FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    128

    Force install from Live media w/o enough RAM?

    I'm trying to install Fedora 15's XFCE spin onto an older laptop with 512 MB RAM. The installer gives me an error saying I need at least 640 MB and won't install.

    On older versions of Fedora, this meant you would have to run the text mode of liveinst and could do it that way. But even the text mode (`liveinst -T` or `liveinst -C`) gives this error and exits.

    Any way of forcing Anaconda to just go ahead and install without complaining? The Live media boots and runs quite well, there's no good reason why it shouldn't be installable.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    561

    Re: Force install from Live media w/o enough RAM?

    Someone said something about being able to install it from the DVD download.

    You know one idea would be is install F14 XFCE on the laptop. Then change yum to update to F15 XFCE.
    Last edited by RHamel; 12th October 2011 at 09:33 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    London Postbox (the red one)
    Age
    52
    Posts
    3,868

    Re: Force install from Live media w/o enough RAM?

    I had the same problem, to get round it i just plugged the drive in another machine with enough ram to install it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Brabant NL
    Posts
    270

    Re: Force install from Live media w/o enough RAM?

    Quote Originally Posted by RHamel
    Someone said something about being able to install it from the DVD download.
    tried installing from a DVD on a bootable USB but in that case also the 512 limit came to action...

    BTW the how2 is here -> http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=205596
    Last edited by meine; 12th October 2011 at 10:24 PM.
    Fedora 26 -- i3, LXDE

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    128

    Re: Force install from Live media w/o enough RAM?

    I'm of the opinion that the installer should warn you about the RAM issue, but allow you to override and try your own luck anyway (even if this means hiding it behind a --force option). Especially considering, if the Live distro is able to run well enough for you to even get to the point of installing it... your computer can probably handle it.

    But w/e, I'm just gonna upgrade the RAM in this computer, because the only reasonable distribution I could go with at this point looks like it would be Ubuntu and I don't really care too much for that.

    Edit: put in my wish list bug ticket
    Last edited by Cuvou; 13th October 2011 at 12:32 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. Difference install media, desktop live media, and KDE live media
    By UK2 in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 9th July 2011, 01:02 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd June 2011, 06:04 AM
  3. Difference between Live vs. Install Media
    By LinuxDanP in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 20th October 2009, 01:58 AM
  4. Creating Custom Fedora Install/Live Media
    By Galvin Tjime in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17th October 2009, 07:33 PM
  5. Difference Install Media and Live Media??
    By Linoex in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 5th December 2008, 12:09 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •