FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    St. Gallen Switzerland or Christchurch, New Zealand
    Age
    32
    Posts
    712

    F18 Anaconda stops after language selection

    I've installed F18 on an few boxes without any problems. I used the same method to install on all boxes: I wrote the ISO-image of the kde-live-cd (x86-64) to an USB-stick and booted it. Everything works just fine like that, until it comes to the thinkpad T420.

    On the T420 the live-distro boots an runes well. KDE is working like it should. I can start anaconda with /usr/bin/liveinst. Anaconda presents the language selection. (Like http://www.linuxbsdos.com/wp-content...ng-600x450.png ) No problem so far.

    Now I can click whatever I like, nothing happen. Anaconda just does nothing at all anymore. KDE and the rest of the live-distro is still running well. I can kill Anaconda an start it again…

    The strange thing is that this does happen only on the T420.

    Any idea?
    tho.mei

    I use KDE!
    Many workstions and few servers running on Fedora or Scientific Linux professionally.
    Using LINUX to do some scientific 3D-stuff.
    I'm RHCT

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    117

    Re: F18 Anaconda stops after language selection


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    St. Gallen Switzerland or Christchurch, New Zealand
    Age
    32
    Posts
    712

    Unhappy Re: F18 Anaconda stops after language selection

    Thanks witek

    It's exactly the same bug. The there posted erros looks the same.
    I reported it to the bugzilla.

    See: https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=882615#c8

    But I'm still looking for a solution.
    tho.mei

    I use KDE!
    Many workstions and few servers running on Fedora or Scientific Linux professionally.
    Using LINUX to do some scientific 3D-stuff.
    I'm RHCT

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Minnetonka, Minnesota
    Posts
    1

    Re: F18 Anaconda stops after language selection

    Same issue here on an Intel big box: Asus P9x79 deluxe motherboard. The DVD runs fine but hangs at the language screen. Mouse and keyboard are detected.


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    St. Gallen Switzerland or Christchurch, New Zealand
    Age
    32
    Posts
    712

    Re: F18 Anaconda stops after language selection

    Quote Originally Posted by ne0busin3sS
    Same issue here on an Intel big box: Asus P9x79 deluxe motherboard. The DVD runs fine but hangs at the language screen. Mouse and keyboard are detected.

    Peals report it at the bugzilla too. see: https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=882615#c8 This will make the bug more important and the picture may grows more completer. THANX
    Last edited by tho.mei; 17th January 2013 at 04:40 PM.
    tho.mei

    I use KDE!
    Many workstions and few servers running on Fedora or Scientific Linux professionally.
    Using LINUX to do some scientific 3D-stuff.
    I'm RHCT

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    7

    Re: F18 Anaconda stops after language selection

    Last edited by Jann5s; 17th January 2013 at 05:14 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    St. Gallen Switzerland or Christchurch, New Zealand
    Age
    32
    Posts
    712

    Re: F18 Anaconda stops after language selection

    Quote Originally Posted by Jann5s
    It looks like https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=893892 describes the reason for the bug. The Thinkpad T420 comes with an internal UMTS-device. It's most likely this device stops anaconda. But the problem still isn't solved. The todays F18-images don’t work….

    ---------- Post added at 01:03 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:33 AM ----------

    To work around it, I installed F17-kde-livei. And upgraded it with yum to F18. Read: https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Upgra...-.3E_Fedora_18 Afterward F18 works well.

    This is a workaround, but not a solution.
    tho.mei

    I use KDE!
    Many workstions and few servers running on Fedora or Scientific Linux professionally.
    Using LINUX to do some scientific 3D-stuff.
    I'm RHCT

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    4

    Re: F18 Anaconda stops after language selection

    encountered the same problem, my laptop is thinkpad T60

    tty3 said:

    INFO storage: error parsing blkid.tab: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '/mnt/sysimage/etc/blkid.tab'
    INFO storage: error parsing crypttab: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '/mnt/sysimage/etc/crypttab'


    ---------- Post added at 03:16 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:02 AM ----------

    turn off wifi, then you can go on.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    7

    Re: F18 Anaconda stops after language selection

    i have the same problem with a R400 i reported at bugzilla as well

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    4

    Re: F18 Anaconda stops after language selection

    Quote Originally Posted by Sargot
    i have the same problem with a R400 i reported at bugzilla as well
    I got the solution, turn off your wifi hardware, it'll be OK.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    St. Gallen Switzerland or Christchurch, New Zealand
    Age
    32
    Posts
    712

    Re: F18 Anaconda stops after language selection

    Quote Originally Posted by Ccming
    I got the solution, turn off your wifi hardware, it'll be OK.
    It may does not work if you have got a internal UMTS-modem. Not really a solution for every body.
    tho.mei

    I use KDE!
    Many workstions and few servers running on Fedora or Scientific Linux professionally.
    Using LINUX to do some scientific 3D-stuff.
    I'm RHCT

Similar Threads

  1. fedora 14 kde spin+language selection
    By gasdim in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30th December 2010, 06:24 PM
  2. Anaconda freezes after lang selection - RAID issues?
    By LostGhost in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13th March 2008, 04:24 AM
  3. FC5 - Anaconda Stops when it's about to begin installing
    By fooDK in forum EOL (End Of Life) Versions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15th February 2007, 04:14 PM
  4. anaconda freezes at language selection
    By s0meguy in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19th September 2006, 05:18 PM
  5. Language Selection for Gnome
    By rowie in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 29th April 2005, 11:24 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •