/etc/shells missing /bin/bash entry
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Wake Forest, NC
    Age
    64
    Posts
    1,434

    Question /etc/shells missing /bin/bash entry

    https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=753780

    I just entered this bug entry. It cropped up when I went to install the VirtualBox extension for USB support. It kept complaining about lacking the proper entry in /etc/shells, so I took a look and found that there were two entries for /bin/dash and none for /bin/bash. Once I changed one of those entries to /bin/bash, things started working properly again.

    It is interesting that I can log on with that entry missing, but it definitely shows up when I use a command that requires /bin/bash.

    This is the /etc/shells file from my desktop machine. as it was before I
    modified it.

    /sbin/nologin
    /bin/dash
    /bin/zsh
    /bin/ksh
    /bin/dash

    This is the file after I modified it.

    /sbin/nologin
    /bin/bash
    /bin/zsh
    /bin/ksh
    /bin/dash

    How many others have this? Is it a problem with preupgrade or does a fresh install also have this problem?
    StephenH

    "We must understand the reality that just because our culture claims certain things are true it does not mean they are!" --M. Liederbach

    http://pilgrim-wanderings.blogspot.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Detroit
    Posts
    6,730

    Re: /etc/shells missing /bin/bash entry

    Good catch. I did an upgrade via DVD and got that same typo in /etc/shells, though it didn't affect any of my scripts that use #!/bin/bash or any bash command in a terminal.
    OS: Fedora 28 x86_64 | Machine: HP Pavilion a6130n | CPU: AMD 64 X2 Dual-Core 5000+ 2.6GHz | RAM: 7GB PC5300 DDR2 | Disk: 400GB SATA | Video: ATI Radeon HD 4350 512MB | Sound: Realtek ALC888S | Ethernet: Realtek RTL8201N

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Brooklyn, NYC, NY, US
    Posts
    1

    Re: /etc/shells missing /bin/bash entry

    Awesome! Fixing this fixed an issue on my ThinkPad W510 where my brightness keys weren't working.

  4. #4
    stevea Guest

    Re: /etc/shells missing /bin/bash entry

    bash.x86_64 0:4.2.10-5.fc16 seems the source of the problem, but you should ADD these lines to /etc/shells

    Code:
    su -
    <passwd>
    echo <<EOF >>/etc/shells
    /bin/sh
    /bin/bash
    EOF
    exit

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Age
    28
    Posts
    11

    Re: /etc/shells missing /bin/bash entry

    I had the same problem.

    Noticed it when trying to install VirtualBox Extensions Pack and it failed. Fortunately, the error message is good enough to understand what's wrong. ;-)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    11

    Re: /etc/shells missing /bin/bash entry

    I experienced this problem too. Thanks for the heads-up.

    From 753780's comment 16, you find that the simplest fix is simply to issue the following command as superuser:
    yum reinstall bash
    This only works if you have previously applied the bash update, something that you would have done if you keep your system up to date.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2

    Re: /etc/shells missing /bin/bash entry

    I had exactly the same problem.
    "yum reinstall bash" worked perfectly for me
    Thanks

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 26th March 2009, 04:17 PM
  2. Fedora 10: Missing Mobile Connect Entry in NetworkManager
    By mswal2846 in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17th December 2008, 05:15 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th June 2008, 05:18 PM
  4. /bin/bash missing Export command
    By ubu in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30th March 2007, 04:15 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •