FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    In your closet
    Posts
    15,643

    Who's got a handle on GRUB2?

    Who's got a handle on GRUB2 as it relates to Fedora? As it stands it doesn't seem to be very flexible. With Ubuntu's GRUB2 I can do a lot of customization to the boot loader. With Fedora's GRUB2, not so much.

    One of the things I'd like to do is get it to not show "recovery mode" in the menu. The was done, in the past, by un-commenting the line GRUB_DISABLE_LINUX_RECOVERY="true" in the file /etc/default/grub. That line doesn't even exist under Fedora. I added it and updated GRUB2 (grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg) but nothing changes. That menu item is still there.

    I'd also like to add a nice background to the menu. You could easily do it with Ubuntu's GRUB. Admittedly, I haven't investigate this under Fedora. Maybe I can, maybe I can't.

    So, who's playing with this and what have you figured out? Care to share?

    I think I'll see if there are any GRUB2 threads here. I seem to remember seeing one or two.

    Like this one.
    Glenn
    The Bassinator

  2. #2
    tox Guest

    Re: Who's got a handle on GRUB2?

    some things i'd like to know also but AFAIK Grub2 is rather messy code. but isnt there a Themes ( how to ) on Grub2 ? only way i hide that recovery crap and thats not updating the grub2 once i have installed a new kernel. . surely Ubuntu's grub2 1.99 should be the same setup as Fedora's Grub2

    have a look over on the Ubuntu forum Glenn for Grub2 info or even Archlinux

    ---------- Post added at 09:23 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:21 PM ----------

    here's something i found http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1220044 a bit more up to date http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1534689

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    In your closet
    Posts
    15,643

    Re: Who's got a handle on GRUB2?

    Hey Greg. Yeah, Ubuntu's GRUB2 documentation is fantastic. I've used it in the past but I'm just not sure if that stuff is applicable to Fedora's GRUB2 so I'm a little hesitant.
    Glenn
    The Bassinator

  4. #4
    tox Guest

    Re: Who's got a handle on GRUB2?

    i wouldnt know Glenn. probably better off to maybe post this question on the testing-list or the devel-list , i would maybe think Peter Jones might have a good answer for that question. ( Peter Jones being the Grub maintainer )

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    In your closet
    Posts
    15,643

    Re: Who's got a handle on GRUB2?

    Heh! Good advice Greg but oddly enough that's where I ended up after a brief Google search. I read a few comments and came away with the impression that "it is what it is". "This is Fedora." "We're a bleeding edge OS and as such we don't follow, we lead." Hope I misunderstood.
    Glenn
    The Bassinator

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    In your closet
    Posts
    15,643

    Re: Who's got a handle on GRUB2?

    Let me ask a direct question then.

    Fedora 16 / GRUB2. Add a line in /etc/default/grub that reads
    PHP Code:
    GRUB_DISABLE_LINUX_RECOVERY="true" 
    then run
    PHP Code:
    grub2-mkconfig -/boot/grub2/grub.cfg 
    changes nothing. Reboot and the recovery mode option is still there. Why?
    Glenn
    The Bassinator

  7. #7
    tox Guest

    Re: Who's got a handle on GRUB2?

    Glenn. you might be best to go over to the grub irc channel on Freenode and ask in there, but from what iv'e been reading on the ubuntu forum not a lot like Grub2 either.

    btw, when i had linux installed, i always saw " loading Ram Disk " or something like that. ( thats with Grub2 )
    Last edited by tox; 19th October 2011 at 09:42 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    In your closet
    Posts
    15,643

    Re: Who's got a handle on GRUB2?

    I can answer my own question since I figured it out after posing my last question. The line should read
    PHP Code:
    GRUB_DISABLE_RECOVERY="true" 
    Then re-run grub2-mkconfig ...
    Glenn
    The Bassinator

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Paris, TX
    Posts
    24,110

    Re: Who's got a handle on GRUB2?

    Ok. But ... what if you've removed it from the menu ... and then need it. How do you get back to that option on boot?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    In your closet
    Posts
    15,643

    Re: Who's got a handle on GRUB2?

    Quote Originally Posted by Dan
    Ok. But ... what if you've removed it from the menu ... and then need it. How do you get back to that option on boot?
    Removed what? Recovery mode? I would imagine that you would remove or comment the line that you had previously added and run grub2-mkconfig again. Seems logical to me. I don't believe that by adding the line to disable recovery mode that anything is actually removed from the system.
    Glenn
    The Bassinator

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Paris, TX
    Posts
    24,110

    Re: Who's got a handle on GRUB2?

    That wasn't exactly what I meant. Guess I was clear as mud. Sorry about that. I'll muddle around a bit and see what I can break.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    In your closet
    Posts
    15,643

    Re: Who's got a handle on GRUB2?

    What did you mean?
    Glenn
    The Bassinator

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    8,473

    Re: Who's got a handle on GRUB2?

    i think the only difference between the regular kernel and the recovery mode are the options specified on the kernel line.

    So if you need a recovery mode kernel, you could edit the line for the regular kernel from the grub boot screen and add the single parameter to the kernel options. At least that seems to be the only difference here on my system.

    They use the very same kernel and very same initramfs only difference is the addition of the single parameter on the recovery kernel.

    Edit:

    That more of what you meant, Dan?

    And Glennzo, just about all of the grub2 options you found over in ubuntu should work in fedora as well. Mostly the differences are in the names of the command line commands. I believe fedora changes those up a little to cut down on the confusion moving from grub legacy. They wanted to make the name where it it had grub2 in it instead of grub. But as far as the options go, they should be the same.
    Last edited by DBelton; 20th October 2011 at 12:29 AM.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Paris, TX
    Posts
    24,110

Similar Threads

  1. Grub2
    By glennzo in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 19th September 2012, 12:39 AM
  2. F16 and grub2
    By drnetsys in forum F16 Development
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th October 2011, 04:03 AM
  3. [SOLVED] Help with GRUB2/MBR, Please
    By sharp in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26th July 2011, 03:06 PM
  4. Help with grub2
    By JamesNZ in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 9th November 2010, 03:54 AM
  5. Grub2
    By duke11235 in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 13th October 2009, 02:14 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •