Tiger VNC server
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 65
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Den Bosch, Netherlands
    Posts
    282
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Tiger VNC server

    good morning all,

    just re-installed my server with F16. I noticed a few changes and googled most solutions. The thing I could not figure out yet is the best way to set up the vnc server startup. This used to be:
    /etc/sysconfig/vncservers
    Code:
    VNCSERVERS="1:user1 2:user1 3:user2"
    VNCSERVERARGS[1]="-geometry 1400x900"
    VNCSERVERARGS[2]="-geometry 1300x700"
    VNCSERVERARGS[3]="-geometry 1300x650"
    The reason I did this was different resolutions on desktop/laptop to connect.
    What is the new way to set this up?

    Thanks in advance, I did google this, but couldn't find it.
    OS: Fedora 16
    Casing: Chenbro RM21508B
    Mainboard: ATX D2778
    Processor: Intel Xeon W3550 (8 core)
    Memory: 6Gb DDR3, ECC, 1333 MHz, PC3-10600
    HD #1: OCZ Vertex 3 60Gb
    Storage Drives: 4x 2Tb WD20EARS + 2x 2Tb WD20EARX
    Graphics: Nvidia GeForce 210 Silent
    PCI Card: Promise FastTrak TX4

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Den Bosch, Netherlands
    Posts
    282
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Tiger VNC server

    ok, re-installed and enabled the service with
    systemctl enable vncserver@.service

    reboot gives:
    Code:
    [root@server ~]# systemctl status vncserver@multi-user.service
    vncserver@multi-user.service - Remote desktop service (VNC)
              Loaded: loaded (/lib/systemd/system/vncserver@.service; enabled)
              Active: failed since Thu, 10 Nov 2011 23:45:37 +0100; 4min 11s ago
             Process: 1008 ExecStart=/usr/bin/vncserver %i (code=exited, status=2)
              CGroup: name=systemd:/system/vncserver@.service/multi-user
    [root@server ~]#
    is there any documentation on this?
    I know I want to edit this part, but unsure how:
    Code:
    [Service]
    Type=forking
    User=root
    ExecStart=/usr/bin/vncserver %i
    ExecStop=/usr/bin/vncserver -kill %i
    Last edited by seabird; 10th November 2011 at 11:54 PM.
    OS: Fedora 16
    Casing: Chenbro RM21508B
    Mainboard: ATX D2778
    Processor: Intel Xeon W3550 (8 core)
    Memory: 6Gb DDR3, ECC, 1333 MHz, PC3-10600
    HD #1: OCZ Vertex 3 60Gb
    Storage Drives: 4x 2Tb WD20EARS + 2x 2Tb WD20EARX
    Graphics: Nvidia GeForce 210 Silent
    PCI Card: Promise FastTrak TX4

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Tiger VNC server

    i also meet this problem.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Tiger VNC server

    I am experiencing the exact same problem... This is surely not an isolated case...

    Code:
    [root@thor difrob40]# systemctl status vncserver@multi-user.service 
    vncserver@multi-user.service - Remote desktop service (VNC)
    	  Loaded: loaded (/lib/systemd/system/vncserver@.service; enabled)
    	  Active: failed since Fri, 11 Nov 2011 10:06:10 -0500; 1min 5s ago
    	 Process: 910 ExecStart=/usr/bin/vncserver %i (code=exited, status=2)
    	  CGroup: name=systemd:/system/vncserver@.service/multi-user

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Tiger VNC server

    Hi, I'm having the same problem. Does anyone have a how to guide for setting up VNC under Fedora 16 please?

    I've tried copying the file as per /lib/systemd/system/vncserver@.service

    # Quick HowTo:
    # 1. Copy this file to /etc/systemd/system/vncserver@:<display>.service
    # 2. Edit "User" and "ExecStart" variables appropriately
    # (ExecStart should be "/usr/bin/vncserver %i -arg1 -arg2")
    # 3. Run `systemctl daemon-reload`


    But I must be missing something

    Thanks :-)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Tiger VNC server

    I am having the same issue also. I installed Fedora last Tuesday and got this to work but then it quit working yesterday. I ran "yum update" and had installed several development packages like git so I wonder if something got broken. This was working consistently for me two days ago

    UPDATED: I noticed that when I try to start a new vncserver just by running "vncserver -geometry 1600x1080" then I get error messages that "Warning: eadams-desktop:1 is taken because of /tmp/.X11-unix/X1 Remove this file if there is no X server eadams-desktop:1"

    I had this error a lot when Tightvnc would segfault on my previous Ubuntu installation.
    Last edited by ewa8949; 11th November 2011 at 10:52 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Den Bosch, Netherlands
    Posts
    282
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Tiger VNC server

    The problem is not how to start a vnc server. Running the server on requires the command vncserver. The current problem is how to auto start it.

    The /tmp/X11 problem is just a unclean shutdown and easily fixed by deleting the socket file.
    OS: Fedora 16
    Casing: Chenbro RM21508B
    Mainboard: ATX D2778
    Processor: Intel Xeon W3550 (8 core)
    Memory: 6Gb DDR3, ECC, 1333 MHz, PC3-10600
    HD #1: OCZ Vertex 3 60Gb
    Storage Drives: 4x 2Tb WD20EARS + 2x 2Tb WD20EARX
    Graphics: Nvidia GeForce 210 Silent
    PCI Card: Promise FastTrak TX4

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Tiger VNC server

    Hello,
    I've installed Fedora16 and I've just try to setup VNC using systemd.
    I copy /lib/systemd/system/vncserver@.service to /etc/systemd/system/vncserver.service
    I choose display :0 and modify this file (the simplest way i could at this moment)
    so, i replace %i with :0 and setup args (probably not the best way for %i...)
    The vncserver.service file is there :


    [Unit]
    Description=Remote desktop service (VNC)
    After=syslog.target network.target

    [Service]
    Type=forking
    User=cyrille
    ExecStart=/usr/bin/vncserver :0 -geometry 1280x1024 -depth 16 -securitytypes=none -fp /usr/share/X11/fonts/misc
    ExecStop=/usr/bin/vncserver -kill :0

    [Install]
    WantedBy=multi-user.target

    I use xinetd.d before (not on fedora16) but with systemd, -inetd arg result is vnc not starting.

    as indicated in vnc config file, i reloaded daemon and look at vncserver status and log
    [cg]# systemctl enable vncserver.service
    [cg]# systemctl --system daemon-reload

    [cg]# systemctl status vncserver.service
    [cg]# grep vnc /var/log/messages

    I have to reboot before all just start fine...
    vnsserver is running, but at this moment, gnome-session is not stable.

    if someone could help on the ~/.vnc/xstartup file to correctly start gnome-session...

    Cyrille.
    Last edited by cygautier; 12th November 2011 at 11:32 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Den Bosch, Netherlands
    Posts
    282
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Tiger VNC server

    Strange choice to select screen 0. This is the actual on server display. Normally vnc is run as screen 1 or higher.
    OS: Fedora 16
    Casing: Chenbro RM21508B
    Mainboard: ATX D2778
    Processor: Intel Xeon W3550 (8 core)
    Memory: 6Gb DDR3, ECC, 1333 MHz, PC3-10600
    HD #1: OCZ Vertex 3 60Gb
    Storage Drives: 4x 2Tb WD20EARS + 2x 2Tb WD20EARX
    Graphics: Nvidia GeForce 210 Silent
    PCI Card: Promise FastTrak TX4

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Tiger VNC server

    Yes, you're right, normally vnc is used vith display 1, 2, ...
    but my server is a headless box with no physical display, nor keyboard either.
    I try with :1 instead of :0 and the result is the same with vncserver.

    During my tests, I try Xvnc with -inet -query localhost as args (in order to access via XDMCP), but i did'nt manage to get it work.
    I now use vncserver with display :1 and xfce and it seems to be stable.

    cyrille.

    Shuttle xs35GTv2
    Last edited by cygautier; 14th November 2011 at 11:11 PM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Den Bosch, Netherlands
    Posts
    282
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Tiger VNC server

    Ok, I guess nobody else is responding anymore. Your example seems to work fine for 1 user. Can probably even set up multiple session by repeating the ExecStart (and stop) line.

    Should I just replicate the complete service section for each user?
    OS: Fedora 16
    Casing: Chenbro RM21508B
    Mainboard: ATX D2778
    Processor: Intel Xeon W3550 (8 core)
    Memory: 6Gb DDR3, ECC, 1333 MHz, PC3-10600
    HD #1: OCZ Vertex 3 60Gb
    Storage Drives: 4x 2Tb WD20EARS + 2x 2Tb WD20EARX
    Graphics: Nvidia GeForce 210 Silent
    PCI Card: Promise FastTrak TX4

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Tiger VNC server

    I've tried using the above but I receive the mesage

    [root@powder-app-01 ~]# systemctl status vncserver.service
    xvncserver.service
    Loaded: error (Reason: No such file or directory)
    Active: inactive (dead)
    [root@powder-app-01 ~]#


    help please?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Den Bosch, Netherlands
    Posts
    282
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Tiger VNC server

    Try Vncserver@.service
    OS: Fedora 16
    Casing: Chenbro RM21508B
    Mainboard: ATX D2778
    Processor: Intel Xeon W3550 (8 core)
    Memory: 6Gb DDR3, ECC, 1333 MHz, PC3-10600
    HD #1: OCZ Vertex 3 60Gb
    Storage Drives: 4x 2Tb WD20EARS + 2x 2Tb WD20EARX
    Graphics: Nvidia GeForce 210 Silent
    PCI Card: Promise FastTrak TX4

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Tiger VNC server

    No Sorry :-(

    [root@powder-app-01 ~]# systemctl status Vncserver@.service
    Failed to issue method call: Unit name Vncserver@.service is not valid.
    [root@powder-app-01 ~]#

    am I missing something basic?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Tiger VNC server

    Hello,
    do you have enabled your service with

    systemctl enable vncserver.service

    doing this, systemctl create a symbolic link to the vncserver.service file you create in /etc/systemd/system.

    Cyrille.
    Last edited by cygautier; 14th November 2011 at 10:00 PM.

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Tiger Warnings
    By bootneck in forum Security and Privacy
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th March 2011, 11:08 AM
  2. Maybe Tiger needs one of these....
    By SwampKracker in forum Wibble
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20th February 2010, 06:47 AM
  3. Tiger Direct
    By JN4OldSchool in forum Wibble
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 26th December 2008, 04:06 AM
  4. Samba server and os x tiger
    By binderim in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26th March 2006, 09:56 PM
  5. so... mac osx 10.4 tiger :P
    By Trendkill in forum Wibble
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th May 2005, 03:19 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •