper-0.12/driver \ NDISWRAPPER_VERSION=0.12 \ EXTRA_VERSION= modules /lib/modules/2.6.9-1.667smp/build/scripts/gcc-version.sh: line 11: gcc: command not found /lib/modules/2.6.9-1.667smp/build/scripts/gcc-version.sh: line 12: gcc: command not found make[2]: Entering directory `/lib/modules/2.6.9-1.667smp/build' CC [M] /home/carlos/ndiswrapper-0.12/driver/wrapper.o /bin/sh: gcc: command not found make[3]: *** [/home/carlos/ndiswrapper-0.12/driver/wrapper.o] Error 127 make[2]: *** [_module_/home/carlos/ndiswrapper-0.12/driver] Error 2 make[2]: Leaving directory `/lib/modules/2.6.9-1.667smp/build' make[1]: *** [default] Error 2 make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/carlos/ndiswrapper-0.12/driver' make: *** [install] Error 2 [root@localhost ndiswrapper-0.12]# ndiswrapper -i /home/carlos/SP29361.exe bash: ndiswrapper: command not found
    First you need the "Development Tools" . Two ways of getting it is through
    Add/Remove Applications and then install the "Development Tools" or
    Code:
     yum groupinstall "Development Tools"
    The other thing is you need the windows .inf file for your nic card not the .exe file.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    /US/FL/Orlando
    Age
    39
    Posts
    633
    Darkmage, thanks for that info. I installed the dev tools from disk 2 as it asked for. Now I just need to understand how I can get the .inf files since I go to hp.com and the broadcom wireless g adapter has only an .exe file available for download. Where or how can I get the .inf files?
    It said install Windows 98 or better so I installed Linux...

  5. #5
    Darkmage Guest
    The windows executable file .exe needs to be run and from that file, you need bcmwl5.inf and bcmwl5.sys copied to linux.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    /US/FL/Orlando
    Age
    39
    Posts
    633
    Ok, maybe I am just slow but when you say the .exe files needs to be run, you mean ran in Windows or Linux? Can I just run an .exe file in Linux? How do I get those files?

    Sorry for my ignorance but this is something I so want working on my Linux notebook.
    It said install Windows 98 or better so I installed Linux...

  7. #7
    Darkmage Guest
    The .exe file is a windows executable file that will only run in windows. Check you gmail email, u got mail
    Before using these files what is the output of
    Code:
    /sbin/lspci
    , because these files can only be used with Broadcom BCM4306
    Last edited by Darkmage; 15th December 2004 at 04:35 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    /US/FL/Orlando
    Age
    39
    Posts
    633
    Thanks, I am checking email now.
    It said install Windows 98 or better so I installed Linux...

  9. #9
    Darkmage Guest
    I sent it through my yahoo account
    Last edited by Darkmage; 15th December 2004 at 04:58 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    /US/FL/Orlando
    Age
    39
    Posts
    633
    Lots of stuff and I can't copy and paste because that machine linux is on has no internet but I think this is what you're looking for:

    02:02.0 Network Controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4306 802.11b/g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 03)
    It said install Windows 98 or better so I installed Linux...

  11. #11
    Darkmage Guest
    That is the chipset I also have, so these files will work

    Email has been sent, save both files to a folder and then
    Code:
    ndiswrapper -i folder/bcmwl5.inf

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    /US/FL/Orlando
    Age
    39
    Posts
    633
    Quote Originally Posted by Darkmage
    That is the chipset I also have, so these files will work

    Email has been sent, save both files to a folder and then
    Code:
    ndiswrapper -i folder/bcmwl5.inf
    Should that command be given as root or user?
    It said install Windows 98 or better so I installed Linux...

  13. #13
    Darkmage Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by carlwill
    Should that command be given as root or user?
    The command should be given as root

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    /US/FL/Orlando
    Age
    39
    Posts
    633
    Ahh, ok, so both files I download are now on my linux machine called:

    - bcmw15[1].inf.bz2 .... extracts to bcmw15[1].inf but the icon still has a box with "tar" on it. Should I extract that again? If I extract that last file I get a file called bcmw15.sys.

    Then the second file is bcmw15[1].sys.bz2 ... extracts to just a file bcmw15[1].sys.

    The first file required me to extract from bz2 > tar > to the file. Is that right?
    It said install Windows 98 or better so I installed Linux...

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    /US/FL/Orlando
    Age
    39
    Posts
    633
    I have this folder called broadcom and its location is /home/carlos/broadcom.

    Broadcome folder contains 2 files called: bcmw15[1]sys & bcmw15.sys (the 2 files you mailed me)

    I get this error:

    Code:
    root@localhost carlos]# ndiswrapper -i /home/carlos/broadcom/bcmw15[1].sys
    bash: ndiswrapper: command not found
    I try this also by cd to /home/carlos/ndiswrapper-0.12

    Code:
    root@localhost ndiswrapper-0.12]# ndiswrapper -i /home/carlos/broadcom/bcmw15[1].sys
    bash: ndiswrapper: command not found
    Still get same bash error..???
    It said install Windows 98 or better so I installed Linux...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. NDIS Wrapper vs Mad Wifi?
    By michael_n in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd November 2007, 03:17 AM
  2. NDIS Wrapper Install
    By mcds99 in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 4th November 2006, 10:56 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •