FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Nowhere
    Posts
    386

    Unhappy why grub(legacy) is so bad!! ... can't dual boot

    Hi folks,

    please pardon my (furious and bad) language but i really do need explaination and help
    I beg all of those who start reading this post read it thoroughly (as it is a bit verbose) and completely (and forgive me for the rants..!!)

    is it ever possible to do dual booting with grub(legacy) ever at all!!! ... some fine folks suggested me that it is possible provided i take some pain, here is the link of that post

    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=260412

    i was coward and weak i didn't try that out then.

    but i did try it out. now

    so if u haven't seen the post ....

    I've installed Fedora 15 desktop(Gnome) with physical Logical volume called vg_fedora lv_root(ext4) ,lv_swap and lv_home(ext4), with 500MB /boot partition and had about 200GB free hard disk space ... so i wanted to install Scientific Linux 6.1 (because our school uses RHEL 6.1)

    so, while running the installer
    I made (added) a logical volume lv_Scientific with ext4 FS and made its mount point (/) and used the MBR /boot which overwrote the Fedora /boot (completely OK and was as expected) i restarted after installation
    i got SL log in and as per the directions of the thread i copied the boot stanza from grub.conf of fedora 15 (which i already had copied and pasted into a text file and copied it from there)and pasted it into grub.conf of SL

    you may ask why did i choose same physical LVM too save swap space ... if i had made another physical LVM i had to make another swap ( i like LVM ... its cool)


    completely unexpected happened Fedora now boots but not SL

    when grub starts i get this error 27 unrecognised commad and when i press <enter> i get grub menu with SL and fedora when i press on Fedora it works well i get my fedora login and i did login .. everything works fine but when i press SL it goes to the previous black screen grub error 27

    now then .. u ask me to show grub.conf file here it is
    Code:
    # grub.conf generated by anaconda
    #
    # Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
    # NOTICE:  You have a /boot partition.  This means that
    #          all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
    #          root (hd0,0)
    #          kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_fedora-lv_scientific
    #          initrd /initrd-[generic-]version.img
    #boot=/dev/sda
    default=0
    timeout=0
    splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    hiddenmenu
    title Scientific Linux (2.6.32-131.6.1.el6.i686)
    	root (hd0,0)
    	kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.32-131.6.1.el6.i686 ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_fedora-lv_scientific rd_LVM_LV=vg_fedora/lv_scientific rd_LVM_LV=vg_fedora/lv_swap rd_NO_LUKS rd_NO_MD rd_NO_DM LANG=en_US.UTF-8 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16  KEYTABLE=us rhgb quiet
    	initrd /initramfs-2.6.32-131.6.1.el6.i686.img
    
    hiddenmenu
    title Fedora (2.6.38.8-35.fc15.i686)
    	root (hd0,0)
    	kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.38.8-35.fc15.i686 ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_fedora-lv_root rd_LVM_LV=vg_fedora/lv_root rd_LVM_LV=vg_fedora/lv_swap rd_NO_LUKS rd_NO_MD rd_NO_DM LANG=en_US.UTF-8 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 KEYTABLE=us rhgb quiet
    	initrd /initramfs-2.6.38.8-35.fc15.i686.img
    so guys if you need i may even attach .txt of my grub file and one more thing when i mounted lv_scientific from fedora and tried to open /etc/grub.conf both from terminal and nautilus of fedora i got the error link broken or grub.conf is changed on disk read only

    don't tell me to do reinstallation and rescuemode heck i won't do that ... (i'm tired of that ...)

    please reply to this as quick as possible .... time is one luxury i can't afford to have ....

    regards ...
    Last edited by fedvasu; 31st July 2011 at 11:16 AM. Reason: correction

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    113

    Re: why grub(legacy) is so bad!! ... can't dual boot

    Please post the grub.conf from SL here, you said earlier, that it had overwritten the F15 /boot.
    Please also note that 'timeout=0'- line in your grub.conf from F15

  3. #3
    leigh123linux Guest

    Re: why grub(legacy) is so bad!! ... can't dual boot

    Heres my multi boot grub.conf

    Code:
    [root@main_pc Desktop]# cat /boot/grub/grub.conf
    # grub.conf generated by anaconda
    #
    # Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
    # NOTICE:  You do not have a /boot partition.  This means that
    #          all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /, eg.
    #          root (hd0,1)
    #          kernel /boot/vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/sda2
    #          initrd /boot/initrd-[generic-]version.img
    #boot=/dev/sda2
    default=0
    timeout=0
    splashimage=(hd0,1)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    hiddenmenu
    title Scientific Linux (3.0-1.el6.x86_64)
        root (hd0,1)
        kernel /boot/vmlinuz-3.0-1.el6.x86_64 root=UUID=91faae69-0fa6-42d8-8d94-1d0070678d8a ro rd_NO_LUKS rd_NO_LVM rd_NO_MD rd_NO_DM LANG=en_US.UTF-8 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 KEYBOARDTYPE=pc KEYTABLE=uk rhgb quiet vga=795 nouveau.modeset=0 rdblacklist=nouveau
        initrd /boot/initramfs-3.0-1.el6.x86_64.img
    
    title Scientific Linux (3.0-0.rc6.git6.1.el6.x86_64)
        root (hd0,1)
        kernel /boot/vmlinuz-3.0-0.rc6.git6.1.el6.x86_64 root=UUID=91faae69-0fa6-42d8-8d94-1d0070678d8a ro rd_NO_LUKS rd_NO_LVM rd_NO_MD rd_NO_DM LANG=en_US.UTF-8 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 KEYBOARDTYPE=pc KEYTABLE=uk rhgb quiet vga=795 nouveau.modeset=0 rdblacklist=nouveau
        initrd /boot/initramfs-3.0-0.rc6.git6.1.el6.x86_64.img
    
    title Scientific Linux (2.6.39.1-1.el6.x86_64)
        root (hd0,1)
        kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.39.1-1.el6.x86_64 root=UUID=91faae69-0fa6-42d8-8d94-1d0070678d8a ro rd_NO_LUKS rd_NO_LVM rd_NO_MD rd_NO_DM LANG=en_US.UTF-8 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 KEYBOARDTYPE=pc KEYTABLE=uk rhgb quiet vga=795
        initrd /boot/initramfs-2.6.39.1-1.el6.x86_64.img
    
    title Fedora
            configfile  (hd0,0)/boot/grub/grub.conf
    
    title Ubuntu
        root (hd0,2)
        kernel /boot/grub/core.img
        boot
    [root@main_pc Desktop]#
    Post


    Code:
    fdisk -l
    These bits should be different


    Code:
    hiddenmenu 
    title Scientific Linux (2.6.32-131.6.1.el6.i686)     
    root (hd0,0)     
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.32-131.6.1.el6.i686 ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_fedora-lv_scientific rd_LVM_LV=vg_fedora/lv_scientific rd_LVM_LV=vg_fedora/lv_swap rd_NO_LUKS rd_NO_MD rd_NO_DM LANG=en_US.UTF-8 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16  KEYTABLE=us rhgb quiet     
    initrd /initramfs-2.6.32-131.6.1.el6.i686.img  
    hiddenmenu 
    title Fedora (2.6.38.8-35.fc15.i686)     
    root (hd0,0)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    In your closet
    Posts
    15,605

    Re: why grub(legacy) is so bad!! ... can't dual boot

    Grub legacy is an extremely easy tool to configure. It only takes a little bit of time and thought to understand and master. Most of the issues I've seen posted are from members who clearly don't understand their partition layout as it relates to the installed OS's.

    Take note. Private messages and the Private Messaging system is not to be used for help requests.
    Glenn
    The Bassinator

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Nowhere
    Posts
    386

    Re: why grub(legacy) is so bad!! ... can't dual boot

    Quote Originally Posted by michaaa62
    Please post the grub.conf from SL here, you said earlier, that it had overwritten the F15 /boot.
    Please also note that 'timeout=0'- line in your grub.conf from F15
    note the last paragraph .. i'm not able to get it .... grub.conf link is broken .. from commad SL-drive/etc/grub.conf has changed on disk and read only ...

    ---------- Post added at 03:52 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:49 PM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by leigh123linux
    Heres my multi boot grub.conf

    Code:
    [root@main_pc Desktop]# cat /boot/grub/grub.conf
    # grub.conf generated by anaconda
    #
    # Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
    # NOTICE:  You do not have a /boot partition.  This means that
    #          all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /, eg.
    #          root (hd0,1)
    #          kernel /boot/vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/sda2
    #          initrd /boot/initrd-[generic-]version.img
    #boot=/dev/sda2
    default=0
    timeout=0
    splashimage=(hd0,1)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    hiddenmenu
    title Scientific Linux (3.0-1.el6.x86_64)
        root (hd0,1)
        kernel /boot/vmlinuz-3.0-1.el6.x86_64 root=UUID=91faae69-0fa6-42d8-8d94-1d0070678d8a ro rd_NO_LUKS rd_NO_LVM rd_NO_MD rd_NO_DM LANG=en_US.UTF-8 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 KEYBOARDTYPE=pc KEYTABLE=uk rhgb quiet vga=795 nouveau.modeset=0 rdblacklist=nouveau
        initrd /boot/initramfs-3.0-1.el6.x86_64.img
    
    title Scientific Linux (3.0-0.rc6.git6.1.el6.x86_64)
        root (hd0,1)
        kernel /boot/vmlinuz-3.0-0.rc6.git6.1.el6.x86_64 root=UUID=91faae69-0fa6-42d8-8d94-1d0070678d8a ro rd_NO_LUKS rd_NO_LVM rd_NO_MD rd_NO_DM LANG=en_US.UTF-8 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 KEYBOARDTYPE=pc KEYTABLE=uk rhgb quiet vga=795 nouveau.modeset=0 rdblacklist=nouveau
        initrd /boot/initramfs-3.0-0.rc6.git6.1.el6.x86_64.img
    
    title Scientific Linux (2.6.39.1-1.el6.x86_64)
        root (hd0,1)
        kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.39.1-1.el6.x86_64 root=UUID=91faae69-0fa6-42d8-8d94-1d0070678d8a ro rd_NO_LUKS rd_NO_LVM rd_NO_MD rd_NO_DM LANG=en_US.UTF-8 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 KEYBOARDTYPE=pc KEYTABLE=uk rhgb quiet vga=795
        initrd /boot/initramfs-2.6.39.1-1.el6.x86_64.img
    
    title Fedora
            configfile  (hd0,0)/boot/grub/grub.conf
    
    title Ubuntu
        root (hd0,2)
        kernel /boot/grub/core.img
        boot
    [root@main_pc Desktop]#
    Post


    Code:
    fdisk -l
    These bits should be different


    Code:
    hiddenmenu 
    title Scientific Linux (2.6.32-131.6.1.el6.i686)     
    root (hd0,0)     
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.32-131.6.1.el6.i686 ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_fedora-lv_scientific rd_LVM_LV=vg_fedora/lv_scientific rd_LVM_LV=vg_fedora/lv_swap rd_NO_LUKS rd_NO_MD rd_NO_DM LANG=en_US.UTF-8 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16  KEYTABLE=us rhgb quiet     
    initrd /initramfs-2.6.32-131.6.1.el6.i686.img  
    hiddenmenu 
    title Fedora (2.6.38.8-35.fc15.i686)     
    root (hd0,0)
    fdisk -l
    Code:
    Disk /dev/sda: 250.1 GB, 250059350016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30401 cylinders, total 488397168 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00048485
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1   *        2048     1026047      512000   83  Linux
    /dev/sda2         1026048   488396799   243685376   8e  Linux LVM
    
    Disk /dev/mapper/vg_fedora-lv_swap: 3254 MB, 3254779904 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 395 cylinders, total 6356992 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000000
    
    Disk /dev/mapper/vg_fedora-lv_swap doesn't contain a valid partition table
    
    Disk /dev/mapper/vg_fedora-lv_root: 5368 MB, 5368709120 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 652 cylinders, total 10485760 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000000
    
    Disk /dev/mapper/vg_fedora-lv_root doesn't contain a valid partition table
    
    Disk /dev/mapper/vg_fedora-lv_home: 10.7 GB, 10670309376 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 1297 cylinders, total 20840448 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000000
    
    Disk /dev/mapper/vg_fedora-lv_home doesn't contain a valid partition table
    
    Disk /dev/mapper/vg_fedora-lv_scientific: 230.2 GB, 230216957952 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 27988 cylinders, total 449642496 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000000
    
    Disk /dev/mapper/vg_fedora-lv_scientific doesn't contain a


    ---------- Post added at 03:56 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:52 PM ----------

    ok ... i don't know what i should do? is it possible to dual boot i'm open now i may redo every bit (even reinstall ...ahhh)
    can some body tell a way ... in which i don't have to reinstall (????) ... I don't want to know all bits of booting just wanna know what works (for me)........

  6. #6
    leigh123linux Guest

    Re: why grub(legacy) is so bad!! ... can't dual boot

    Can you post

    Code:
    mount -l

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Nowhere
    Posts
    386

    Re: why grub(legacy) is so bad!! ... can't dual boot

    Quote Originally Posted by leigh123linux
    Can you post

    Code:
    mount -l
    mount -l
    Code:
    /proc on /proc type proc (rw,relatime)
    /sys on /sys type sysfs (rw,relatime,seclabel)
    udev on /dev type devtmpfs (rw,nosuid,relatime,seclabel,size=1540680k,nr_inodes=
    209490,mode=755)
    devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,relatime,seclabel,gid=5,mode=620,ptmxmode=000
    )
    tmpfs on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw,relatime,seclabel)
    tmpfs on /run type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,seclabel,mode=755)
    /dev/mapper/vg_fedora-lv_root on / type ext4 (rw,relatime,seclabel,barrier=1,dat
    a=ordered) [_Fedora-15-i686-]
    selinuxfs on /selinux type selinuxfs (rw,relatime)
    tmpfs on /sys/fs/cgroup type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,seclabel,mod
    e=755)
    cgroup on /sys/fs/cgroup/systemd type cgroup (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,re
    lease_agent=/lib/systemd/systemd-cgroups-agent,name=systemd)
    cgroup on /sys/fs/cgroup/cpuset type cgroup (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,cpu
    set)
    cgroup on /sys/fs/cgroup/ns type cgroup (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,ns)
    cgroup on /sys/fs/cgroup/cpu type cgroup (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,cpu)
    cgroup on /sys/fs/cgroup/cpuacct type cgroup (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,cp
    uacct)
    cgroup on /sys/fs/cgroup/memory type cgroup (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,mem
    ory)
    cgroup on /sys/fs/cgroup/devices type cgroup (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,de
    vices)
    cgroup on /sys/fs/cgroup/freezer type cgroup (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,fr
    eezer)
    cgroup on /sys/fs/cgroup/net_cls type cgroup (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,ne
    t_cls)
    cgroup on /sys/fs/cgroup/blkio type cgroup (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,blki
    o)
    systemd-1 on /dev/mqueue type autofs (rw,relatime,fd=29,pgrp=1,timeout=300,minpr
    oto=5,maxproto=5,direct)
    systemd-1 on /dev/hugepages type autofs (rw,relatime,fd=30,pgrp=1,timeout=300,mi
    nproto=5,maxproto=5,direct)
    systemd-1 on /sys/kernel/debug type autofs (rw,relatime,fd=31,pgrp=1,timeout=300
    ,minproto=5,maxproto=5,direct)
    systemd-1 on /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc type autofs (rw,relatime,fd=33,pgrp=1,time
    out=300,minproto=5,maxproto=5,direct)
    systemd-1 on /sys/kernel/security type autofs (rw,relatime,fd=34,pgrp=1,timeout=
    300,minproto=5,maxproto=5,direct)
    tmpfs on /media type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,rootcontext=system_u
    :object_r:mnt_t:s0,seclabel,mode=755)
    /dev/sda1 on /boot type ext4 (rw,relatime,seclabel,barrier=1,data=ordered)
    /dev/mapper/vg_fedora-lv_home on /home type ext4 (rw,relatime,seclabel,barrier=1
    ,data=ordered)
    /dev/mapper/vg_fedora-lv_root on /tmp type ext4 (rw,relatime,seclabel,barrier=1,
    data=ordered) [_Fedora-15-i686-]
    /dev/mapper/vg_fedora-lv_root on /var/tmp type ext4 (rw,relatime,seclabel,barrie
    r=1,data=ordered) [_Fedora-15-i686-]
    /dev/mapper/vg_fedora-lv_home on /home type ext4 (rw,relatime,seclabel,barrier=1
    ,data=ordered)
    gvfs-fuse-daemon on /home/vasudev/.gvfs type fuse.gvfs-fuse-daemon (rw,nosuid,no
    dev,relatime,user_id=500,group_id=500)
    fusectl on /sys/fs/fuse/connections type fusectl (rw,relatime)
    ok after your next sugesstion .. i thibk l'm gonna quit

  8. #8
    leigh123linux Guest

    Re: why grub(legacy) is so bad!! ... can't dual boot

    Ok lets have a look in the boot partition before you quit.

    Code:
    ls -l /boot

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Nowhere
    Posts
    386

    Re: why grub(legacy) is so bad!! ... can't dual boot

    Quote Originally Posted by leigh123linux
    Ok lets have a look in the boot partition before you quit.

    Code:
    ls -l /boot
    u are kidding right?? explain why u asked me to look into boot partition??

    ls -l /boot

    Code:
    total 66106
    -rw-r--r--. 1 root root   104960 Jul 13 03:50 config-2.6.32-131.6.1.el6.i686
    -rw-r--r--. 1 root root   120086 May 10 02:18 config-2.6.38.6-26.rc1.fc15.i686
    -rw-r--r--. 1 root root   120094 Jul  6 20:30 config-2.6.38.8-35.fc15.i686
    drwxr-xr-x. 3 root root     1024 Jul 27 22:25 efi
    -rw-r--r--. 1 root root   166756 May 21 21:29 elf-memtest86+-4.10
    -rw-r--r--. 1 root root   178436 Jun  2 14:40 elf-memtest86+-4.20
    drwxr-xr-x. 2 root root     1024 Jul 27 22:16 extlinux
    drwxr-xr-x. 2 root root     1024 Jul 31 13:54 grub
    -rw-r--r--. 1 root root 21664337 Jul 31 13:54 initramfs-2.6.32-131.6.1.el6.i686.img
    -rw-rw-r--. 1 root root 13938450 Jul 30 23:04 initramfs-2.6.38.6-26.rc1.fc15.i686.img
    -rw-r--r--. 1 root root 13942220 Jul 30 23:32 initramfs-2.6.38.8-35.fc15.i686.img
    drwx------. 2 root root    12288 Jul 30 23:01 lost+found
    -rw-r--r--. 1 root root   165080 May 21 21:29 memtest86+-4.10
    -rw-r--r--. 1 root root   176760 Jun  2 14:40 memtest86+-4.20
    -rw-r--r--. 1 root root   162909 Jul 13 03:51 symvers-2.6.32-131.6.1.el6.i686.gz
    -rw-r--r--. 1 root root  1796313 Jul 13 03:50 System.map-2.6.32-131.6.1.el6.i686
    -rw-------. 1 root root  1852227 May 10 02:18 System.map-2.6.38.6-26.rc1.fc15.i686
    -rw-------. 1 root root  1857020 Jul  6 20:30 System.map-2.6.38.8-35.fc15.i686
    -rwxr-xr-x. 1 root root  3744416 Jul 13 03:50 vmlinuz-2.6.32-131.6.1.el6.i686
    -rwxr-xr-x. 1 root root  3804304 May 10 02:18 vmlinuz-2.6.38.6-26.rc1.fc15.i686
    -rwxr-xr-x. 1 root root  3852208 Jul  6 20:30 vmlinuz-2.6.38.8-35.fc15.i686

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    7,548

    Re: why grub(legacy) is so bad!! ... can't dual boot

    Quote Originally Posted by fedvasu

    i restarted after installation
    i got SL log in and as per the directions of the thread i copied the boot stanza from grub.conf of fedora 15 (which i already had copied and pasted into a text file and copied it from there)and pasted it into grub.conf of SL
    That makes it sound like you've proved SL can boot. It stopped booting after you did something to it.


    Quote Originally Posted by fedvasu

    completely unexpected happened Fedora now boots but not SL

    when grub starts i get this error 27 unrecognised commad
    IMO, it's that second hiddenmenu command in your grub.conf.


    Quote Originally Posted by fedvasu
    Code:
    # grub.conf generated by anaconda
    #
    # Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
    # NOTICE:  You have a /boot partition.  This means that
    #          all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
    #          root (hd0,0)
    #          kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_fedora-lv_scientific
    #          initrd /initrd-[generic-]version.img
    #boot=/dev/sda
    default=0
    timeout=0
    splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    hiddenmenu
    title Scientific Linux (2.6.32-131.6.1.el6.i686)
    	root (hd0,0)
    	kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.32-131.6.1.el6.i686 ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_fedora-lv_scientific rd_LVM_LV=vg_fedora/lv_scientific rd_LVM_LV=vg_fedora/lv_swap rd_NO_LUKS rd_NO_MD rd_NO_DM LANG=en_US.UTF-8 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16  KEYTABLE=us rhgb quiet
    	initrd /initramfs-2.6.32-131.6.1.el6.i686.img
    
    hiddenmenu
    title Fedora (2.6.38.8-35.fc15.i686)
    	root (hd0,0)
    	kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.38.8-35.fc15.i686 ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_fedora-lv_root rd_LVM_LV=vg_fedora/lv_root rd_LVM_LV=vg_fedora/lv_swap rd_NO_LUKS rd_NO_MD rd_NO_DM LANG=en_US.UTF-8 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 KEYTABLE=us rhgb quiet
    	initrd /initramfs-2.6.38.8-35.fc15.i686.img
    You probably copied that from the Fedora grub.conf along with that other Fedora 15 stuff, but it's being processed as a command following the title, root, kernel, and initrd commands in the section above it. I just tested it myself and got that same Error 27 message.






    Quote Originally Posted by fedvasu

    why grub(legacy) is so bad!! ... can't dual boot
    Legacy GRUB isn't bad, IMO. The config file is just intolerant of syntax errors. So is GRUB 2's. Legacy GRUB was introduced more than ten years ago. That's plenty of time for smarter people than us to have discovered that it was "bad".
    .
    .
    .
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	hiddenmenu.JPG 
Views:	512 
Size:	40.8 KB 
ID:	21536  

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    8,464

    Re: why grub(legacy) is so bad!! ... can't dual boot

    Quote Originally Posted by glennzo
    Grub legacy is an extremely easy tool to configure. It only takes a little bit of time and thought to understand and master. Most of the issues I've seen posted are from members who clearly don't understand their partition layout as it relates to the installed OS's.

    Take note. Private messages and the Private Messaging system is not to be used for help requests.
    True Glennzo. I have found legacy grub to be easier to set up and configure for dual boot than grub2 is.

    However, if you have both legacy grub and grub2 on the same machine, then things get a little tricky to configure. (It's still not hard, but takes a little thinking to get it done)

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Nowhere
    Posts
    386

    Re: why grub(legacy) is so bad!! ... can't dual boot

    thanx stoat , for enduring so much of my rants and fud and enlightining me so much .... you know what ...
    no grub menu appears and directly boots into scientific linux ......
    I'm guessing i should delete that default=0 thingy and put timeout=10 or something from the grub.conf is it right ??? I'm waiting for any reply before i make any modifications ..

    one more thing when i got Error 27 on the screen it didn't tell me hiddenmenu was the problem

    regarding grub being good ... i respect your opinion (How about Lilo i heard thats awesome ... that's why Slackware (read Ultra Geek OS) uses it )

    all of you guys are awesome .... thank you so much ... don't forget to answer (or adress) my last hurdle (actually getting 2 menu's at boot)

    ---------- Post added at 09:21 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:18 PM ----------

    i don't have both grub and grub2 on same machine so that shouldn't be a problem ..... i guess in configuring!!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    8,464

    Re: why grub(legacy) is so bad!! ... can't dual boot

    to get your menu displayed at boot, change 2 lines in your /boot/grub/grub.conf

    timeout=0

    change to a larger number

    timeout=5

    And

    hiddenmenu

    change to

    #hiddenmenu

    And, NO, do not delete the default=0. That tells it which of your systems is the default if you don't specify one from the menu at boot. (0 = the first OS listed)

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Nowhere
    Posts
    386

    Re: why grub(legacy) is so bad!! ... can't dual boot

    @Dbelton yeah i agree with you default=0 makes sense and it should be there
    but see "leigh123linux's" grub.conf there he has timeout =0 but still i think is able to dual boot .. anyway i'll try out can't afford to wait longer

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    8,464

    Re: why grub(legacy) is so bad!! ... can't dual boot

    You can bypass the timeout value if you hit a key at the right time.

    But for starters, it's easier to just specify the timeout. That is how long the menu will display before it boots the default OS.

    In the case of timeout=5, (if you have the hiddenmenu commented out as I specified above) then the meny will display for 5 seconds on bootup, giving you time to select a different OS. If you don't select an OS in 5 seconds, then it will boot the default OS.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. dual boot with xp issue - grub can't boot into windows
    By JohnRock in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10th January 2010, 03:26 AM
  2. Boot Failure w Grub installed to non-MBR partition w/Windows 7 dual boot
    By kamikazepipes in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 3rd January 2010, 01:19 AM
  3. No Grub on Dual-Boot
    By rogain69 in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 3rd March 2007, 05:54 AM
  4. No Grub on Dual Boot
    By duralisis in forum Fedora Core 4 Test
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 24th April 2005, 11:06 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •