[SOLVED] httpd error: no slotmem from mod_heartmonitor
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    48

    httpd error: no slotmem from mod_heartmonitor

    This error is reported in httpd error logging at each startup of the server.

    There are 2 modules loaded: slotmem_plain_module and slotmem_shm_module. If I comment out the corresponding LoadModule lines in /etc/httpd/conf.modules.d/00-base.conf, there is no change in the case of slotmem_plain, but the slotmem_shm_module is marked as being absent and the server cannot be restarted.

    I can't find anything having to do with mod_heartmonitor. Obviously, I have to keep the shm module to run the server, but there is someway I can stop the error reporting in the logs??

    For the record, I am running F18 latest beta and only saw this problem at the last stages of the install when I was writing a procedure for awstats, a problem area for me in F17 as well.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2,088

    Re: httpd error: no slotmem from mod_heartmonitor


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    48

    Re: httpd error: no slotmem from mod_heartmonitor

    Thanks for responding.

    I've followed along with your link. I've learned that 'heartmonitor' listens to messages from 'heartbeat' and makes them available to 'mod_lbmethod_heartbeat' which allows 'ProxyPass' to then use the 'heartbeat' lbmethod inside of ProxyPass.

    Heartwarming relationship, George, but none of the single quoted components above are installed on my server. Neither yum nor the apache LoadModule list are aware of their existence, it seems.

    I just wanted to get rid of - forgive me - unwanted and unneeded components from the fedora install which are triggering the reported errors at httpd start/restart instances. I can't delete what I can't address.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    48

    Re: httpd error: no slotmem from mod_heartmonitor

    I've now loaded the missing modules: hearbeat_module, heartmonitor_module and watchdog_module to attempt to appease the gods bot no change. The system stiil reports error after each restart of httpd:
    libmethod_heartbeat:notice] [pid 835] Att02282: No slotmem from mod_heartmonitor.

    The pid number shown is the daemon running the https service of course.

    Since I've never encountered this error before and cannot get rid of slotmem without breaking the system, I'm at a loss as to how I can take further action. I am attempting to clean up 'loose ends' in beta before the 15th when f18 final is released.

    ---------- Post added at 12:41 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:35 PM ----------

    Regarding ProxyPass:

    Since the server does not have an internal or private network, I would not have had any reason to load it. Could this hint at the problem?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    48

    Re: httpd error: no slotmem from mod_heartmonitor

    OK ... I compared this module list with what I had used with F17, disabled all the proxy modules, the 2 slotmem modulkes and the 3 'cardiac arrest' modules I had enabled in a futile attempt to stop the cnstant error reporting.

    Now, relieved of all the excess baggage, everything is purring along very nicely.

    I like things clean and I like them simple and I like them useful. These days, that's a tall order everywhere.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    1

    Re: httpd error: no slotmem from mod_heartmonitor

    Just upgraded some machines running older version of Fedora/Apache. Your descriptions helped sort-out the changes I needed in order to get the current version of Apache (2.4.6) running again. I found this after a lot of searching on individual error messages that I would get, sequentially trying to work through each one.

    Thanks gjwalsh for documenting your solution.
    Andy

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    48

    Re: httpd error: no slotmem from mod_heartmonitor

    You are most welcome, Andy.

    Its always good to lower frustration levels, huh?

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th April 2007, 12:54 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd November 2005, 10:04 AM
  3. httpd failed. The error was: Starting httpd: [FAILED]
    By surfingdude41 in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 29th June 2005, 09:12 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •