GPT vs MSDOS
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

GPT vs MSDOS

Hello guys,

Don't blame me very much as I am a newbie to Linux. Here is my first experience trying to install and configure dual boot system on my laptop - F16 and Win 7. It wasn't so easy for me as I expected it to be at least it didn't bring me much pain in the past.

Ok. Here is the problem scenario:

1. First I tried to install F16 and then install Win 7. Yes, yes, I know that it's not recommended and it's gonna be painful a little bit but I don't look for easy ways. Ok, newly bought laptop (Toshiba Satellite C660-270), installed F16 32-bit, everything is ok. First experience in gnome shell 3...epic fail, by the way. Switched to KDE...full of bugs, by the way.

2. Then I tried to install Win 7 and oops..it cannot be installed on the left free space as F16 created GPT instead of MSDOS which Win understands. So obviously I was not able to install Win 7 and I was reluctant to remove all existent linux partitions via Win installer and install Win 7. Tried to boot in Win 7 - Ok.

3. Obviously my next step was to try to install F16 on the rest of the hard drive. I created USB with F16 Desktop and plug it in my laptop. Booted and oops, it was not able to detect existent win msdos partitions. What a hell...it's supposed to recognize the existent partitions, at least it worked fine recently and as per F16 documentation which says that F16 doesn't use GPT if it detects existent msdos table. Anyway something was going wrong. The only option is to format the whole hard drive and it means to eliminate Win 7. It's not an option to me.

4. Booted from F16 Live CD to figure out the problem. First tried fdisk -lu and it provided me with good existent msdos partitions. No ideas so far. Also it said that fdisk detected GPT signature and it drove me crazy as Win was supposed to remove it when it formatted the disk for Win 7. Obviously it did not.