Beta to F18 transition !
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    20

    Unhappy Beta to F18 transition !

    when you're running f18 beta and do a software update, isn't Fedora supposed to upgrade automatically? If so, how do i verify this? Please no speculation!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    8,486

    Re: Beta to F18 transition !

    Yes, it will update automatically to the final release.

    All of the packages come out of the same repos. (There are 3 repos for Fedora, the base Fedora repo, then Fedora updates and Fedora updates-testing). Updates-testing got disabled in an update a few weeks ago, but the other two are enabled by default.

    The ISO files are built using the same packages that are in the repos, and most of the time, if you keep your system updated, your system was updated beyond what was on the ISO when it was first released.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    20

    Thumbs up Re: Beta to F18 transition !

    thank you. sometimes it is hard to distinguish between idle speculation, saabs (superfluous and ambiguous bs) and fact. Congratulations!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    8,486

    Re: Beta to F18 transition !

    You were actually running the Final before the final was released if you kept it updated, especially if you went back and re-enabled updates-testing

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    20

    Re: Beta to F18 transition !

    that's what i did on four systems, and created my own confusion

Similar Threads

  1. Domain transition problem
    By mlyczko in forum Security and Privacy
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 13th March 2011, 05:27 PM
  2. rpmfusion transition
    By GoinEasy9 in forum Fedora 12 Alpha, Beta & Release Candidates
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15th November 2009, 07:44 PM
  3. Ubuntu to Fedora transition help
    By ftaylor in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26th November 2008, 08:15 PM
  4. powernow-k8: ph2 null fid transition 0xe
    By axel in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9th June 2005, 06:37 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •