FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    St. Gallen Switzerland or Christchurch, New Zealand
    Age
    32
    Posts
    712

    Thumbs down disabling packagekit

    PackageKit (Apper) is a software we don't use at all, Yumex and a cron-job does a much better job.

    Since a few years I'm searching for a solution to stop the PackageKit-Deamon from running. It feeds resources that we could need in other ways better. You can disable the functionality of PackageKit. That works. But it still stars up the daemon. (I've never ever seen a such strange daemon on UNIX!)

    Deinstalling PackageKit would be the best solution. But since F15 there are dependencies to PackageKit are everywhere. (What an unnecessary mess the developers! It seems the developers did a really worse job.)

    I found an new try to fix thys: http://posix.in-egypt.net/content/ho...ing-packagekit But it seems not really to disable packagekitd.

    Are there some other solutions?
    tho.mei

    I use KDE!
    Many workstions and few servers running on Fedora or Scientific Linux professionally.
    Using LINUX to do some scientific 3D-stuff.
    I'm RHCT

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Detroit
    Posts
    6,662

    Re: disabling packagekit

    What do you have installed that depends on PackageKit? On my F16 system I don't have any PackageKit packages installed. Then again, I don't use KDE or GNOME.
    OS: Fedora 27 x86_64 | Machine: HP Pavilion a6130n | CPU: AMD 64 X2 Dual-Core 5000+ 2.6GHz | RAM: 7GB PC5300 DDR2 | Disk: 400GB SATA | Video: ATI Radeon HD 4350 512MB | Sound: Realtek ALC888S | Ethernet: Realtek RTL8201N

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    St. Gallen Switzerland or Christchurch, New Zealand
    Age
    32
    Posts
    712

    Re: disabling packagekit

    See the attachment for all the dependencies:
    Attached Files Attached Files
    tho.mei

    I use KDE!
    Many workstions and few servers running on Fedora or Scientific Linux professionally.
    Using LINUX to do some scientific 3D-stuff.
    I'm RHCT

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sonoran Desert
    Posts
    2,420

    Re: disabling packagekit

    One way to see if those are real dependencies is to remove packagekit using rpm -e with the --nodeps option and see if anything breaks.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Bellingham,Wa
    Age
    54
    Posts
    102

    Re: disabling packagekit

    Package kit is just another synaptic really imo, i would use yum instead of trying the rpm to remove any packages, yum tracks.

    Also where is package kit tying up resources for you? I have a meager 2 gb ram and looking at my processes I see no package kit running?

    linux like windows manages ram and memory so well i haven't noticed any problems like in years past.

    by the way this should work if you really want to stop packagekitd,

    systemctl disable packagekitd.service
    Last edited by fibster; 29th November 2011 at 05:28 AM.
    cheers,
    ~fibster

    Proud User of Fedora @ Gnome since Core 1>
    Registered Linux user 412420

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    St. Gallen Switzerland or Christchurch, New Zealand
    Age
    32
    Posts
    712

    Re: disabling packagekit

    Quote Originally Posted by fibster
    Package kit is just another synaptic really imo, i would use yum instead of trying the rpm to remove any packages, yum tracks.
    Thanks, I know what PackageKit, yum and rpm is. That’s not the questions.
    You are right. If you do rpm -e, you are no longer able to use yum properly. You would end with a lot of unsolvable dispenses each time the update runns.
    Quote Originally Posted by fibster
    Also where is package kit tying up resources for you? I have a meager 2 gb ram and looking at my processes I see no package kit running?
    Not all our customers are blessed with 2GB RAM! Packagekitd starts each day once. It feeds network packagekitd. This is really a problem if you run 100+ Fedora boxes at once. The second problem is: packagekitd blocks yum for hours sometimes. Which means our own software rollout system (a tiny) or the administrator can't use yum.
    Quote Originally Posted by fibster
    linux like windows manages ram and memory so well i haven't noticed any problems like in years past.
    You may never did run a scientific simulation. It really needs all the resources. And windows is in this case a slow system compared to F16. We are not home user! Each hour and minute of calculation time is money.
    Quote Originally Posted by fibster
    by the way this should work if you really want to stop packagekitd, systemctl disable packagekitd.service
    Wrong: packagekitd is started by dbus. It starts on some system status. (It means no actions of the user… low network traffic…) Because it isn't a normal UNIX daemon, it's so hard to stop. If it would be started by systemd or cron, as it should be, it would be really easy to stop it from starting. What the developers thought by starting a daemon by debus, I still wondering.
    Last edited by tho.mei; 29th November 2011 at 10:22 AM.
    tho.mei

    I use KDE!
    Many workstions and few servers running on Fedora or Scientific Linux professionally.
    Using LINUX to do some scientific 3D-stuff.
    I'm RHCT

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    ~
    Age
    31
    Posts
    175

    Re: disabling packagekit

    Looking at the dependency chain the culprit is phonon-backend-gstreamer

    It is already reported here since f14: https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=694169

    The answer is: desktop users need this to auto-magically install codecs to play their fancy media files, fedora is a desktop distro, so f*** you we need that dependency.

    If it works for you replace phonon-backend-gstreamer with phonon-backend-xine

    BTW for your scientific simulations you don't need kde4, just free those 557 M and install some lightweight DE

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    St. Gallen Switzerland or Christchurch, New Zealand
    Age
    32
    Posts
    712

    Re: disabling packagekit

    I'll try to replace the phonon-backend. Good idea. Thanks!

    BTW for your scientific simulations you don't need kde4, just free those 557 M and install some lightweight DE
    How true, if it comes to the calculation it self. To have KDE installed doesn’t means to run it while calculating. We use RL 3 for the calculation. But before the calculation, the user needs to do a lot of graphical staff on the same boxes. Because we need to offer some confortable desktop to the end user.

    ---------- Post added at 02:37 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:22 PM ----------

    The lastest post (2011-11-22 10:56) there sounds like in F17 the problem will be solved...

    But I still need to solve it in F16
    tho.mei

    I use KDE!
    Many workstions and few servers running on Fedora or Scientific Linux professionally.
    Using LINUX to do some scientific 3D-stuff.
    I'm RHCT

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    7,158

    Re: disabling packagekit

    https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=699263 has an interesting dialog about this.

    However, I find that, once again, avoiding Gnome and KDE saves me this problem. (I realize that in writing, that sounds as if I'm being smug, and I may be, a little.)

    I also realize it's not practical for you to suddenly try to re-educate your users and take away KDE. I have no idea about LXDE, XFCE, or any of the other desktop environments, but apparently, having installed several window managers on a test machine, it seems to not be a problem. That is, I haven't installed XFCE or LXDE, but I did install several window managers (as opposed to desktop environments), such as fluxbox, openbox, dwm, evilwm, and, I think, a couple of others that I was trying, and none brought in packagekit.
    Last edited by smr54; 29th November 2011 at 03:36 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Age
    57
    Posts
    1,185

    Re: disabling packagekit

    It wasn't completely clear in an earlier response where you mentioned that you roll out software yourself for your boxes. If you run your own local repository and point all the boxes local, it would at least speed up the individual boxes yum queries until you get the package kit issue resolved. You could also increase their metadata holding time so it doesn't expire as fast so they didn't look as often.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    ~
    Age
    31
    Posts
    175

    Re: disabling packagekit

    [/COLOR] The lastest post (2011-11-22 10:56) there sounds like in F17 the problem will be solved...

    But I still need to solve it in F16 [/QUOTE]

    I looked in koji; the only difference is in the packages is in the spec file.
    As you can see they "resolved" dropping the dependency and nothing more.
    Code:
    --- phonon-backend-gstreamer.spec       2011-11-09 20:23:14.000000000 +0100
    +++ phonon-backend-gstreamer.spec.f17   2011-11-15 18:35:39.000000000 +0100
    @@ -3,7 +3,7 @@
     Name:    phonon-backend-gstreamer
     Epoch:   2
     Version: 4.5.90
    -Release: 3%{?dist}
    +Release: 4%{?dist}
     Group:   System Environment/Libraries
     License: LGPLv2+
     URL:     http://phonon.kde.org/
    @@ -39,7 +39,7 @@
     Requires: gstreamer-plugins-good
     # not *strictly* required, but strongly recommended by upstream when built
     # with USE_INSTALL_PLUGIN
    -Requires: PackageKit-gstreamer-plugin
    +#Requires: PackageKit-gstreamer-plugin
     Requires: phonon%{?_isa} => %{phonon_version}
     Requires: qt4%{?_isa} >= %{_qt4_version}
     
    @@ -94,6 +94,9 @@
     
     
     %changelog
    +* Tue Nov 15 2011 Rex Dieter <rdieter@fedoraproject.org> 2:4.5.90-4
    +- drop hard dep on PackageKit-gstreamer-plugin
    +
     * Tue Oct 04 2011 Rex Dieter <rdieter@fedoraproject.org> 2:4.5.90-3
     - Obsoletes: phonon-backend-xine < 4.5.0
    You can download the f17 srpm from koji
    http://koji.fedoraproject.org/koji/b...buildID=274223
    and "rpmbuild --rebuild" it

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    St. Gallen Switzerland or Christchurch, New Zealand
    Age
    32
    Posts
    712

    Thumbs up Re: disabling packagekit [solved]

    The problem is solved. Tanks to rpmfusion.

    There is no longer a phonon-backend for xine. But we ship vlc and use the rpmfusion repo. There was a phonon-backend for vlc. It works more stable the gstreamer and it includes no dispenses to PackageKid!

    We could remove PackageKid!

    Thanks to everybody how did try to help!
    tho.mei

    I use KDE!
    Many workstions and few servers running on Fedora or Scientific Linux professionally.
    Using LINUX to do some scientific 3D-stuff.
    I'm RHCT

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    27

    Re: disabling packagekit

    so for those of us who prefer to use yum on the commandline but can't because PK keeps running, but also want to use media software, how can it be removed? PK has dependency hooks in everything...

  14. #14
    talonx Guest

    Re: disabling packagekit

    Quote Originally Posted by kilolima
    so for those of us who prefer to use yum on the commandline but can't because PK keeps running, but also want to use media software, how can it be removed? PK has dependency hooks in everything...
    The brute force way I use is

    <kill all packagekit processes>
    and then
    rm -rf /usr/libexec/packagekitd

    Upgrades bring it back, though

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Hungary
    Age
    40
    Posts
    61

    Re: disabling packagekit

    Thank You talonx! This is, what is really working!
    Fonya

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. packagekit
    By sajadfedorafrum in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd October 2010, 10:14 AM
  2. PackageKit gnome-packagekit 4.5
    By SlowJet in forum Alpha, Beta & Snapshots Discussions (Fedora 11 Only)
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 13th March 2009, 12:48 AM
  3. PackageKit via VNC
    By griffinmt in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 1st March 2009, 09:09 PM
  4. Will Yum & PackageKit ever die?
    By fela in forum Fedora Focus
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 27th December 2008, 03:22 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •