[SOLVED] Why does Fedora not clear /tmp?
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Why does Fedora not clear /tmp?

Hi,

I'm new to Fedora, and having just hit a bug because my /tmp still has files from all my previous runs, I was wondering why /tmp isn't cleared on shutdown in Fedora?

PS: The bug was a dialogue:

Could not create ICE listening Socket:
    Cannot establish any listening sockets.
    As soon as I logged into Gnome 3, which asked me to Logout and back in.

Looking it up I found that apparently libICE does a poor job of creating a unique socket path, basing it on the PID and putting it in /tmp/.ICE-unix/.

So my guess would be that having old sockets lying around in /tmp increases my risk of libICE freaking out. So what is the rational behind not clearing it?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: Why does Fedora not clear /tmp?

You may, change /etc/fstab.

Add (or replace) the line with /tmp and write instead:
    tmpfs /tmp /tmpfs defaults 0 0
    This will make your /tmp a temporary filesystem, that only stores onto ram, thus, beeing completly ereased on shutdown/reboot.
    Hope this helps.
    EFI Cheatsheet :: http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=298546
    Video Handler Script (VHS) (mass re-encode videos, screenrecorder, console music/webradio player, ...) :: http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=299182
    Windows 8+ & Fedora 20+ Dualboot :: http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=298161

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Is it not a bit mental putting the whole of /tmp in ram just so it's cleared? I've run a system like that before but that was where I had to reduce disk access to as little as possible.

I wonder if I should report it as a separate Fedora bug, as the combination of /tmp remaining uncleared and libICE not creating unique paths likely makes the bug more probable.

Mentioned