FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    175

    FC14 - How to force atapter to eth0 and not something funky like eth3

    After cloning one harddrive to another system, the adapter is no longer eth0, sadly it is stuck on eth3.


    Nothing seems to compel or force the adapter to be it's proper designation of eth0. I have gone through the rounds of deleting the adapter and creating a fresh one in the GUI. I have invested an hour in pouring over google and this forum.



    I did this:


    mv /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth3 /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0


    No dice, it only created another phantom adapter in the "Network Configuration" window.


    When I used the "Network Configuration" window to delete the phantom adapter, so that only the proper of eth0 remained, it slapped me with the big wet fish by not coming on to the network after reboot.

    Now someone on-site must run to the server closet and delete the adapter, then reestablish it, but it will still be the unwanted "eth0"



    How to force the adapter to become its necesary eth0 ?


    Thanks
    Last edited by cuban_cigar; 26th November 2012 at 10:20 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Paris, TX
    Posts
    24,099

    Re: FC14 - How to force atapter to eth0 and not something funky like eth3

    F14 is EOL. Moved to EOL.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    7,168

    Re: FC14 - How to force atapter to eth0 and not something funky like eth3

    I'm not sure of which version of Fedora has which changes, but generally, you can set this in the older versions, including F14 by making sure the hardware address matches in /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0 and /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net-rules (or something similar, that's based on a CentOS machine and careless typing, but it should be close enough, and look for something like
    Code:
    SUBSYSTEM=="net", ACTION=="add", DRIVERS=="?*", ATTR{address}=="XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX", ATTR{type}=="1", KERNEL=="eth*", NAME="eth0"
    ~
    You want the XX:XX stuff to match whatever you have in /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th November 2012, 04:21 PM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 23rd January 2011, 07:32 PM
  3. Force a card to eth0 ?
    By cuban_cigar in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 20th March 2009, 09:20 PM
  4. Funky problems.
    By davenator in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 4th February 2007, 08:06 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •