FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Bogra, Bangladesh
    Age
    26
    Posts
    30

    ATI catalyst and Fedora 15

    Hello,

    I previously used fedora 14 and followed this guide there to install ATI catalyst driver: HERE (upto step 13) and it worked like a charm.

    Now today while binging I found this: http://fedora.missingbox.co.nz/ and here it says I need to do :
    Code:
    yum install akmod-catalyst xorg-x11-drv-catalyst xorg-x11-drv-catalyst-libs.i686
    to install ATI driver.

    Now questions are:

    1. Will the old method work too?
    2. Is the later method for both 32 and 64 bits?
    3. Which one should I try?

    Any suggestion would be of great help. And no, open source drivers don't work out well with my card. I'm currently downloading Fedora 15 GNOME.
    Mess with the best...... Die like the rest.....

  2. #2
    leigh123linux Guest

    Re: ATI catalyst and Fedora 15

    There is a lot of screen corruption using this driver with Gnome 3.

    Here's a current guide.

    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=155503

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Age
    26
    Posts
    9,224

    Re: ATI catalyst and Fedora 15

    If you have RPM Fusion installed, you can install the pre-packaged RPMs and you don't have to worry about building the drivers manually with each kernel release.

    Code:
    yum install akmod-catalyst xorg-x11-drv-catalyst
    Use this if you want to install the akmod (your system will install many development tools so that it can build new kmods automatically when new kernels come out)

    Code:
    yum install kmod-catalyst xorg-x11-drv-catalyst
    Use this to install the pre-built kmod. Quickest and easiest, and does not require development tools but you may have to wait a day or two when a new kernel comes out before updating so that RPM Fusion can publish the corresponding kmod for the new kernel.

    Code:
    yum install xorg-x11-drv-catalyst-libs.i686
    In either case, use this to install the 32-bit libraries on a 64-bit system.

    Edit: Ah, Leigh got to it first. His guide works well (it's essentially what I posted above plus a few extra fixes).
    [+] My open source software and blog
    [+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    10

    Re: ATI catalyst and Fedora 15

    Well, this doesnt work since the kernel versions dont match. The latest fedora kernel is a few revisions AHEAD of the rpmfusion kmod.

    However, the akmod installs fine. IT doesn work though - xserver fails to start.


    The present ATi Propretory divers do work - compiz works, but glxgears gives 60 FPS. (i am using RadeonHD 5700)


    Edit: this is exactly what I see: http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/sho...d.php?t=263632
    Last edited by xtachx; 27th May 2011 at 08:45 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Dk
    Posts
    115

    Re: ATI catalyst and Fedora 15

    I am having the same problem. Both akmod and kmod install just fine, but provide major graphic glithces in gnome shell, and provide extremely poor performance when running any graphical application.

    I also tried downloading the .run installer from ati's site, but that just prevented gnome shell from starting in anything but fallback mode, which sucks.

    Hopefully there will soon be a fix to this

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Age
    26
    Posts
    9,224

    Re: ATI catalyst and Fedora 15

    There's a bug in the AMD driver that's causing that, so it doesn't matter if you use the .run or the RPM Fusion package... Unfortunately the only workaround at the moment (until AMD fixes their driver) is to force fallback mode or to use the open drivers.
    [+] My open source software and blog
    [+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6

    Re: ATI catalyst and Fedora 15

    In otherwords, we need to wait for a fix, right?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    104

    Re: ATI catalyst and Fedora 15

    Shock horror, the catalyst drivers still don't work......

    I wish AMD/ATI would pul thier finger out.

    E-I

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    10

    Re: ATI catalyst and Fedora 15

    Heres my thread: http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=266144

    It has a screenshot of my desktop. The driver seems to be OK - every other DE like KDE, enlightenment etc works fine. I d k who to blame, ATi or Gnome3?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    14

    Re: ATI catalyst and Fedora 15

    So, what's the deal, nobody got stuff working with Gnome Shell plus Catalyst or the RMPFusion drivers? I tried to load the drivers in F15 and Ubuntu's version of Gnome 3 via ppa, and got the same results as people here.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Den Haag, The Netherlands
    Posts
    14

    Re: ATI catalyst and Fedora 15

    I have the same results with the AMD Catalyst 11.8 driver from a few days ago. Still awaiting a solution.
    Do we already know it is due to Gnome or due to the driver? It is a bit strange that it only applies to the Gnome3 top bar. Does it do anything special? Might there be a setting to make it more basic maybe to lose these stripes?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    32

    Re: ATI catalyst and Fedora 15

    Apparently the fix is in hand: http://ati.cchtml.com/show_bug.cgi?id=99#c59

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Den Haag, The Netherlands
    Posts
    14

    Re: ATI catalyst and Fedora 15

    That sounds good. Although it might take one or two months more before we can download it given their release cycle.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    1

    Re: ATI catalyst and Fedora 15

    hey all im not sure if this is another problem happening, but for me the UI in G3 runs quite choppy. either i didnt install the drivers properly (im a noob to anything linux) or the drivers just plain suck or maybe G3 needs improvement who knows. when i had the open drivers installed everything was silky smooth.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Lawrenceville, Georgia
    Posts
    363

    Re: ATI catalyst and Fedora 15

    Does anyone know if there is a problem with the 64 bit version of the lib files? I only see references to i686 in all guides and even mention that it'll work on x86_64 systems. I was not able to get it to load properly with the x86_64 lib file so I wound up removing it. I want to know if I should use the 32bit version or it doesn't matter?
    Hey, I was born confused, what's your excuse?!?!?! :D
    AMD Phenom II 965 64 X4, MSI 890FXA-GD70 16 GB (4x4GB) 1600 DDR3 RAM Corsair, Video = AMD HD5770 w/1GB VRAM, SATAIII HDD 1 = 640GB, SATAIII HDD 2 = 1.0TB, SATAII HDD 3 = 1.0TB, SATAIII HDD 4 = 1.0TB, SATA 7 = ASUS DVD/CD, SATA 8 = Panasonic BD/DVD/CD RAM, Corsair HX850W, CoolMaster ATCS840 OS = Fedora 20

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. when catalyst will be available for fedora 14
    By geolab in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th November 2010, 05:08 AM
  2. ATI Catalyst 10.6 and Fedora 13
    By scorpio2002 in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 1st August 2010, 02:33 PM
  3. ATI Catalyst 10.7 and Fedora 13
    By lovenemesis in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 30th July 2010, 08:25 AM
  4. Catalyst ATI 10.4 driver for Fedora 12
    By Memysabu in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 44
    Last Post: 27th May 2010, 12:50 PM
  5. does catalyst 8.6 work with fedora 9?
    By unixguru88 in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27th June 2008, 09:17 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •