F18 mount error(5): Input/output error
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    100
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    F18 mount error(5): Input/output error

    this is driving me insane and has happened with fedora 18 64 bit. I'm trying to mount a network drive and for years this command has always worked:
    mount -t cifs //server/share /mnt --verbose -o user=username
    this command is taken straight out of the f18 cifs manual. But all I get is:
    mount error(5): Input/output error
    I've also tried
    mount.cifs //server/share /mnt --verbose -o user=username
    bit I still get the error. I've disabled selinux and disabled the firewall but no joy. This error message is useless because it tells nothing. I've been trawling google for hours. I actually run several linux machines here and all the machines mount the said network location fine with the commands I've shown
    It's worth mentioning that this F18 install is running in vmware, but I've run several Fedora versions in vmware and this is the first time it's given me this problem. Can anyone help?

  2. #2
    PabloTwo's Avatar
    PabloTwo is offline "Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Seville, FL
    Posts
    8,039
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: F18 mount error(5): Input/output error

    I'm wondering if you eventually found any resolution to this problem, as I'm facing a similar situation. Three days of searching Google for a possible solution has yielded nothing so far. I have three installs of Fedora on the same desktop machine. F16 64 bit, F18 64 bit and F18 32 bit. All are installed on bare metal (no VM's).

    Attempting to mount a NAS drive connected to a Netgear WNDR3700-100NAS router in F18 32 or 64 bit from either direct command line or fstab file entry results in the same error your are receiving:
    Code:
    mount error(5): Input/output error
    Refer to the mount.cifs(8) manual page (e.g. man mount.cifs)
    And the corresponding syslog entry:
    Code:
    Apr 13 08:54:25 CarCrusher kernel: [ 1038.615405] FS-Cache: Loaded
    Apr 13 08:54:25 CarCrusher kernel: [ 1038.622452] Key type dns_resolver registered
    Apr 13 08:54:25 CarCrusher kernel: [ 1038.645976] FS-Cache: Netfs 'cifs' registered for caching
    Apr 13 08:54:25 CarCrusher kernel: [ 1038.646047] Key type cifs.spnego registered
    Apr 13 08:54:25 CarCrusher kernel: [ 1038.646057] Key type cifs.idmap registered
    Apr 13 08:54:25 CarCrusher kernel: [ 1038.901835] CIFS VFS: cifs_mount failed w/return code = -5
    It also makes no difference whether I use "mount -t cifs" or "mount.cifs" command.

    Using the same command line mount commands in F16 works without issue. Also, I have no problem in either 32 bit or 64 F18 to do a cifs mount of a Windows share on the LAN. So far, this is the only real issue I've come across using F18, which otherwise has been working fine for me.
    Last edited by PabloTwo; 13th April 2013 at 02:51 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Stockholm
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: F18 mount error(5): Input/output error

    I had the same problem (in Fedora 17; yet to be tried out in F18) until I found the following on the man page:

    ===quote===
    sec=
    Security mode. Allowed values are:

    none - attempt to connection as a null user (no name)

    krb5 - Use Kerberos version 5 authentication

    krb5i - Use Kerberos authentication and forcibly enable packet signing

    ntlm - Use NTLM password hashing

    ntlmi - Use NTLM password hashing and force packet signing

    ntlmv2 - Use NTLMv2 password hashing

    ntlmv2i - Use NTLMv2 password hashing and force packet signing

    ntlmssp - Use NTLMv2 password hashing encapsulated in Raw NTLMSSP message

    ntlmsspi - Use NTLMv2 password hashing encapsulated in Raw NTLMSSP
    message, and force packet signing

    The default in mainline kernel versions prior to v3.8 was sec=ntlm. In v3.8,
    the default was changed to sec=ntlmssp.

    If the server requires signing during protocol negotiation, then it may be
    enabled automatically. Packet signing may also be enabled automatically if
    it's enabled in /proc/fs/cifs/SecurityFlags.
    ===quote===

    Once I tried with the old default value, the mount succeeded.

    Hope that helps.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    100
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: F18 mount error(5): Input/output error

    thanks for your response heiko but I'm non the wiser.
    what do you mean by 'old default value'? can you give an example?
    and where does the old default value go? I looked at /proc/fs/cifs/SecurityFlags as in your notes but there was nothing in it. If you could give real-world examples of what you mean that would help. and could you also confirm that your mount efforts succeeded in fedora 18?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Stockholm
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: F18 mount error(5): Input/output error

    Hi,

    sorry for not having been clear what I meant.

    The situation before (as we know it):
    Code:
    [root@localhost ~]# mount -t cifs -o username=user,password=pass //192.168.0.199/admin /mnt
    mount error(5): Input/output error
    Refer to the mount.cifs(8) manual page (e.g. man mount.cifs)
    After studying the man page, as suggested in the printout, I found the section I posted yesterday.

    So I tried the following:
    Code:
    [root@localhost ~]# mount -t cifs -o username=user,password=pass,sec=ntlm //192.168.0.199/admin /mnt
    No error printout. And the mount did not fail silently either:
    Code:
    [root@localhost ~]# ls /mnt
    Laptop  Netbook  Tower
    When trying the same with explicitely giving the new value mentioned in the man page, I get the same problem as before:
    Code:
    [root@localhost ~]# mount -t cifs -o username=user,password=pass,sec=ntlmssp //192.168.0.199/admin /mnt
    mount error(5): Input/output error
    Refer to the mount.cifs(8) manual page (e.g. man mount.cifs)
    As for your other request, alll of the above printouts were done with Fedora 18, so it works there as well.

    In summary, either the ntlmssp security option is not working with the Samba server I have on my NAS, or it not working, period.

    Hope it is clear now.
    Last edited by heiko; 2nd July 2013 at 07:33 PM. Reason: Forgot a little, but important, "not"

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    100
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: F18 mount error(5): Input/output error

    heiko wow that works! including sec=ntlm in the mount command as per your example makes all the difference. thankyou very much for bringing this solution.

Similar Threads

  1. input/output error
    By papori in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16th July 2012, 07:31 AM
  2. input/output error
    By talkstock888 in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 17th May 2006, 10:54 PM
  3. error: failed to open /etc/mtab: Input/output error
    By shatter in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th March 2006, 03:16 AM
  4. Input/Output error after 'lvreduce'
    By chillz in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11th November 2005, 06:37 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •