FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    15

    Virtual network/routing problem in FC15 (no problem in FC14, FC13)

    i've been using a virtual machine as an internet gateway since FC13. on the virtual machine, eth0 is bridged to eth0 of the host, and eth1 is from the default virtual network (NAT) of libvirt. the virtual machine thus provides internet connection to the host as shown below:

    {INTERNET} <---> [eth0-VM-eth1] <---> [virbr0-Host]

    this configuration works fine on FC13 and FC14. however, after i installed a fresh FC15 and setup virtualization the exact same way i did before on FC13 and FC14, the host cannot obtain internet connection from the virtual machine.

    i actually have another virtual machine, which also obtains its internet connection from the aforementioned virtual machine (also via NAT). there is no problem on the second virtual machine getting internet connection from the first virtual machine though.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    49

    Re: Virtual network/routing problem in FC15 (no problem in FC14, FC13)

    Quote Originally Posted by wlpl
    i've been using a virtual machine as an internet gateway since FC13. on the virtual machine, eth0 is bridged to eth0 of the host, and eth1 is from the default virtual network (NAT) of libvirt. the virtual machine thus provides internet connection to the host as shown below:

    {INTERNET} <---> [eth0-VM-eth1] <---> [virbr0-Host]

    this configuration works fine on FC13 and FC14. however, after i installed a fresh FC15 and setup virtualization the exact same way i did before on FC13 and FC14, the host cannot obtain internet connection from the virtual machine.

    i actually have another virtual machine, which also obtains its internet connection from the aforementioned virtual machine (also via NAT). there is no problem on the second virtual machine getting internet connection from the first virtual machine though.

    Could you give more details about your configuration? What IP address is on the host and how you noticed that Internet connection dosen't work ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    15

    Re: Virtual network/routing problem in FC15 (no problem in FC14, FC13)

    Quote Originally Posted by Raffaello22
    Could you give more details about your configuration? What IP address is on the host and how you noticed that Internet connection dosen't work ?
    eth0 on VM1: real IP from ISP
    eth1 on VM1: 192.168.1.2
    virbr0 on host: 192.168.1.1

    after "route add default gw 192.168.1.2" on host, and type "route" again to show the routing table, the routing table hangs for quite a while before the added "default gw 192.168.1.2" shows.

    internet connection works on VM1 and VM2 e.g. can ping www.google.com
    internet connection does not work on host i.e. cannot ping www.google.com
    Last edited by wlpl; 25th June 2011 at 01:31 PM. Reason: p.s. the same things work in FC13 and FC14. what has changed in networking/virtual networking in FC15?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    49

    Re: Virtual network/routing problem in FC15 (no problem in FC14, FC13)

    Quote Originally Posted by wlpl
    eth0 on VM1: real IP from ISP
    eth1 on VM1: 192.168.1.2
    virbr0 on host: 192.168.1.1

    after "route add default gw 192.168.1.2" on host, and type "route" again to show the routing table, the routing table hangs for quite a while before the added "default gw 192.168.1.2" shows.

    internet connection works on VM1 and VM2 e.g. can ping www.google.com
    internet connection does not work on host i.e. cannot ping www.google.com
    Hello,

    Type on host:
    route -rn
    ping 192.168.1.2
    ping 194.204.159.1
    traceroute 194.204.159.1

    and paste output here.

    Edit:
    Do you have enable ip forwarding ? if not:
    Code:
    echo "1" > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward
    best regards,
    Last edited by Raffaello22; 25th June 2011 at 02:26 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    15

    Re: Virtual network/routing problem in FC15 (no problem in FC14, FC13)

    Quote Originally Posted by Raffaello22
    Hello,

    Type on host:
    route -rn
    ping 192.168.1.2
    ping 194.204.159.1
    traceroute 194.204.159.1

    and paste output here.

    Edit:
    Do you have enable ip forwarding ? if not:
    Code:
    echo "1" > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward
    best regards,
    do i type those commands on host with or without my "route add default gw 192.168.1.2"?

    do you mean IP forwarding on host or VM?

    thanks.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    49

    Re: Virtual network/routing problem in FC15 (no problem in FC14, FC13)

    Quote Originally Posted by wlpl
    do i type those commands on host with or without my "route add default gw 192.168.1.2"?

    do you mean IP forwarding on host or VM?

    thanks.
    You should IP address and default gateway configured on host before you type this commands.

    IP forwarding should be enable on rouer (VM in this case). Eventually you can also check firewall on VM and temporary disabled iptables.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    15

    Re: Virtual network/routing problem in FC15 (no problem in FC14, FC13)

    Quote Originally Posted by Raffaello22
    You should IP address and default gateway configured on host before you type this commands.

    IP forwarding should be enable on rouer (VM in this case). Eventually you can also check firewall on VM and temporary disabled iptables.
    IP forwarding is enabled on the VM.

    here are the results:

    Code:
    ping 192.168.1.2
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.2: icmp_req=1 ttl=64 time=0.185 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.2: icmp_req=2 ttl=64 time=0.195 ms
    ...
    Code:
    ping 194.204.159.1
    64 bytes from 194.204.159.1: icmp_req=1 ttl=235 time=357 ms
    64 bytes from 194.204.159.1: icmp_req=2 ttl=235 time=368 ms
    ...
    Code:
    traceroute to 194.204.159.1 (194.204.159.1), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
     1  192.168.1.2 (192.168.1.2)  0.185 ms  0.169 ms  0.387 ms
     2  10.99.144.1 (10.99.144.1)  7.997 ms * *
     3  10.255.99.253 (10.255.99.253)  18.774 ms  18.832 ms  18.934 ms
     4  192.168.116.157 (192.168.116.157)  18.669 ms  18.851 ms  18.956 ms
     5  192.168.66.45 (192.168.66.45)  17.522 ms  17.582 ms  17.628 ms
     6  192.168.67.121 (192.168.67.121)  17.680 ms 192.168.66.109 (192.168.66.109)  10.250 ms  15.381 ms
     7  192.168.64.113 (192.168.64.113)  30.189 ms  34.867 ms 192.168.64.109 (192.168.64.109)  34.982 ms
     8  61.10.0.109 (61.10.0.109)  34.988 ms 61.10.0.113 (61.10.0.113)  34.965 ms 61.10.0.117 (61.10.0.117)  34.955 ms
     9  61.10.0.65 (61.10.0.65)  36.279 ms  36.361 ms 61.10.0.102 (61.10.0.102)  34.896 ms
    10  61.10.0.65 (61.10.0.65)  36.391 ms 203.131.245.237 (203.131.245.237)  37.341 ms 61.10.0.65 (61.10.0.65)  36.125 ms
    11  129.250.3.194 (129.250.3.194)  37.223 ms *  34.891 ms
    12  129.250.3.192 (129.250.3.192)  40.860 ms 129.250.2.148 (129.250.2.148)  55.488 ms 129.250.3.192 (129.250.3.192)  20.295 ms
    13  129.250.2.6 (129.250.2.6)  64.972 ms 129.250.3.197 (129.250.3.197)  181.963 ms 129.250.2.6 (129.250.2.6)  64.944 ms
    14  129.250.2.2 (129.250.2.2)  64.930 ms  65.014 ms  64.913 ms
    15  * * 129.250.2.164 (129.250.2.164)  177.168 ms
    16  129.250.5.32 (129.250.5.32)  181.008 ms 129.250.9.98 (129.250.9.98)  186.537 ms 129.250.5.32 (129.250.5.32)  188.218 ms
    17  * 193.251.241.14 (193.251.241.14)  267.218 ms *
    18  129.250.9.98 (129.250.9.98)  184.770 ms  184.651 ms  191.884 ms
    19  193.251.241.14 (193.251.241.14)  285.385 ms  276.357 ms  285.437 ms
    20  193.251.240.249 (193.251.240.249)  325.245 ms *  327.807 ms
    21  195.205.0.214 (195.205.0.214)  377.967 ms 193.251.128.14 (193.251.128.14)  378.760 ms 195.205.0.214 (195.205.0.214)  381.308 ms
    22  * * *
    23  195.205.0.214 (195.205.0.214)  378.598 ms  378.937 ms  383.278 ms
    24  * * *
    25  * * *
    26  * * *
    27  * * *
    28  * * *
    29  * * *
    30  * * *
    you said "route -rn" but there's no option "r" for "route".

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    49

    Re: Virtual network/routing problem in FC15 (no problem in FC14, FC13)

    Quote Originally Posted by wlpl
    IP forwarding is enabled on the VM.

    here are the results:

    Code:
    ping 192.168.1.2
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.2: icmp_req=1 ttl=64 time=0.185 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.2: icmp_req=2 ttl=64 time=0.195 ms
    ...
    Code:
    ping 194.204.159.1
    64 bytes from 194.204.159.1: icmp_req=1 ttl=235 time=357 ms
    64 bytes from 194.204.159.1: icmp_req=2 ttl=235 time=368 ms
    ...
    Code:
    traceroute to 194.204.159.1 (194.204.159.1), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
     1  192.168.1.2 (192.168.1.2)  0.185 ms  0.169 ms  0.387 ms
     2  10.99.144.1 (10.99.144.1)  7.997 ms * *
     3  10.255.99.253 (10.255.99.253)  18.774 ms  18.832 ms  18.934 ms
     4  192.168.116.157 (192.168.116.157)  18.669 ms  18.851 ms  18.956 ms
     5  192.168.66.45 (192.168.66.45)  17.522 ms  17.582 ms  17.628 ms
     6  192.168.67.121 (192.168.67.121)  17.680 ms 192.168.66.109 (192.168.66.109)  10.250 ms  15.381 ms
     7  192.168.64.113 (192.168.64.113)  30.189 ms  34.867 ms 192.168.64.109 (192.168.64.109)  34.982 ms
     8  61.10.0.109 (61.10.0.109)  34.988 ms 61.10.0.113 (61.10.0.113)  34.965 ms 61.10.0.117 (61.10.0.117)  34.955 ms
     9  61.10.0.65 (61.10.0.65)  36.279 ms  36.361 ms 61.10.0.102 (61.10.0.102)  34.896 ms
    10  61.10.0.65 (61.10.0.65)  36.391 ms 203.131.245.237 (203.131.245.237)  37.341 ms 61.10.0.65 (61.10.0.65)  36.125 ms
    11  129.250.3.194 (129.250.3.194)  37.223 ms *  34.891 ms
    12  129.250.3.192 (129.250.3.192)  40.860 ms 129.250.2.148 (129.250.2.148)  55.488 ms 129.250.3.192 (129.250.3.192)  20.295 ms
    13  129.250.2.6 (129.250.2.6)  64.972 ms 129.250.3.197 (129.250.3.197)  181.963 ms 129.250.2.6 (129.250.2.6)  64.944 ms
    14  129.250.2.2 (129.250.2.2)  64.930 ms  65.014 ms  64.913 ms
    15  * * 129.250.2.164 (129.250.2.164)  177.168 ms
    16  129.250.5.32 (129.250.5.32)  181.008 ms 129.250.9.98 (129.250.9.98)  186.537 ms 129.250.5.32 (129.250.5.32)  188.218 ms
    17  * 193.251.241.14 (193.251.241.14)  267.218 ms *
    18  129.250.9.98 (129.250.9.98)  184.770 ms  184.651 ms  191.884 ms
    19  193.251.241.14 (193.251.241.14)  285.385 ms  276.357 ms  285.437 ms
    20  193.251.240.249 (193.251.240.249)  325.245 ms *  327.807 ms
    21  195.205.0.214 (195.205.0.214)  377.967 ms 193.251.128.14 (193.251.128.14)  378.760 ms 195.205.0.214 (195.205.0.214)  381.308 ms
    22  * * *
    23  195.205.0.214 (195.205.0.214)  378.598 ms  378.937 ms  383.278 ms
    24  * * *
    25  * * *
    26  * * *
    27  * * *
    28  * * *
    29  * * *
    30  * * *
    you said "route -rn" but there's no option "r" for "route".
    Hello,
    You have problem with DNS. Setting correctly DNS Servers in /etc/resolv.conf

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    15

    Re: Virtual network/routing problem in FC15 (no problem in FC14, FC13)

    Quote Originally Posted by Raffaello22
    Hello,
    You have problem with DNS. Setting correctly DNS Servers in /etc/resolv.conf
    the entries in resolv.conf is the same in the host and the VM. however, NetworkManager says not to put DNS settings in resolv.conf, that they should go in ifcfg files instead. could it be NetworkManager that is causing the trouble? i have disabled NetworkManager by "systemctl disable NetworkManager.service" and have been using network instead. and if i were to put DNS settings in ifcfg files as instructed, where is the ifcfg for virbr0?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    49

    Re: Virtual network/routing problem in FC15 (no problem in FC14, FC13)

    In directory:
    Code:
    /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/
    if file ifcfg-vibr0 doesn't exist in this directory create this file.

    content example:
    Code:
    DEVICE="eth0"
    BOOTPROTO="dhcp"
    HWADDR="08:00:27:38:4D:5E"
    NM_CONTROLLED="yes"
    ONBOOT="yes"
    but you can put DNS settings in /etc/sysconfig/network file using directive:
    DNS1=IP_ADDRESS_DNS1_SERVER
    DNS2=IP_ADDRESS_DNS1_SERVER

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    15

    Re: Virtual network/routing problem in FC15 (no problem in FC14, FC13)

    Quote Originally Posted by Raffaello22
    In directory:
    Code:
    /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/
    if file ifcfg-vibr0 doesn't exist in this directory create this file.

    content example:
    Code:
    DEVICE="eth0"
    BOOTPROTO="dhcp"
    HWADDR="08:00:27:38:4D:5E"
    NM_CONTROLLED="yes"
    ONBOOT="yes"
    but you can put DNS settings in /etc/sysconfig/network file using directive:
    DNS1=IP_ADDRESS_DNS1_SERVER
    DNS2=IP_ADDRESS_DNS1_SERVER
    i'm not sure about the first method cuz virbr0 is a virtual interface created by libvirt.

    i tried the second method (put in /etc/sysconfig/network). it would automatically create the entries i put in /etc/sysconfig/network in /etc/resolv.conf, but it still doesn't work.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    49

    Re: Virtual network/routing problem in FC15 (no problem in FC14, FC13)

    Quote Originally Posted by wlpl
    i'm not sure about the first method cuz virbr0 is a virtual interface created by libvirt.

    i tried the second method (put in /etc/sysconfig/network). it would automatically create the entries i put in /etc/sysconfig/network in /etc/resolv.conf, but it still doesn't work.

    Type:
    Code:
    nslookup www.wp.pl
    Do you see resolved IP address for www.wp.pl domain ? If not, you have incorrectly configured DNS Server(Servers) in /etc/resolv.conf

    Try in web browser 212.77.100.101. Do you see web page ?

    Try once again ping any external address like:
    194.204.159.1
    212.77.100.101
    if success, check if you don't have blocking port 53 on firewall.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    15

    Re: Virtual network/routing problem in FC15 (no problem in FC14, FC13)

    Quote Originally Posted by Raffaello22
    Type:
    Code:
    nslookup www.wp.pl
    Do you see resolved IP address for www.wp.pl domain ? If not, you have incorrectly configured DNS Server(Servers) in /etc/resolv.conf

    Try in web browser 212.77.100.101. Do you see web page ?

    Try once again ping any external address like:
    194.204.159.1
    212.77.100.101
    if success, check if you don't have blocking port 53 on firewall.
    cannot resolve www.wp.pl

    cannot get to 212.77.100.101 on web browser.

    can ping those 2 external IP.

    port 53 isn't blocked.

    my DNS in /etc/resolv.conf is like:
    Code:
    nameserver 11.22.33.44
    nameserver 44.33.22.11
    everything looks right (and identical in fc13 and fc14). yet things don't work.

    ---------- Post added at 09:01 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:39 AM ----------

    i've submitted a bug report https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=717254

    thank you Raffaello22 for having been trying to help me.

Similar Threads

  1. Upgrade FC13 to FC14 demands for network connectivity
    By speedysupranet in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 31st May 2011, 12:24 PM
  2. fc14->fc15 usb 3.0 not working
    By prague in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 30th May 2011, 09:02 AM
  3. [SOLVED] Problem with Windows network browsing (FC15)
    By Philio30 in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 26th May 2011, 10:06 PM
  4. [SOLVED] FC15 - Wireless slow (< 5 KBS) - FC14 didn't have this problem
    By lpshark in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26th May 2011, 02:24 PM
  5. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10th November 2010, 07:00 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •