How to set screen resolution
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 34
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    46
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    How to set screen resolution

    F16 would get the screen resolution wrong most times on boot-up however it would get it right after reboot somehow. I was hoping F17 would fix but I still have the same problem. How do I hard-code a 1600x900 resolution on boot-up?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    46
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How to set screen resolution

    Ok, no response. How about information on how to set the resolution via the GUI. I have not found that in settings.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    UK
    Age
    58
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How to set screen resolution

    I googled fedora 17 set screen resolution and found: http://ask.fedoraproject.org/questio...ors-resolution - worth a try.

  4. #4
    stevea Guest

    Re: How to set screen resolution

    create an xorg.conf file specifying resolution. Most displays correctly negotiate their resolution & depth via EDID..

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    46
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How to set screen resolution

    Quote Originally Posted by Geek McBean
    I googled fedora 17 set screen resolution and found: http://ask.fedoraproject.org/questio...ors-resolution - worth a try.
    Thanks. I found that resolution earlier as well. But I don't have the xorg.conf.d directory so I didn't try it. Am I supposed to create the file AND the directory?

    ---------- Post added at 09:13 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:11 AM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by stevea
    create an xorg.conf file specifying resolution. Most displays correctly negotiate their resolution & depth via EDID..
    Ok. Where does it go and what is supposed to be in it? I don't even know how to determine what my current resolution is. I tried xrandr -q from a Konsole and got "can't open display".

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    UK
    Age
    58
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How to set screen resolution

    I think you may have to create the directory. Looking in the Fedora Wiki it seems that generic/standard settings appear in /usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d so it's possible that /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d doesn't exist unless the user creates some custom settings.

    Unfortunately I'm sitting at a Kubuntu machine right now and my Fedora 17 box is on my desk at work so I can't check

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    46
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How to set screen resolution

    Quote Originally Posted by Geek McBean
    I think you may have to create the directory. Looking in the Fedora Wiki it seems that generic/standard settings appear in /usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d so it's possible that /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d doesn't exist unless the user creates some custom settings.

    Unfortunately I'm sitting at a Kubuntu machine right now and my Fedora 17 box is on my desk at work so I can't check
    Ok thanks. My monitor is in the correct resolution at this moment. How do I tell what that is so I can make the appropriate entry in xorg.conf?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    UK
    Age
    58
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How to set screen resolution

    C'mon, you have to do some of the work for yourself! If you run the Display Preferences GUI tool it will tell you what the current screen resolution is.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,891
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How to set screen resolution

    Fedoreo, you could run
    Code:
    xwininfo
    in an X terminal such as xterm and it will give you width and height information in that terminal after you have clicked the mouse on the window you want the information from.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    46
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How to set screen resolution

    Quote Originally Posted by nsnbm
    Fedoreo, you could run
    Code:
    xwininfo
    in an X terminal such as xterm and it will give you width and height information in that terminal after you have clicked the mouse on the window you want the information from.
    Thanks that worked.

  11. #11
    stevea Guest

    Re: How to set screen resolution

    Yes you should create the /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d yourself.
    system-setup-keyboard package has an example file to setup KB.

    You can ....
    sudo mkdir /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d
    sudo X -configure :1
    sudo cp /root/xorg.conf.new /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/00-myfile.conf

    or otherwise run commands as root.


    This creates a baseline file in /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/00-myfile.conf which you will need to edit.

    Next do this on YOUR system to calculate a mode and timing for that resolution (assumes 60hz).
    Code:
    [root@crucibulum X11]# cvt -v 1600 900 60 
    # 1600x900 59.95 Hz (CVT 1.44M9) hsync: 55.99 kHz; pclk: 118.25 MHz
    Modeline "1600x900_60.00"  118.25  1600 1696 1856 2112  900 903 908 934 -hsync +vsync

    You need to insert that exact Modeline test into the Monitor0 section of your 00-myfile.conf

    It's been years since I played w/ this but you may need to add one more line like
    Mode "1600x900_60.00"
    to actually select that mode.

    Maybe

    Code:
    ...
    Section "Monitor"
            Identifier   "Monitor0"
            VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
            ModelName    "Monitor Model"
            Modeline "1600x900_60.00"  118.25  1600 1696 1856 2112  900 903 908 934 -hsync +vsync
            Mode "1600x900_60.00"
    EndSection
    ...


    Hopefully someone who's been through this recently can add a few details.

    ---------- Post added at 01:31 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:25 AM ----------

    Sorry for the complexity - this used to be a lot simpler before EDID and autoconfiguration. But now you are out on a thin branch with a display that's not ID'ing a good default resolution.
    Last edited by stevea; 13th June 2012 at 06:29 AM.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    46
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How to set screen resolution

    I am unclear about the keyboard reference.

    The rest worked. Thanks!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    46
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How to set screen resolution

    I spoke too soon. Now my system locks up on boot ... all I see is the F in the center of the screen. I rebooted into recovery mode and removed the 00-myfile.conf and now am able to boot.
    I guess there is something in that file it does not like.
    Last edited by fedoreo; 15th June 2012 at 12:17 AM.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    698
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How to set screen resolution

    First check online your monitor's manual. Then generate the modeline as stevea suggested (with the cvt command) with a supported resolution/refresh rate (you might want to use cvt -vr , check man cvt).

    Then either add the resulting modeline in the Monitor section, as stevea suggested (but without that 'Mode' line) or add a line in your Screen section with
    Option "metamodes" "1600x900_60 +0+0"
    (that's just an example, use your monitor's specs).

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Age
    49
    Posts
    272
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How to set screen resolution

    Hi.

    Can I please ask that anyone with working Nvidia drivers on Fedora 17 / 64 to please post their complete xorg.conf or nvidia-xorg.conf.

    I'm having some trouble with nvidia. I know it works, other people have got it working; but I'm stumped and have had to roll back to nouvoue again.

    Thanks.

    Peter.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Window resolution enlarged but screen resolution OK
    By Cyclist in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th March 2010, 10:05 PM
  2. Screen resolution and font sizes in FC6 on a SXGA screen
    By mdcozma03 in forum EOL (End Of Life) Versions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24th September 2007, 09:51 AM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 5th June 2007, 08:59 PM
  4. Set my screen resolution to a higher resolution
    By yinglcs in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 21st February 2007, 03:57 AM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19th December 2005, 03:22 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •