FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 74
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    4,327

    Fedora 14 RC1 available for testing

    Hi, everyone. Just to note for those who haven't seen that RC1 is now up. If you have spare time to help us test it, that would be really great. It can be found here. I've put up a News thread with instructions on how to help with the formal release validation testing. This thread can be for general RC1 discussion. Thanks everyone!
    Adam Williamson | awilliam AT redhat DOT com
    Fedora QA Community Monkey
    IRC: adamw | Twitter: AdamW_Fedora | identi.ca: adamwfedora
    http://www.happyassassin.net

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Tragic City, Michigan USA
    Posts
    1,700

    Re: Fedora 14 RC1 available for testing

    Downloaded the Fedora-14-i686-Live-Desktop.iso and successfully installed to a 2GB usb flash drive with Liveusb-creator from a F13 install. Booted the F14 rc1 usb from a Sony laptop to the desktop with no problem.
    Started checking the functions and noticed that I could not connect to the web through ethernet connection but
    worked with the onboard wireless.

    Decided to install to the laptop and everything worked fine using the default setting to use the whole drive. Took
    about 10 minutes to complete and login to the fresh install desktop and still no ethernet connectivity. Took the
    same usb device and booted it from an Emachines desktop with no problem getting to a desktop but same thing there no ethernet connectivity. Hooked up my Belkin wireless dongle to the desktop and it worked and connected fine.

    The ethernet card for the desktop is RTL-8139 and the laptop is a Marvell Tech. 88E8036. Any ideas as to getting the ethernet working or has anyone else tried the live image with similar results.

    phil
    Last edited by ryptyde; 24th October 2010 at 03:36 AM. Reason: move a line

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2,746

    Re: Fedora 14 RC1 available for testing

    I installed RC1 on a laptop and ethernet worked from the beginning. I used the desktop liveCD (Gnome) and put it on a 1GB USB stick with the dd command. Did you notice any error messages, e.g. in /var/log/messages?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Saint Petersburg, Russia
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4

    Re: Fedora 14 RC1 available for testing

    Quote Originally Posted by AdamW
    Hi, everyone. Just to note for those who haven't seen that RC1 is now up. If you have spare time to help us test it, that would be really great. It can be found here. I've put up a News thread with instructions on how to help with the formal release validation testing. This thread can be for general RC1 discussion. Thanks everyone!
    Installed from netinst RC1 and everything works fine except of the internet connection. It worked fine too, but for unknown reason asked for a wlan connection even when ethernet was available.

    don't think it's a bug, but this behavior should be fixed before 15, IMHO.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Tragic City, Michigan USA
    Posts
    1,700

    Re: Fedora 14 RC1 available for testing

    Quote Originally Posted by CSchwangler
    I installed RC1 on a laptop and ethernet worked from the beginning. I used the desktop liveCD (Gnome) and put it on a 1GB USB stick with the dd command. Did you notice any error messages, e.g. in /var/log/messages?
    According to the log the device was activated and the NetworkManager panel icon said "Wired network connection 'Auto eth0' active" but could not ping google.com. I used the wireless connection to install "system-config-network" and "system-config-services" and looked for anything that may be disabled. Made a few changes to allow "http and https" and in services enabled httpd and after a reboot the ethernet appears to be working as it should and pinging google and starting firefox now works. So my ethernet problem is solved at this point.

    phil

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    48

    Re: Fedora 14 RC1 available for testing

    I installed it on my Acer 5740 laptop and it's mostly working well. WiFi, sound and webcam all work without a hitch.

    I initially tried shrinking a Windows 7 NTFS partion, but the installer keeps crashing. I was able to install on a USB flash drive no problem.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    London Postbox (the red one)
    Age
    52
    Posts
    3,868

    Re: Fedora 14 RC1 available for testing

    Working well for me, and gnome shell seems to be running perfect now (at last)
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot.png 
Views:	378 
Size:	108.4 KB 
ID:	20214  

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    142

    Bug in Nautilus

    Dont know if this belongs here, but hope this helps

    Folder-Zoom in Nautilus shows strange behaviour in 14-i686 and 14-x86_64 as well. I experienced this since 14Beta.

  9. #9
    tox Guest

    Re: Fedora 14 RC1 available for testing

    Quote Originally Posted by Dangermouse
    Working well for me, and gnome shell seems to be running perfect now (at last)
    glad to see you got Gnome-shell going in F14 cause i cant. says i dont have 3D Hardware or some crap like that. might add i was using the opensource Nvidia driver

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    London Postbox (the red one)
    Age
    52
    Posts
    3,868

    Re: Fedora 14 RC1 available for testing

    Quote Originally Posted by detox
    glad to see you got Gnome-shell going in F14 cause i cant. says i dont have 3D Hardware or some crap like that. might add i was using the opensource Nvidia driver
    Yeh i had to install the nvidia driver from nvidia, the rpmfusion nvidia driver just doesnt work for me nor anyone else in f14 from what i can tell.

  11. #11
    tox Guest

    Re: Fedora 14 RC1 available for testing

    Quote Originally Posted by Dangermouse
    Yeh i had to install the nvidia driver from nvidia, the rpmfusion nvidia driver just doesnt work for me nor anyone else in f14 from what i can tell.
    not that im overly conerned with Gnome-shell not working. since its only gonna be a Addon to Gnome3.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    4,327

    Re: Fedora 14 RC1 available for testing

    detox: you need to do 'yum install mesa-dri-drivers-experimental' to get 3D support with nouveau, and even then, whether gnome-shell will work isn't a sure thing. I have two NVIDIA systems; gnome-shell works fine with nouveau on one of them (this one) but is badly broken on the other. nouveau 3D support is still fairly early.

    dangermouse: he said he was using 'the open source driver' (i.e. nouveau), not nvidia installed from RPM Fusion. nvidia from Fusion should work but the problem is that the tool used to configure X for it, nvidia-config-display, doesn't, because of https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=623742 , so if you just install the driver from RPM Fusion, xorg.conf won't be set up right and it won't work. This should be workaroundable somehow, but I haven't really tested it.
    Adam Williamson | awilliam AT redhat DOT com
    Fedora QA Community Monkey
    IRC: adamw | Twitter: AdamW_Fedora | identi.ca: adamwfedora
    http://www.happyassassin.net

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    4,327

    Re: Fedora 14 RC1 available for testing

    mister b: how exactly did the installer crash when you tried to resize an NTFS partition? did you report the crash?
    Adam Williamson | awilliam AT redhat DOT com
    Fedora QA Community Monkey
    IRC: adamw | Twitter: AdamW_Fedora | identi.ca: adamwfedora
    http://www.happyassassin.net

  14. #14
    tox Guest

    Re: Fedora 14 RC1 available for testing

    Quote Originally Posted by detox
    glad to see you got Gnome-shell going in F14 cause i cant. says i dont have 3D Hardware or some crap like that. might add i was using the opensource Nvidia driver
    Quote Originally Posted by AdamW
    detox: you need to do 'yum install mesa-dri-drivers-experimental' to get 3D support with nouveau, and even then, whether gnome-shell will work isn't a sure thing. I have two NVIDIA systems; gnome-shell works fine with nouveau on one of them (this one) but is badly broken on the other. nouveau 3D support is still fairly early.
    yeah i used that driver Ads, it would not work , when i install F15 looks like i'll have to use the blob driver

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    4,327

    Re: Fedora 14 RC1 available for testing

    detox: ah, fair enough. like I said, it doesn't work in all cases by any means yet :/
    Adam Williamson | awilliam AT redhat DOT com
    Fedora QA Community Monkey
    IRC: adamw | Twitter: AdamW_Fedora | identi.ca: adamwfedora
    http://www.happyassassin.net

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 9th February 2009, 09:17 PM
  2. Testing Fedora Preview
    By bookie in forum Alpha - Beta (Fedora 9 Only)
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 27th April 2008, 05:09 PM
  3. Fedora 7 will need some serious testing!
    By ihavenoname in forum Fedora Focus
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 6th January 2007, 01:35 PM
  4. Where's Fedora Testing?
    By eelgueta in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th August 2005, 11:07 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •