FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 37
  1. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    329

    Re: installing grub2 to MBR, looking to do this correctly.

    su
    grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg
    That should be
    Code:
    -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg
    edit: when you say remove sda1/2 do you mean remove the partitions? If so that won't effect Fedora or your boot, provided that grub is on the MBR.

    My suggestions are always to run boot_info_script and analyse the RESULTS.txt file.
    There's a wealth of information in the RESULTS.txt file.
    Last edited by VernDog; 14th February 2012 at 06:36 PM.

  2. #17
    PabloTwo's Avatar
    PabloTwo is offline "Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Seville, FL
    Posts
    7,566

    Re: installing grub2 to MBR, looking to do this correctly.

    Right. I just had the opportunity to try sudo grub2-mkconfig without the -o option, and with a pending new entry in my /etc/default/grub file. It did spin up a sleeping hdd, but all the script output landed on stdout, as stated. No more "suspicions" about that now.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    152

    Re: installing grub2 to MBR, looking to do this correctly.

    Quote Originally Posted by g2nightmare
    Why is this necessary?

    I think I've specified it before. I've changed my /etc/default/grub in the past on this partition and updated it sucessfully. I did it yesterday to make my grub echo "black people" when loading linux, it works just fine.

    Maybe I should edit grub.cfg and remove the option from the list?

    I plan on using gparted to delete my sda1 and sda2, my goal is to not be totally screwed when I delete it. I'm in the clear right now, right?
    "make my grub echo "black people" "?

    Whut?

  4. #19
    PabloTwo's Avatar
    PabloTwo is offline "Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Seville, FL
    Posts
    7,566

    Re: installing grub2 to MBR, looking to do this correctly.

    Quote Originally Posted by LongtimeDabbler
    "make my grub echo "black people" "?

    Whut?
    Why not? I think it's great that folks want to, and do, personalize their Linux installs. And there are so many ways to do it with Linux.
    Code:
    BASH:~/-> sudo grep -i echo /boot/grub2/grub.cfg
    	echo	'Loading Linux 3.2.5-3.fc16.x86_64 ...'
    	echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
    You can edit that file and make say any darn thing you want. I like it.

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    virginia
    Posts
    42

    Re: installing grub2 to MBR, looking to do this correctly.

    Here is my results.txt

    Would anybody be so kind to clean this up a little, or is it fine?

    Remember, I want to remove sda1/sda2 partitions (windows partitions) and extend that volume back on my linux partition.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    329

    Re: installing grub2 to MBR, looking to do this correctly.

    Quote Originally Posted by g2nightmare
    Here is my results.txt

    Would anybody be so kind to clean this up a little, or is it fine?

    Remember, I want to remove sda1/sda2 partitions (windows partitions) and extend that volume back on my linux partition.
    The missing "??" partition is due to grub2 changes. Download the current boot_info_script git here:

    Code:
    wget -O bootinfoscript 'http://bootinfoscript.git.sourceforge.net/git/gitweb.cgi?p=bootinfoscript/bootinfoscript;a=blob_plain;f=bootinfoscript;hb=HEAD'
    Last edited by VernDog; 15th February 2012 at 04:28 AM.

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    virginia
    Posts
    42

    Re: installing grub2 to MBR, looking to do this correctly.

    Quote Originally Posted by VernDog
    The missing "??" partition is due to grub2 changes. Download the current boot_info_script git here:

    Code:
    wget -O bootinfoscript 'http://bootinfoscript.git.sourceforge.net/git/gitweb.cgi?p=bootinfoscript/bootinfoscript;a=blob_plain;f=bootinfoscript;hb=HEAD'
    Ok, done.

    Here is my new results.txt.

    It currently looks for msdos3 ??

    That is an issue right?
    Attached Files Attached Files

  8. #23
    PabloTwo's Avatar
    PabloTwo is offline "Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Seville, FL
    Posts
    7,566

    Re: installing grub2 to MBR, looking to do this correctly.

    No, the "msdos3" is not an issue. It's part of the new grub2 speak.
    Code:
    BASH:~/-> grep msdos /etc/grub.d/*
    /etc/grub.d/05_font_color:set root='(hd0,msdos5)'
    /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober:      mach_device="`echo "${grub_device}" | sed -e 's/(\(hd.*\),msdos\(.*\))/\1s\2/'`"
    In the above usage "(hd0,msdos5)", is the equivalent of /dev/sda5. No need to be concerned about this.

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    virginia
    Posts
    42

    Re: installing grub2 to MBR, looking to do this correctly.

    Quote Originally Posted by PabloTwo
    No, the "msdos3" is not an issue. It's part of the new grub2 speak.
    Code:
    BASH:~/-> grep msdos /etc/grub.d/*
    /etc/grub.d/05_font_color:set root='(hd0,msdos5)'
    /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober:      mach_device="`echo "${grub_device}" | sed -e 's/(\(hd.*\),msdos\(.*\))/\1s\2/'`"
    In the above usage "(hd0,msdos5)", is the equivalent of /dev/sda5. No need to be concerned about this.
    So I'm ok to remove sda1/sda2?

  10. #25
    PabloTwo's Avatar
    PabloTwo is offline "Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Seville, FL
    Posts
    7,566

    Re: installing grub2 to MBR, looking to do this correctly.

    VernDog answered that same question in post #16. I'm not going to make any commitments to an answer for that myself.

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    virginia
    Posts
    42

    Re: installing grub2 to MBR, looking to do this correctly.

    Quote Originally Posted by PabloTwo
    VernDog answered that same question in post #16. I'm not going to make any commitments to an answer for that myself.
    I'm half awake. Didn't see that comment.

    Thanks.

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    329

    Re: installing grub2 to MBR, looking to do this correctly.

    What do you mean remove sda1, sda2 ?

    It looks like Vista is riding on those two partitions. First is the boot partition, the second is the Windows partition.
    /dev/sda1 2,048 206,847 204,800 7 NTFS / exFAT / HPFS
    /dev/sda2 * 206,848 649,106,324 648,899,477 7 NTFS / exFAT / HPFS
    /dev/sda3 649,107,456 968,579,071 319,471,616 83 Linux
    /dev/sda4 968,581,057 976,773,119 8,192,063 f W95 Extended (LBA)
    /dev/sda5 968,581,120 976,773,119 8,192,000 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    So what will you put in its place? Just use it as storage?

    Your not needing Windows anymore, correct?

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    853

    Re: installing grub2 to MBR, looking to do this correctly.

    Quote Originally Posted by VernDog
    The missing "??" partition is due to grub2 changes. Download the current boot_info_script git here:

    Code:
    wget -O bootinfoscript 'http://bootinfoscript.git.sourceforge.net/git/gitweb.cgi?p=bootinfoscript/bootinfoscript;a=blob_plain;f=bootinfoscript;hb=HEAD'
    Hi VernDog
    Great script!
    Robert :)
    Kernel 4.11.12-100.fc24.x86_64 Gnome Software 3.20
    CPU AMD FX-6300 Six Core AM3+
    MoBo Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3 AMD760G AM3+ MicroATX
    Memory 8 Gigs Gskill Ripjaw DDR3-1333 PC-10666

  14. #29
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,058

    Re: installing grub2 to MBR, looking to do this correctly.

    Based on the bootinfo script results, I don't see how anyone can say for sure you don't need sda1 because it's not clear exactly what it is. It's Windows Vista or 7 related, and the volume format is NTFS. That's about it. So it's not necessary for Fedora, it might be necessary or supplementary to Windows - like a recovery partition of some sort.

    Because sda3 is ext4 and not LVM, you don't really have a way to recapture the space in sda1 by adding it to a volume group. So I don't really see the point in getting rid of sda1. If you want to recapture that space you need to move data around on the disk and I just don't see an advantage in going to that effort.

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    virginia
    Posts
    42

    Re: installing grub2 to MBR, looking to do this correctly.

    Quote Originally Posted by chrismurphy
    Based on the bootinfo script results, I don't see how anyone can say for sure you don't need sda1 because it's not clear exactly what it is. It's Windows Vista or 7 related, and the volume format is NTFS. That's about it. So it's not necessary for Fedora, it might be necessary or supplementary to Windows - like a recovery partition of some sort.

    Because sda3 is ext4 and not LVM, you don't really have a way to recapture the space in sda1 by adding it to a volume group. So I don't really see the point in getting rid of sda1. If you want to recapture that space you need to move data around on the disk and I just don't see an advantage in going to that effort.
    I was going to use gparted. I already made a boot disk for it, and I've shrunk my windows 7 partition (sda2) two weeks ago by like 100g. Grub still wroked. I believe if I wipe the drive, I can still add that volume to my fedora partition. I'm missing out on ~300 gigs here, so I really would like to go through the effort.

    Quote Originally Posted by VernDog
    What do you mean remove sda1, sda2 ?

    It looks like Vista is riding on those two partitions. First is the boot partition, the second is the Windows partition.


    So what will you put in its place? Just use it as storage?

    Your not needing Windows anymore, correct?
    Well yeah, I want to wipe sda1 and sda2 into unallocated space, and then use it to extend my sda3 fedora partition.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Installing grub2 on /dev/sdb after /dev/sda died
    By jdc18 in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11th December 2011, 06:31 PM
  2. upgarade 15 to 16 was good before installing grub2
    By gnulinux in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th December 2011, 11:31 PM
  3. [x86_64] Installing Grub2 on EFI
    By Elv13 in forum Mac Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 24th March 2010, 02:44 AM
  4. Yum not installing/removing dependencies correctly
    By srdempster in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 12th April 2008, 03:32 PM
  5. not installing correctly?
    By mcmischief in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3rd September 2007, 08:07 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •