trouble to connect via ssh
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    trouble to connect via ssh

    Hi, I have notebook and desktop in small home network. Fedora 16 rans on both of them, I followed the documentation guidelines of F16 to establish ssh connection between them. And when I try to connect from notebook to PC it reports: no route to host. I can ping both of them. I saw ssh is enabled in firewall -just in graphical user enviroment. Both notebook and PC have ip address from my router dhcp. Any advice? I changed permission on .ssh directory 775 and th authorized_keys file on 644. Please help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    In your closet
    Posts
    15,803
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: trouble to connect via ssh

    tuxalka, I've closed your other thread as a duplicate of this one.

    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=276461

    Please read the Posting Rules before posting again.
    Glenn
    The Bassinator

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Ask the Government.
    Posts
    458
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: trouble to connect via ssh

    A great tool for investigating connection problems is probably nmap. This will show what ports are open on a computer on your network.

    yum -y install nmap

    Then do a "nmap <ipaddress of computer your trying to connect too>"

    Also, See if you can ping the other computer.

    Thats all a start to fixing your problem. If you cannot ping or discover the open ports with nmap then it very well could be a firewall problem.
    Fedora20 AMD X6 1090T - 8GIG RAM - Nvidia GTX-650 - LXDE. Linux since 1995 - No Gnomes allowed.
    Mythbuntu - Mythtv .27 - AMD 6core- 8 gigs ram Nvidia GTX-650 Ceton 4 port tunner
    Mint 17 64bit - Dual Core AMD 5200 2gig ram -GT 9400
    Galaxy Blaze 4G ICS ClockworkMOD :)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: trouble to connect via ssh

    Hi,
    I tried the nmap and ping.
    The nmap reported:
    Starting Nmap 5.51 ( http://nmap.org ) at 2012-02-16 18:19 CET
    Note: Host seems down. If it is really up, but blocking our ping probes, try -Pn
    Nmap done: 1 IP address (0 hosts up) scanned in 0.39 seconds

    The ping is succesful. I do not understand how is possible that nmap reports blocking ping probes and I can ping the adress without problem. I have the ssh service checked (ticked off) on firewall.

    nmap -Pn reported this:
    Starting Nmap 5.51 ( http://nmap.org ) at 2012-02-16 18:25 CET
    Nmap scan report for 192.168.1.101
    Host is up (0.95s latency).
    All 1000 scanned ports on 192.168.1.101 are filtered

    Nmap done: 1 IP address (1 host up) scanned in 54.66 seconds
    Last edited by tuxalka; 16th February 2012 at 06:28 PM.

  5. #5
    PabloTwo's Avatar
    PabloTwo is offline "Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Seville, FL
    Posts
    8,061
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: trouble to connect via ssh

    The Fedora firewall also blocks "interfaces". In your "system-config-firewall" GUI application, by default, all interfaces are marked as "untrusted". For ssh to work, on the machine you are ssh'ing into, you must go to the "Trusted Interfaces" tab and check off which ever of the interfaces you want to allow. Probably checking off "eth+" and "wlan+" will do for most circumstances. Save and exit.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Ask the Government.
    Posts
    458
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: trouble to connect via ssh

    Note: Host seems down. If it is really up, but blocking our ping probes
    Yep. Your blocked from access.

    If you dont see your ports as visible from nmap then they are most likely blocked. You need to open up the port for your local network as PabloTwo stated.

    Personally, My home network is secured by my server acting also as a firewall. Therefore I just tell the server to trust my nic running the local network and leave all ports open. Now it only has to worry about the nic heading out/in from internet.

    Port 22 must be available for your local network in order to connect.

    take care,
    Fedora20 AMD X6 1090T - 8GIG RAM - Nvidia GTX-650 - LXDE. Linux since 1995 - No Gnomes allowed.
    Mythbuntu - Mythtv .27 - AMD 6core- 8 gigs ram Nvidia GTX-650 Ceton 4 port tunner
    Mint 17 64bit - Dual Core AMD 5200 2gig ram -GT 9400
    Galaxy Blaze 4G ICS ClockworkMOD :)

  7. #7
    PabloTwo's Avatar
    PabloTwo is offline "Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Seville, FL
    Posts
    8,061
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: trouble to connect via ssh

    @coffee412- My post wasn't referring to ports, it was referring to blocked "interfaces". Port 22 for ssh is enabled and open by default in F16.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    45
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: trouble to connect via ssh

    Quote Originally Posted by PabloTwo
    Port 22 for ssh is enabled and open by default in F16.
    Are you sure about this? I specifically remember having to enable ssh in the firewall settings. Of course, I cannot confirm this without a fresh install.



    ---------

    Actually, I think I just had to start the service. Nevermind.
    Last edited by jswmcw; 16th February 2012 at 11:11 PM.
    :C
    "Anybody who tells me I can't use a program because it's not open source, go suck on rms. I'm not interested. 99% of that I run tends to be open source, but that's _my_ choice, dammit." -- Linus Torvalds, 2004.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Ask the Government.
    Posts
    458
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Talking Re: trouble to connect via ssh

    Quote Originally Posted by PabloTwo
    @coffee412- My post wasn't referring to ports, it was referring to blocked "interfaces". Port 22 for ssh is enabled and open by default in F16.
    Note: Host seems down. If it is really up, but blocking our ping probes....

    Really?
    Fedora20 AMD X6 1090T - 8GIG RAM - Nvidia GTX-650 - LXDE. Linux since 1995 - No Gnomes allowed.
    Mythbuntu - Mythtv .27 - AMD 6core- 8 gigs ram Nvidia GTX-650 Ceton 4 port tunner
    Mint 17 64bit - Dual Core AMD 5200 2gig ram -GT 9400
    Galaxy Blaze 4G ICS ClockworkMOD :)

Similar Threads

  1. trouble with eth0, cant connect to internet
    By evgeni22 in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21st January 2010, 01:48 PM
  2. Network Connect Trouble-FC6
    By sturmvogel in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th November 2006, 03:46 AM
  3. unable to connect to internet,able to connect through windows XP
    By Narasimha in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th October 2005, 12:16 AM
  4. unable to connect to internet,able to connect through windows XP
    By Narasimha in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd October 2005, 06:35 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 5th July 2005, 02:45 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •