[SOLVED] switching from fedora rawhide to branched
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    13
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    switching from fedora rawhide to branched

    i was wondering if you switched to rawhide could you disable the repos and switch to f17 after it is branched and be on f17 branched

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Nowhere
    Posts
    386
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: switching from fedora rawhide to branched

    Quote Originally Posted by cpatrick08
    i was wondering if you switched to rawhide could you disable the repos and switch to f17 after it is branched and be on f17 branched
    possible i guess , i was on fedora 16 just before beta , it will eventually become normal release f16 , the updates-testing will be automatically disabled(i'm not sure , i don't remember how it happened in fedora 15) , you'll be doing the same thing , except for *really* being on the edge.
    Programming is one of the most difficult branches of applied mathematics; the poorer mathematicians had better remain pure mathematicians.
    --Edward W. Dijkstra

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    226
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: switching from fedora rawhide to branched

    Quote Originally Posted by cpatrick08
    i was wondering if you switched to rawhide could you disable the repos and switch to f17 after it is branched and be on f17 branched
    More or less. The exception is if some thing snuck into Rawhide already that won't make it to 17. In that case those packages would be out of sync. But the chances of that are pretty low. And you can do a distribution-synchronization to cure that after disabling the rawhide repo.

  4. #4
    tox Guest

    Re: switching from fedora rawhide to branched

    you could do a distro-sync i suppose

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    13
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: switching from fedora rawhide to branched

    ok thanks alot for the replies and i found the answer on this page https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Relea...ficial_release
    Last edited by cpatrick08; 7th November 2011 at 01:47 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. F15 - Branched
    By bob in forum F16 Development
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16th February 2011, 04:33 PM
  2. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 29th July 2010, 09:59 PM
  3. Fedora Rawhide Quickly Switching To Fedora 14
    By Demz in forum Fedora Focus
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11th February 2010, 11:24 PM
  4. Switching from rawhide F11 to F11 release
    By asphodeli in forum Alpha, Beta & Snapshots Discussions (Fedora 11 Only)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd May 2009, 02:18 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •