FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Isle of Arran, Scotland
    Posts
    10

    Thumbs up Solved: Kaffeine has no picture and no sound

    Hello

    I installed Kaffeine from the repos and put the firmware in /lib/firmware. I also copied the content of ~/.kde/share/apps/kaffeine/ from another (working) distro. I have all information about channels etc but can not see or hear anything.
    Does that mean, I miss some codecs? If so, is anybody able to direct me at the right place or indicate what I have to install additionally?

    Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by Arran13; 6th June 2012 at 01:51 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Isle of Arran, Scotland
    Posts
    10

    Re: Kaffeine has no picture and no sound

    Problem solved. Thanks to the Kaffeine forum

    Here is the link to the solution in case anybody else needs it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Isle of Arran, Scotland
    Posts
    10

    Re: Kaffeine has no picture and no sound

    I need to come back to this topic.

    Is here somebody with good experience with Kaffeine?

    After I managed to get Kaffeine running, I have problems with the Satellite TV module.

    I have first copied all Kaffeine files over from my Mint 12 installation.

    Now, I can see all TV and Radio programms from the Astra satellites, but none from the Hotbird satellites. In Mint both satellites work without problems.

    This point has to be solved, as there are too many important stations for me.

    What did I try: deleting a few existing Hotbird channels and rescan the whole lot. Reintegrating these deleted channels and a few ones I did not have up to now. Nothing helped, New Astra channels have immediately been recognised, new (and old) Hotbird ones not.

    I continued the thread in the Kaffeine Forum too (link see above). But I think it must rather be a problem in Fedora, perhaps a missing codec?

    Any good ideas?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Isle of Arran, Scotland
    Posts
    10

    Re: Kaffeine has no picture and no sound

    No chance of a solution?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Omaha, NE USA
    Age
    46
    Posts
    462

    Re: Kaffeine has no picture and no sound

    install xine-lib-extras-freeworld from rpmfusion.org's 'free' repo

Similar Threads

  1. [SOLVED] Lifecam vx3000 picture but no sound
    By vhradice in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12th March 2010, 05:52 PM
  2. No sound in HD-channels with Kaffeine
    By badday in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 22nd February 2010, 04:58 PM
  3. Vlc sound and picture works interupted
    By lauwers in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 9th March 2009, 08:39 AM
  4. Sound Yes bu Picture No
    By solomon in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28th April 2007, 06:20 PM
  5. No sound Xine and Kaffeine
    By wdjingga in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16th March 2005, 02:08 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •