can not start graphical environment normally
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 32
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Crete
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    can not start graphical environment normally

    Hi all,
    I have installed F18 since late January, until then I used to work with Debian, I don't know a lot about linux, just the basics.
    Besides Gnome 3.6, I also installed Cinnamon and Mate for test reasons and I ended up using cinnamon as my basic graphic environment.

    Suddenly, last Friday, after the login screen, the system doesn't start any graphical environment.

    I hard-rebooted and tried another session and it was the same situation.
    No matter what graphical environment i tried, nothing starts and it only shows the classic blue gnome screen.

    So, i press ctrl+alt+F2, and then I press
    Code:
    startx
    in the terminal and then it starts the Gnome.

    It seems like something "broke" in the X windows manager and it can not start normally.
    In all other ways the system works fine, it just can not start normally after the login screen.
    I haven't found out how to start cinnamon manually.
    I also installed xfce from terminal but nothing changed.

    Is there any way I can start cinnamon manually from the terminal ?
    Is there a command to remove and then reinstall the X windows manager?
    Have you got any idea about what broke and how to fix it ?


    thanx in advance for your time and your patience, this is my first post in the english language i have ever done

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Freedonia
    Age
    70
    Posts
    3,076
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: can not start graphical environment normally

    Next time this happens, don't just run startx. Do this first:

    mv .xsession-errors xsession-errors

    You need to do this first because when you run startx, the old file (from your last, failed session) will be overwritten and this will preserve the evidence. Then, once you've gotten things running, come back here and post the contents. I don't know if I'll be able to help any further, but if not, somebody will.
    Registered Linux user #470359 and permanently recovered BOFH.

    Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Crete
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: can not start graphical environment normally

    "no such file or directory"

    I also tried locate or find .xession-errors and I got no results (after sudo updatedb).

    there is no way to start cinnamon manually from terminal ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    899
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: can not start graphical environment normally

    If the display manager being using is GDM then the session log is at ~/.cache/gdm/session.log .

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Crete
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: can not start graphical environment normally

    the file
    session.log.old
    looks like this:

    Code:
     :   w q 0 M   l
      )           ; !   R 6   v X        y   _ '         8 } y m -     4   i _   , 
    j   + " * j v ;   3   S \ x       % & b @   s   >   Y `     _   M   d j p      
      m     * j v   0 3       x   8 D 2   6   ;   W   k     p 5    / c   @ c ^     
    t   ` 4   m R %     g $ 8   p   < t J       Q   S     #     h @ y   _     ' n  
    t   ` 4   m R % b   g $ 8   p   < t J       Q   S     #     h @ y   _     ' nW 
      > `   D m R   b   g         A <   J + 4 4    W M           =   L ( ) )       
    m [   ;   c U   X     ' ,           l   ; z e T                 x )     A   vK 
            c z       u   z   X   M   =   '     g     D          f =   T   H o (   
    v   j     ) k m $   1         K 9 N k     H   H            j    v5           Z 
    v   j     ) k m $   1   9  X       { *         { R     E     R |     2   t   u 
          + i ) k   $     q     C   9   k       " H   ) ,     D   O ! T       , X v
    U q r +                   Y /     # k     ) " H 1     V c D   O   6  3t 5   A  
              \ 8   . m     B     7   # Y   E )   * 1   $       -   8   t - z w t H
    the same happens with the file session.log


    is it important what the file Xorg.1.log shows ?
    if yes, it's too big and I can't post it here

  6. #6
    PabloTwo's Avatar
    PabloTwo is offline "Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Seville, FL
    Posts
    7,987
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: can not start graphical environment normally

    You can grep for just the error messages from your Xorg log files:
    Code:
    grep EE /var/log/Xorg.0.log
    grep EE /var/log/Xorg.1.log

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Crete
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: can not start graphical environment normally

    do you think it's fixable ?


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Freedonia
    Age
    70
    Posts
    3,076
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: can not start graphical environment normally

    The fact that there's no .xsession-errors shows that the issue isn't with X, because it's not even starting. That means that your greeter, gdm is the issue, which explains why startx works from a command line.
    Registered Linux user #470359 and permanently recovered BOFH.

    Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Crete
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: can not start graphical environment normally

    Quote Originally Posted by sidebrnz
    The fact that there's no .xsession-errors shows that the issue isn't with X, because it's not even starting. That means that your greeter, gdm is the issue, which explains why startx works from a command line.
    how can I fix this ?

    edit :
    I tried

    sudo yum reinstall gdm

    it reinstalled ok but didn't fix the problem
    Last edited by ekkli; 20th March 2013 at 07:58 PM.

  10. #10
    PabloTwo's Avatar
    PabloTwo is offline "Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Seville, FL
    Posts
    7,987
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: can not start graphical environment normally

    What is the output of this command?
    Code:
    ls -l /etc/systemd/system/default.target
    It should be:
    Code:
    lrwxrwxrwx. 1 root root 36 Mar  8 10:46 /etc/systemd/system/default.target -> /lib/systemd/system/graphical.target

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Freedonia
    Age
    70
    Posts
    3,076
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: can not start graphical environment normally

    BTW, you don't need to use screen shots to show the results of your command. Just highlight the lines you need with your mouse and use Edit->Copy. Then, simply paste it into your reply. HTH, HAND.
    Registered Linux user #470359 and permanently recovered BOFH.

    Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Crete
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: can not start graphical environment normally

    Quote Originally Posted by PabloTwo
    What is the output of this command?
    Code:
    ls -l /etc/systemd/system/default.target
    It should be:
    Code:
    lrwxrwxrwx. 1 root root 36 Mar  8 10:46 /etc/systemd/system/default.target -> /lib/systemd/system/graphical.target
    it's the same, isn't it ?
    Code:
    lrwxrwxrwx. 1 root root 36 Feb 13 19:18 /etc/systemd/system/default.target -> /lib/systemd/system/graphical.target
    except the difference in the date

  13. #13
    PabloTwo's Avatar
    PabloTwo is offline "Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Seville, FL
    Posts
    7,987
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: can not start graphical environment normally

    Yes, it's the same, and as it should be. Just thought that would be one thing to check to make sure it wasn't pointing to /multi-user.target (console mode).

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Freedonia
    Age
    70
    Posts
    3,076
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: can not start graphical environment normally

    Try running this command as root:

    cat /var/log/messages | grep gdm

    Look through the output for anything that looks like an error, especially something that reports that gdm has crashed, or terminated unexpectedly.
    Registered Linux user #470359 and permanently recovered BOFH.

    Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Crete
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: can not start graphical environment normally

    it says something like that many times

    Code:
    Mar 20 23:23:17  gdm-simple-slave[796]: WARNING: Failed to give slave programs access to the display. Trying to proceed.
    Mar 20 23:23:19  systemd-logind[713]: New session 1 of user gdm.
    Mar 20 23:23:22  dbus-daemon[728]: dbus[728]: [system] Rejected send message, 2 matched rules; type="method_call", sender=":1.53" (uid=42 pid=1402 comm="gnome-shell --mode=gdm ") interface="org.freedesktop.DBus.Properties" member="GetAll" error name="(unset)" requested_reply="0" destination=":1.16" (uid=0 pid=931 comm="/usr/sbin/console-kit-daemon --no-daemon ")
    Mar 20 23:23:22  dbus[728]: [system] Rejected send message, 2 matched rules; type="method_call", sender=":1.53" (uid=42 pid=1402 comm="gnome-shell --mode=gdm ") interface="org.freedesktop.DBus.Properties" member="GetAll" error name="(unset)" requested_reply="0" destination=":1.16" (uid=0 pid=931 comm="/usr/sbin/console-kit-daemon --no-daemon ")
    Mar 20 21:23:28  gdm-simple-slave[796]: WARNING: Failed to remove slave program access to the display. Trying to proceed.
    Mar 20 21:23:28  gdm-simple-slave[796]: WARNING: Child process -1207 was already dead.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Fedora10 will not load graphical environment
    By sburnham79 in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 28th November 2008, 12:48 PM
  2. change FC7 to start in graphical mode ?
    By netsuvi in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19th July 2007, 06:33 PM
  3. Cannot log into GDM/Gnome/graphical environment
    By jort in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 2nd April 2006, 12:52 PM
  4. No Graphical Environment
    By ddltohdd in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 28th September 2005, 08:58 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •