<---- template headericclude ----->
Ralink chipsets (RT2760/RT2790/RT2860/RT2890, RT3090/RT3091/RT3092)
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 34
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    41
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Ralink chipsets (RT2760/RT2790/RT2860/RT2890, RT3090/RT3091/RT3092)

    If you're having problems with the following Ralink chipsets: RT2760/RT2790/RT2860/RT2890, RT3090/RT3091/RT3092, that were previously using the rt2860sta driver, and now use the rt2X00 ones, and have already installed/compiled driver from RaLink, you should first check which rt* modules are loaded
    Code:
     $ lsmod | grep rt
    and blacklist the ones that you find preloaded, editing as root your /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf and adding
    EDIT: this is for rt2860sta:
    Code:
    blacklist rt2800pci
    blacklist rt2800lib
    blacklist rt2x00pci
    blacklist rt2x00lib
    Otherwise, on a fresh installation, you shouldn't have to install the drivers from RaLink nor use akmod/kmods from RPM Fusion, as the 2X00 driver from SerialMonkey is now fully functional.

    http://cateee.net/lkddb/web-lkddb/RT2X00.html
    Last edited by oupsemma; 25th December 2010 at 10:20 PM. Reason: Adding rt2860 reference
    eeepc 1000H Fuduntu
    eeepc 901 Crunchbang Statler

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Ralink chipsets (RT2760/RT2790/RT2860/RT2890, RT3090/RT3091/RT3092)

    Thank you Oupsemma!! I was having to reboot every time I logged into Gnome with my wireless card turned on because my kernel crashed...very annoying!

    One quick comment: Using the new driver is part of the kernel, but may not work automagically. You can check it exists by typing (as any user)
    Code:
    modprobe -l | grep rt2x
    If it does simply enable it by typing (as root)
    Code:
    modprobe rt2nnnyyy
    Where nnn is the model of your wireless card and yyy is the bus, which can be found by typing (as any user)
    Code:
    lspci |grep RaLink 
    lsusb |grep RaLink
    For example, my output to lspci |grep RaLink is:
    Code:
    04:00.0 Network controller: RaLink RT2860
    lsusb |grep RaLink didn't output anything. My card is on the PCI bus.

    Therefore I had to type (as root)
    Code:
    modprobe rt2800pci
    NOTE:
    If you installed the kmod-rt2860 or kmod-rt2870 package, please erase it before you start trying to enable the new driver. You can also simply disable it by adding one of the following lines to /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf and rebooting.
    Code:
    blacklist rt2860sta
    -or-
    Code:
    blacklist rt2870sta

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Ralink chipsets (RT2760/RT2790/RT2860/RT2890, RT3090/RT3091/RT3092)

    Would i need to add anything to my udev rules for my device to be configured upon being plugged in?

    edit: I have the alfa awus036nh. I started a thread before I found this, as I searched for the wrong terms.....
    Last edited by corp769; 24th December 2010 at 05:48 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Ralink chipsets (RT2760/RT2790/RT2860/RT2890, RT3090/RT3091/RT3092)

    corp769,
    I dont know for sure. You will need to test. I would say that you shouldn't have to. It appears that my 70-persistent-net.rules file changed so that its working with the new module. You might try booting with it attached once if you have problems hot plugging. The only things I ended up having to do is erase the old rt2860sta package and type modprobe as root one time to make it kick off, because adding the module never did start automatically. After that, it loaded up at boot. You may need to run modprobe one time after you plug it in for the first time.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Ralink chipsets (RT2760/RT2790/RT2860/RT2890, RT3090/RT3091/RT3092)

    Ok, yea that's the only thing that I didn't try yet, was to leave it plugged in and reboot. I will do that right now and let you know what the hell happens. Thanks though.

    ---------- Post added at 09:26 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:15 AM ----------

    Ok nothing. Driver doesnt get loaded automatically, so i modprobed it, and still nothing. I have nothing blacklisted. Before when i had everything blacklisted from the first post, it did say that it was using the rt2800usb driver. Any thoughts?

    edit - the persistent rules did not change at all too....

    ---------- Post added at 09:35 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:26 AM ----------

    One other thing I would like to add.... when I first got it, I did a yum install rt3070* and it installed third party drivers from rpmfusion, along with the kmod files, and networkmanager picked it up and it worked, but monitor mode and injection did not. Maybe I need to do something along that line, possibly install the kmod files?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Ralink chipsets (RT2760/RT2790/RT2860/RT2890, RT3090/RT3091/RT3092)

    Bump for good luck?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    41
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Ralink chipsets (RT2760/RT2790/RT2860/RT2890, RT3090/RT3091/RT3092)

    corp769:
    Your USB device seems to use the rt2870sta driver: http://wiki.debian.org/rt2870sta
    rt2870sta is a module for the Ralink RT2800U[D] and RT3000U[D] USB 802.11 draft-n wireless LAN chipsets.
    Ralink 802.11n PCI devices are supported by the rt2860sta driver.
    Ralink 802.11g USB devices are supported by the rt73usb and rt2500usb drivers.
    Here, you'll find how to tweak it to your needs:
    https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php...#Configuration
    eeepc 1000H Fuduntu
    eeepc 901 Crunchbang Statler

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Ralink chipsets (RT2760/RT2790/RT2860/RT2890, RT3090/RT3091/RT3092)

    oupsemma - Can you confirm injection with that driver? And how about network manager compatibility? I know how to get my chipset working, I just need to get injection working with it.....

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    41
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Ralink chipsets (RT2760/RT2790/RT2860/RT2890, RT3090/RT3091/RT3092)

    Don't know about injection, but it seems to, from what I've found:
    http://securitystartshere.org/page-t...-platforms.htm
    http://www.aircrack-ng.org/doku.php?id=rt2870&s[]=rt2870
    http://forum.aircrack-ng.org/index.p...25504#msg25504

    As for the networking GUI, sometimes ago Wicd used to work better than NetworkManager with RaLink chipsets, but now my experience with rt2860 and various distros is that, for basic Internet use, they are equal.
    eeepc 1000H Fuduntu
    eeepc 901 Crunchbang Statler

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Ralink chipsets (RT2760/RT2790/RT2860/RT2890, RT3090/RT3091/RT3092)

    Alright well i have the injection drivers installed pretty much, i just need to find out how to either set up the udev rules or whatever so when i plug in my device, it will load the drivers for it and recognize it. Anyone have information on how to do this? Thanks.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Ralink chipsets (RT2760/RT2790/RT2860/RT2890, RT3090/RT3091/RT3092)

    Err, bump?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Ralink chipsets (RT2760/RT2790/RT2860/RT2890, RT3090/RT3091/RT3092)

    Is there anyone who could help even a bit? I really don't know where to start with this....

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Ralink chipsets (RT2760/RT2790/RT2860/RT2890, RT3090/RT3091/RT3092)

    Wow, bump one more time? lol...

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    41
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Ralink chipsets (RT2760/RT2790/RT2860/RT2890, RT3090/RT3091/RT3092)

    eeepc 1000H Fuduntu
    eeepc 901 Crunchbang Statler

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Ralink chipsets (RT2760/RT2790/RT2860/RT2890, RT3090/RT3091/RT3092)

    And i'm kind of back to square one.... the link http://codeme.gotdns.com/2010/12/14/...h-aircrack-ng/ would be a good reference, but when I go to the actual site that it talks about, like once again, there is no information for my chipset. Now unless you can tell me straight up that I can follow the steps and information needed for a completely different chipset, does anyone have anything else? I am seriously about to give up and smash this thing in anger haha....

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. RaLink rt3090 wireless card
    By shookees in forum Hardware
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 3rd January 2012, 08:24 PM
  2. Replies: 35
    Last Post: 18th March 2011, 10:11 PM
  3. RaLink RT3090 pci card gma500MSI MSI x320
    By yoshiki2 in forum Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15th November 2009, 03:47 PM
  4. Ralink rt2860 and rt2870
    By martind1111 in forum Fedora 12 Alpha, Beta & Release Candidates
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9th November 2009, 10:25 PM
  5. RaLink RT3090 wireless card
    By agillis in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1st July 2009, 02:24 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
[[template footer(Guest)]]