Can't get printer to work in FC16 64bit
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Age
    73
    Posts
    19

    Can't get printer to work in FC16 64bit

    FC16 64 bit. Have installed Brother HL2070 printer on 32 bit fedora14 no problem. I add a network printer via IP; it finds it and the queue. It says ipp and cups, I click forward (I can't find a printer driver at brother/linux), so I do generic postscript, point it to file in /usr/share/cups/model CUPS-PDF.PPD. It installs and seems happy and prints.... but it prints multiple blank pages. Have tried many options, always same result. This printing stuff is VERY confusing. Any help?? thanks!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    7,334

    Re: Can't get printer to work in FC16 64bit

    There's an HL-2070N at http://welcome.solutions.brother.com...nload_prn.html

    I would think that would work. As I recall, first download the LPR driver and install that, then install the CUPS driver. Then, run the cups printer setup from the web browser and it should work. I'm going by memory here, but I think that's what I did for my Brothers printer, a 2170W.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    7,347

    Re: Can't get printer to work in FC16 64bit

    linuxprinting.org has it as "mostly working" (note I only found the "N" version, not sure if that's a problem. I was
    unable to find any reference to Brother ever having a HL-2070)

    http://www.openprinting.org/printer/...other-HL-2070N

    their suggested driver is the hl1250

    http://www.openprinting.org/driver/hl1250

    the current 'foomatic-db' package on my system has the file:

    /usr/share/foomatic/db/source/driver/hl1250.xml

    which seems to support the HL2070N
    Last edited by marko; 9th October 2012 at 10:52 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Age
    73
    Posts
    19

    Re: Can't get printer to work in FC16 64bit

    Really appreciate replies.... Getting a little behind here.
    Will post my result this wkend hopefully!
    J

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1,234

    Re: Can't get printer to work in FC16 64bit

    Fedora 19 Gnome on a ThinkPad X220, i5-2540M CPU, Intel HD Graphics 3000, Intel N 6205 wireless, and Sierra Wireless 754S Mobile Hotspot (AT&T)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Age
    73
    Posts
    19

    Re: Can't get printer to work in FC16 64bit

    Well, installing printers is getting better..... I installed the two rpms brhl2070nlpr-2.0.1-1.i386 and cupswrapperHL2070N-2.0.1-1.i386, both from the welcome.solutions.brother.com.
    ..I could SWEAR I was here before, but was probably completely confused as to what I needed.
    This installed the printer as a usb printer. --it popped up in the printer listing GUI!
    Changed the URI to network printer, and entered the IP. It found the Q and I applied. all worked.
    I must admit, printing support has always been a mystery to me.
    Thanks again!!!
    John

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    7,347

    Re: Can't get printer to work in FC16 64bit

    The system-config-printer tool is pretty good now, if the usb printer is plugged in and you run system-config-printer, it will frequently find it automatically

Similar Threads

  1. Ping doesnt work with Multiple NIC Cards on FC16 Linux
    By gagansach in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 6th August 2012, 01:14 PM
  2. What Scanners work well with FC16~URGENT
    By g8jvm in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 28th April 2012, 12:22 AM
  3. [SOLVED]
    where are printer files stored in FC16
    By g8jvm in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15th April 2012, 10:05 PM
  4. How do I make my fc16 installation work again?
    By omelette in forum EOL (End Of Life) Versions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th April 2012, 12:52 AM
  5. Wake on LAN does not work anymore on FC16
    By Darkfrogger in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th February 2012, 06:57 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •