FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Rosarito
    Posts
    70

    Yum minimal install

    Can i used Yum in a minimal installation ?


  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sonoran Desert
    Posts
    2,420

    Re: Yum minimal install

    Sure. Yum is a command line tool and only requires a shell, which is where a minimal install leaves you.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Malibu, California
    Posts
    440

    Re: Yum minimal install

    Quote Originally Posted by xpzion7
    Can i used Yum in a minimal installation ?

    yum may be the best part of fedora linux . . .
    it is much better than Ubuntu apt-get and synaptic package manager imho

    and as said above, you only need be in runlevel 3 . . . no desktop even . . . to install with yum

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    7,548

    Re: Yum minimal install

    If you intend to use yum in the minimal system to install additional packages from the repos, then you'll need to be able to establish a connection to the Internet from the runlevel 3 (or multiuser.target or whatever it is now) command prompt. For me, that's very easy to do with a wired NIC in a minimal system. Usually dhclient eth0 (or whatever the interface gets named) will do it. If yum doesn't get connected to a repo, then consider adding some DNS nameserver IP addresses to /etc/resolv.conf. Those will work okay there temporarily. Later, if you go on to install the graphical environment, you'll need to enter those into NetworkManager for them to survive reboots. I find wireless a little difficult to establish in runlevel 3 nowadays. Starting with Fedora 14, wireless-tools was dropped from the minimal package set. When I have to work with wireless in a minimal system, I first set up the InstallMedia repo to get wireless-tools from the DVD. Then I can get connected and get everything else from the repos. WEP encryption makes the wireless connection simpler during the yum work. Then I switch back to WPA once NetworkManager is handling the interface.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sonoran Desert
    Posts
    2,420

    Re: Yum minimal install

    My wired ethernet is named em1 in my minimal F15, and "ifup em1" (as root) brings the link up.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Rosarito
    Posts
    70

    Re: Yum minimal install

    Quote Originally Posted by sonoran
    My wired ethernet is named em1 in my minimal F15, and "ifup em1" (as root) brings the link up.

    My eth was rename to p1p1

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    7,168

    Re: Yum minimal install

    This new naming style is apparently going to be the new way of doing it, but I found in F15 that it's been inconsistent--one fresh install using it and another not doing so. I never figured out the deciding factor--probably one was installed in alpha or beta form and gradually upgraded.

Similar Threads

  1. F14: Minimal install, minimal packages for X, KDE, NVIDIA
    By darlingm in forum Guides & Solutions (Not For Questions)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2nd May 2012, 06:37 PM
  2. Minimal Install?
    By sexyb3rry in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 29th January 2010, 08:44 PM
  3. Fedora 8 Minimal Install - 247MB after post-install!
    By 27spots in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th April 2008, 01:35 PM
  4. FC5 minimal install possible???
    By gdanko in forum EOL (End Of Life) Versions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15th April 2006, 09:39 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •