akmod fails to load at boot
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3

    akmod fails to load at boot

    Hello,

    I have followed Liegh's guide on getting nvidia-drivers on Fedora. The next boot went bad and I lost display. Here is my Xorg.0.log -
    Code:
    [    24.572] (II) Loading extension DRI2
    [    24.572] (II) LoadModule: "nvidia"
    [    24.573] (II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/drivers/nvidia_drv.so
    [    24.576] (II) Module nvidia: vendor="NVIDIA Corporation"
    [    24.576] 	compiled for 4.0.2, module version = 1.0.0
    [    24.576] 	Module class: X.Org Video Driver
    [    25.413] (EE) NVIDIA: Failed to load the NVIDIA kernel module. Please check your
    [    25.413] (EE) NVIDIA:     system's kernel log for additional error messages.
    [    25.413] (II) UnloadModule: "nvidia"
    [    25.413] (II) Unloading nvidia
    [    25.413] (EE) Failed to load module "nvidia" (module-specific error, 0)
    [    25.413] (EE) No drivers available.
    [    25.413] 
    Fatal server error:
    [    25.413] no screens found
    [    25.413] 
    Please consult the Fedora Project support 
    	 at http://wiki.x.org
     for help. 
    [    25.413] Please also check the log file at "/var/log/Xorg.0.log" for additional information.
    [    25.413]
    Here is my kernel log

    Code:
    [   17.416630] piix4_smbus 0000:00:14.0: SMBus Host Controller at 0xb00, revision 0
    [   17.637217] SP5100 TCO timer: SP5100 TCO WatchDog Timer Driver v0.01
    [   17.637303] SP5100 TCO timer: mmio address 0xfec000f0 already in use
    [   18.545037] HDMI status: Codec=0 Pin=5 Presence_Detect=0 ELD_Valid=0
    [   18.584032] HDMI status: Codec=1 Pin=5 Presence_Detect=0 ELD_Valid=0
    [   18.623027] HDMI status: Codec=2 Pin=5 Presence_Detect=0 ELD_Valid=0
    [   18.662027] HDMI status: Codec=3 Pin=5 Presence_Detect=0 ELD_Valid=0
    [   18.695868] input: HDA NVidia HDMI/DP as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:02.0/0000:01:00.1/sound/card1/input6
    [   18.696112] input: HDA NVidia HDMI/DP as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:02.0/0000:01:00.1/sound/card1/input7
    [   18.696327] input: HDA NVidia HDMI/DP as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:02.0/0000:01:00.1/sound/card1/input8
    [   18.696531] input: HDA NVidia HDMI/DP as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:02.0/0000:01:00.1/sound/card1/input9
    [   20.179875] Adding 5253216k swap on /dev/sda9.  Priority:0 extents:1 across:5253216k 
    [   20.479347] EXT4-fs (sda8): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Opts: (null)
    [   20.479360] SELinux: initialized (dev sda8, type ext4), uses xattr
    [   22.552781] nf_conntrack version 0.5.0 (16384 buckets, 65536 max)
    [   22.556096] ip6_tables: (C) 2000-2006 Netfilter Core Team
    [   23.161213] r8169 0000:02:00.0: p7p1: link down
    [   23.161222] r8169 0000:02:00.0: p7p1: link down
    [   23.168945] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): p7p1: link is not ready
    [   24.858167] nvidia: module license 'NVIDIA' taints kernel.
    [   24.858176] Disabling lock debugging due to kernel taint
    [   24.859119] r8169 0000:02:00.0: p7p1: link up
    [   24.861659] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): p7p1: link becomes ready
    [   25.406643] NVRM: The NVIDIA probe routine was not called for 1 device(s).
    [   25.406648] NVRM: This can occur when a driver such as nouveau, rivafb,
    [   25.406650] NVRM: nvidiafb, or rivatv was loaded and obtained ownership of
    [   25.406651] NVRM: the NVIDIA device(s).
    [   25.406654] NVRM: Try unloading the conflicting kernel module (and/or
    [   25.406655] NVRM: reconfigure your kernel without the conflicting
    [   25.406656] NVRM: driver(s)), then try loading the NVIDIA kernel module
    [   25.406657] NVRM: again.
    [   25.406659] NVRM: No NVIDIA graphics adapter probed!
    [   25.817190] NVRM: The NVIDIA probe routine was not called for 1 device(s).
    [   25.817194] NVRM: This can occur when a driver such as nouveau, rivafb,
    [   25.817195] NVRM: nvidiafb, or rivatv was loaded and obtained ownership of
    [   25.817197] NVRM: the NVIDIA device(s).
    [   25.817199] NVRM: Try unloading the conflicting kernel module (and/or
    [   25.817201] NVRM: reconfigure your kernel without the conflicting
    [   25.817202] NVRM: driver(s)), then try loading the NVIDIA kernel module
    [   25.817203] NVRM: again.
    [   25.817205] NVRM: No NVIDIA graphics adapter probed!
    [   26.169319] NVRM: The NVIDIA probe routine was not called for 1 device(s).
    [   26.169324] NVRM: This can occur when a driver such as nouveau, rivafb,
    [   26.169325] NVRM: nvidiafb, or rivatv was loaded and obtained ownership of
    [   26.169326] NVRM: the NVIDIA device(s).
    [   26.169329] NVRM: Try unloading the conflicting kernel module (and/or
    [   26.169330] NVRM: reconfigure your kernel without the conflicting
    [   26.169331] NVRM: driver(s)), then try loading the NVIDIA kernel module
    [   26.169332] NVRM: again.
    [   26.169334] NVRM: No NVIDIA graphics adapter probed!
    [   26.545878] NVRM: The NVIDIA probe routine was not called for 1 device(s).
    [   26.545882] NVRM: This can occur when a driver such as nouveau, rivafb,
    [   26.545884] NVRM: nvidiafb, or rivatv was loaded and obtained ownership of
    [   26.545885] NVRM: the NVIDIA device(s).
    [   26.545888] NVRM: Try unloading the conflicting kernel module (and/or
    [   26.545889] NVRM: reconfigure your kernel without the conflicting
    [   26.545890] NVRM: driver(s)), then try loading the NVIDIA kernel module
    [   26.545891] NVRM: again.
    [   26.545893] NVRM: No NVIDIA graphics adapter probed!
    [   26.967395] NVRM: The NVIDIA probe routine was not called for 1 device(s).
    [   26.967399] NVRM: This can occur when a driver such as nouveau, rivafb,
    [   26.967401] NVRM: nvidiafb, or rivatv was loaded and obtained ownership of
    [   26.967402] NVRM: the NVIDIA device(s).
    [   26.967405] NVRM: Try unloading the conflicting kernel module (and/or
    [   26.967406] NVRM: reconfigure your kernel without the conflicting
    [   26.967407] NVRM: driver(s)), then try loading the NVIDIA kernel module
    [   26.967408] NVRM: again.
    [   26.967410] NVRM: No NVIDIA graphics adapter probed!
    [   27.333326] NVRM: The NVIDIA probe routine was not called for 1 device(s).
    [   27.333331] NVRM: This can occur when a driver such as nouveau, rivafb,
    [   27.333332] NVRM: nvidiafb, or rivatv was loaded and obtained ownership of
    [   27.333334] NVRM: the NVIDIA device(s).
    [   27.333336] NVRM: Try unloading the conflicting kernel module (and/or
    [   27.333337] NVRM: reconfigure your kernel without the conflicting
    [   27.333338] NVRM: driver(s)), then try loading the NVIDIA kernel module
    [   27.333340] NVRM: again.
    [   27.333341] NVRM: No NVIDIA graphics adapter probed!

    How do I fix this.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    leigh123linux Guest

    Re: akmod fails to load at boot

    Post

    Code:
    lsmod |grep -e nouveau -e rivafb -e nvidiafb -e rivatv

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3

    Re: akmod fails to load at boot

    Hi, http://fpaste.org/OfFy/. Best, Justin
    Last edited by iHorse; 8th January 2012 at 04:13 PM.

  4. #4
    leigh123linux Guest

    Re: akmod fails to load at boot

    Hi Justin, try



    Code:
    su
    mv /boot/initramfs-$(uname -r).img /boot/initramfs-$(uname -r)-nouveau.img
    dracut /boot/initramfs-$(uname -r).img $(uname -r)
    reboot

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3

    Re: akmod fails to load at boot

    Leigh, its back. Thank you, have a great day!

Similar Threads

  1. new to Linux eth0 fails to load at boot nic is rtl8139
    By Tgilyard in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 30th December 2006, 11:00 AM
  2. FC6 x86_64 grub failed to load on /dev/hda, now dual boot fails
    By GreyWizzard in forum EOL (End Of Life) Versions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 21st December 2006, 07:01 AM
  3. Loopback fails to load on kernel boot
    By RaXeT in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14th October 2005, 02:52 PM
  4. CUPS fails to load during boot.
    By LaVacaLoca in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12th May 2005, 11:13 PM
  5. Network works at boot, then fails on load
    By fleece in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th April 2005, 03:03 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •