FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community

Exclamation Recover deleted files

Hello Fedorians !

Yesterday, when I opened my system it gave me an error message saying

"Could not create ICE listening socket. Cannot establish any listening port."

and after that message all of my visuals tuned to very basic level. I mean earlier when I installed fedora 16
    the graphics and animation were quite interesting, but then after that error everything dissapeared, and fedora 16 looked like a very old fedora.

I am new to linux OS and fedora 16 is my first attempt towards linux.

After few googles I thought that the error was due to few leftover temporary files in /tmp directory.
    I also read somehwere that using "tmpwatch" command can help me with that error, so I used this command but nothing happened. Then I tried many combinations of this command with different differrent attributes.

Here is the list of commands I used

tmpwatch /tmp
    tmpwatch 1m /tmp
    sudo tmpwatch 1m /tmp
    sudo tmpwatch 1m --all

and at last the most importantly this one
    sudo tmpwatch 1m /

after which I discovered that all of my personal files and folders are gone.I dont know which command specifically did that. FYI only the files and folders in my home folders are gone(as much as i know till now), but there has been no harm to the applications I installed, I mean they are still installed and are working fine.

Can anybody please tell me If I can get all my files back, if Yes Then please post how..??
    Please Please PLease its very very urgent for me to get my files back.

Thanks a Ton in advance !!!

Re: Recover deleted files