FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community

Fixed an XP machine and spread the word on Linux yesterday

I'm a carpenter by trade but I've played around with computers since I got my first at 13 or 14. I was first exposed to Linux in high school around 1998 but I didn't make the complete switch until last November. I've learned a ton and I'm having a ball and (although it's not Fedora I'm using) it's keeping my 9-year-old system limping along until it can be replaced.

At work we have 4 identical machines in our back office for us to order parts, track jobs, get manuals and MSDS, etc. One popped up with an error for NTOSKRNL.EXE A week has passed along with multiple calls to IT and no action as of yet. I'm sure our tech guys would have just reinstalled Windows and Office and the myriad programs they use to block almost everything on the internet. Of course, they come and do all of this in person and give me dirty looks for having Firefox Portable running on the system I use.

Anyway, I surmised that the HD had developed a bad spot where that particular file lived as I've seen the error before on my own dying HD. I had F16 sitting on a thumb drive from trying to get my cranky old system to agree to running it, so I took it along to work yesterday. I had my Droid X as well. F16 booted quickly and beautifully on the modern dual-core system. I easily copied the file from a good system to my phone. On the dead system, I renamed the problem file and then copied the new file into the proper directory. A quick reboot and Windows loaded happily. I set up a disk check and rebooted. It found 7 bad sectors and patched them up. The rest of the damaged files were in the IE cache.

One of the other carpenters observed my work and was amazed - both at how simple the fix was and how I had a complete operating system ready to go sitting on a thumb drive. I told him it was Linux, Fedora specifically, and free. He said, "I bet Microsoft hates that!" I agreed.