where is /home mounted from?
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    2

    where is /home mounted from?

    Everything works fine, but I wonder, where /home is mounted from since it is not in fstab (but in mtab):

    [root@fedora15 ~]# df -hP
    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    rootfs 18G 3.7G 14G 22% /
    udev 491M 0 491M 0% /dev
    tmpfs 500M 380K 499M 1% /dev/shm
    tmpfs 500M 644K 499M 1% /run
    /dev/mapper/vg_fedora15-lv_root 18G 3.7G 14G 22% /
    tmpfs 500M 0 500M 0% /sys/fs/cgroup
    tmpfs 500M 0 500M 0% /media
    /dev/sda1 485M 47M 414M 11% /boot
    /dev/mapper/vg_fedora15-lv_root 18G 3.7G 14G 22% /tmp
    /dev/mapper/vg_fedora15-lv_root 18G 3.7G 14G 22% /var/tmp
    /dev/mapper/vg_fedora15-lv_root 18G 3.7G 14G 22% /home
    [root@fedora15 ~]# cat /etc/fstab

    #
    # /etc/fstab
    # Created by anaconda on Fri Jul 22 21:05:27 2011
    #
    # Accessible filesystems, by reference, are maintained under '/dev/disk'
    # See man pages fstab(5), findfs(8), mount(8) and/or blkid(8) for more info
    #
    /dev/mapper/vg_fedora15-lv_root / ext4 defaults 1 1
    UUID=e0f16308-21b1-4ca6-adf3-ee65d4d3c7b5 /boot ext4 defaults 1 2
    /dev/mapper/vg_fedora15-lv_swap swap swap defaults 0 0
    tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
    devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
    sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    [root@fedora15 ~]# grep home /etc/fstab || echo "not in fstab"
    not in fstab
    [root@fedora15 ~]# uname -a
    Linux fedora15 2.6.38.8-35.fc15.x86_64 #1 SMP Wed Jul 6 13:58:54 UTC 2011 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
    [root@fedora15 ~]# cat /etc/redhat-release
    Fedora release 15 (Lovelock)
    [root@fedora15 ~]# ll /home/
    total 4
    drwx------. 21 eric eric 4096 Jul 29 18:43 eric
    [root@fedora15 ~]# ll -d /home
    drwxr-xr-x. 3 root root 4096 May 18 13:33 /home

    this is strange. Should bin in /etc/fstab, shouldn`t it. Thanks for explanation.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    8,486

    Re: where is /home mounted from?

    you are not required to have a separate /home.

    If you did not define a separate /home, then it is part of / and mounted when / is mounted.

    from your setup, it appears that you have taken the default with Fedora using LVM, so unless you manually changed something in the partitioning setup during the install, your /home should have been set up as part of the vg_fedora15 volume group. it shoud have the name in your fstab of /dev/mapper/vg_fedora15-lv_home

    I would bet that somehow you changed the default and it didn't create /home as a separate logical volume, and it created it in the vg_fedora15-lv_root volume.

    Edit:

    Nothing wrong with having /home as part of your / filesystem. Fedora still works the same. It just means that it will be a little harder for you to upgrade in the future and keep the contents of your /home folder intact. (You will need to backup what you wish to keep, and then do the upgrade, instead of just telling the Fedora installer to not format /home)

    About the only issue you may have is if you put a lot of stuff in your /home folder and fill up your drive. You are now sharing drive space (only 18GB total) between /home and / so if you fill up /home/ then your system runs out of space as well.
    Last edited by DBelton; 29th July 2011 at 07:36 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    2

    Re: where is /home mounted from?

    I did not modify anything on installation. Just the vanilla settings. But I did not checked the settings on installation. anaconda-ks.cfg tells the following:

    #part /boot --fstype=ext4 --size=500
    #part pv.008002 --grow --size=500

    #volgroup vg_fedora15 --pesize=32768 pv.008002
    #logvol / --fstype=ext4 --name=lv_root --vgname=vg_fedora15 --grow --size=1024 --maxsize=51200
    #logvol swap --name=lv_swap --vgname=vg_fedora15 --grow --size=1008 --maxsize=2016
    bootloader --location=mbr --driveorder=sda --append="rhgb quiet"

    So, there was no /home defined. And so I am still really puzzled about how it could be mounted
    (looks for me like a bind-mount, but the output of "mount" does not reveal something like this).

    [root@fedora15 ~]# mount | grep home
    /dev/mapper/vg_fedora15-lv_root on /home type ext4 (rw,relatime,seclabel,barrier=1,data=ordered)

    I still do not understand where it is defined to be mounted (again). This could have then also be the case with e.g. /etc or /lib or whatever...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    8,486

    Re: where is /home mounted from?

    if it was created under your / filesystem and not a spearate filesystem, then all it had to do was a mkdir /home and it would require no separate mount for the filesystem.

    In other words, it is actually located at /home instead of a separate filesystem being mounted at /home

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    732

    Re: where is /home mounted from?

    I suspect this is part of (selinux) sandbox.

    See : https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=701176

    You can test this by turning sandbox off

    Code:
    systemctl stop  sandbox.service
    For an example of using sandbox see:

    http://www.bress.net/blog/archives/1...th-Fedora.html
    If it is not broken, tweak it... If you break Fedora you get to keep both pieces :p

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Waldorf, Maryland
    Posts
    7,345

    Re: where is /home mounted from?

    What you are seeing is a bind mount. See the manpage on mount.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    732

    Re: where is /home mounted from?

    It is indeed from sandbox. If you turn sandbox off

    Code:
    chkconfig sandbox off
    and reboot the multiple mounts go away.

    If you then start sandbox they return

    Code:
    systemctl start sandbox.service
    See the link I gave you about using sandbox, you might like it (I have been using it).

    To add sandbox back , with the default settings

    Code:
    chkconfig --level 5 sandbox on
    If it is not broken, tweak it... If you break Fedora you get to keep both pieces :p

Similar Threads

  1. home mounted twice?
    By vasco in forum F15 Development
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 20th May 2011, 12:22 PM
  2. [SOLVED]
    Fedora12 login: mounted home partition not accepted
    By acorlato in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 7th March 2010, 07:10 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15th October 2008, 08:30 PM
  4. fedora /home mounted as /media disk 1
    By mandrill in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21st April 2008, 07:20 PM
  5. FC6 broken with NFS-mounted /home directories?
    By skellert in forum EOL (End Of Life) Versions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 3rd November 2006, 05:35 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •