FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    299

    Where are Gimp's tool windows?

    I modified some photos earlier with the Gimp. All the usual windows were present. Then I closed the app. When I reopened the Gimp later to continue, the only window that opened was the one that holds the image? Where did the other windows go? How can I easily restore them. And, how do I keep this from happening again?

    Michael

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,761

    Re: Where are Gimp's tool windows?

    Check the Windows menu, in particular the “Hide Docks” and “Recently Closed Docks” options.

    If it’s lost the dock windows’ layouts, you can rebuild them manually by opening individual docks and dragging them into the appropriate windows, but that’s a pain. It might be easier to delete your ~/.gimp-2.8 so that on the next run GIMP will recreate it with the defaults.

    Also check out single-window mode on the Window menu if the docks get irritating.

    EDIT: Moved to the imaging software section as this is applicable on all GIMP-supported platforms.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    8,474

    Re: Where are Gimp's tool windows?

    I have accidentally clicked the "hide docks" box before and sat there wondering what the heck happened I switch between the dock layout and single window layout depending upon what I am doing, and that hide docks box is right there where I can accidentally click it instead of the single window box.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    /
    Posts
    5,127

    Re: Where are Gimp's tool windows?

    Also, if you accidentally close the tool box, the default keyboard shortcut is CTRL+B which I have reaslized is at times quite convenient. Of course, the best option, if you have a large enough monitor, is to use single window mode (not suitable for a laptop).
    Fedora 27 x86_64 XFCE - Sager | Intel Core i7 - 4810 MQ | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M | 16 GB RAM | 480 GB ADATA SSD |
    Fedora 27 x86_64 XFCE - Dell Precision M4800 | Intel Core i7 - 4900 MQ | NVIDIA Quadro K1100M | 16 GB RAM | 750 GB 7200 RPM HDD |


    The Linux Documentation Project | Fedora Documentation

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,761

    Re: Where are Gimp's tool windows?

    Quote Originally Posted by DBelton
    I have accidentally clicked the "hide docks" box before and sat there wondering what the heck happened I switch between the dock layout and single window layout depending upon what I am doing, and that hide docks box is right there where I can accidentally click it instead of the single window box.
    It’s also bound to the Tab key, for extra easy accidental activation…

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    8,474

    Re: Where are Gimp's tool windows?

    I have also "lost" my dock windows when I clicked the "X" in the upper corner of the dock window. I did that once a long time ago thinking I needed to close all of those windows before I closed gimp.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    /
    Posts
    5,127

    Re: Where are Gimp's tool windows?

    Quote Originally Posted by Gareth Jones
    It’s also bound to the Tab key, for extra easy accidental activation…
    And of course, tab doesn't bring back the closed window. It only toggles windows. Very complicated!
    Fedora 27 x86_64 XFCE - Sager | Intel Core i7 - 4810 MQ | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M | 16 GB RAM | 480 GB ADATA SSD |
    Fedora 27 x86_64 XFCE - Dell Precision M4800 | Intel Core i7 - 4900 MQ | NVIDIA Quadro K1100M | 16 GB RAM | 750 GB 7200 RPM HDD |


    The Linux Documentation Project | Fedora Documentation

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    299

    Re: Where are Gimp's tool windows?

    Thank, all. Will try out your suggestions and repost if I need additional help. Most likely I accidentally clicked something that I shouldn't have.

    Sorry about the tardy response. The day got waaaay ahead of me.

    Michael

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    united states
    Posts
    5

    Re: Where are Gimp's tool windows?

    i am also faceing the same problem can anyone help ?
    Last edited by Vishu; 25th March 2016 at 08:06 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    299

    Re: Where are Gimp's tool windows?

    Do you have the "Toolbox"?

    If not, you can get it with menu Tools|NewToolbox.

    When you quit Gimp, ONLY use menu File|Quit in the window titled "GNU Image Manipulation Program." It will close all the other windows, but those windows will reappear next time you open Gimp.

    Michael

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Paris, TX
    Posts
    24,110

    Re: Where are Gimp's tool windows?

    I have noticed in the last several F23 installs that when the GIMP initially starts up, the toolbox starts as expected on the left of the working screen, but the layers box tends to start almost off the right edge of the screen. It's far enough over there to be hard to see, so try moving your mouse completely to the right screen edge, click and hold the left mouse button, press the [ALT] key, and drag gthe mouse back to the middle of the screen. That should have fetched the layers toolbox back where you can see it.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cornwall England
    Posts
    485

    Re: Where are Gimp's tool windows?

    One of the reasons i switched to Single-Window mode was that while in the overview of Gnome DE,
    it is possible for the different parts of Gimp to get separated when reorganizing workspaces.
    I partly put this down to minimized windows of a workspace not being shown in the overview.
    Last edited by JONOR; 12th May 2016 at 12:29 PM. Reason: Clarification

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Paris, TX
    Posts
    24,110

    Re: Where are Gimp's tool windows?

    Okay. Seems like a solid tactical solution, to be certain, and one I have used. That being said, my strategic and tactical solution was and is:

    Code:
     
    $ dnf install e16

    Then I get to decide what gets put where, and whether or not groups can be separated, which child windows are allowed to disappear with the parent when minimized, and how the entire group behaves.

    Plus, a simple, [ALT]+[TAB] allows me to cycle through all active applications to snap to whatever I want.

    Gotta love that "old" technology.

    <....>

Similar Threads

  1. Gimp 2.8 Free Transform Tool
    By CreamCorn in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 14th April 2012, 07:33 PM
  2. gnome windows preference tool ?
    By oystercatcher in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th August 2010, 05:58 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25th January 2010, 12:34 AM
  4. GIMP clone tool appears to be broken
    By PaulClarke in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 14th October 2007, 09:58 AM
  5. windows compatible partition tool
    By dan sawyer in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 29th September 2007, 09:49 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •