FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    10

    Display graphics from service?

    I have a service running as root. This service doesn't have a main graphical screen, but if there is an error it has a pop up box that lets the user know. Of course the user wouldn't be logged into root so how do I get the graphics to show up on a different users desktop?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    4,851

    Re: Display graphics from service?

    It'd help if you mentioned what "service" you're running.
    - Tom
    "What is freedom? To have the will to be responsible for one's self." - Stirner

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    10

    Re: Display graphics from service?

    Quote Originally Posted by forkbomb
    It'd help if you mentioned what "service" you're running.
    It's a service using Java Service Wrapper that I created. It's a backup utility that I created.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Westminster, Colorado
    Posts
    2,306

    Re: Display graphics from service?

    Try using notify to display you message to the logged in user.

    Code:
    /usr/bin/notify-send -t 0 'Danger!' 'Will Robinson!'
    There are programmatic APIs to libnotify, you can probably google one for Java.

    Edit, you might start here: http://skaba.wordpress.com/2009/05/1...dding-actions/
    Last edited by brunson; 28th May 2010 at 04:17 PM.
    Registered Linux User #4837
    411th in line to get sued by Micro$oft
    Basically, to learn Unix you learn to understand and apply a small set of key ideas and achieve expertise by expanding both the set of ideas and your ability to apply them - Paul Murphy

Similar Threads

  1. Corrupted Display/Bad Graphics Card?/I think it's sick
    By 161803399 in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 4th December 2009, 08:02 PM
  2. Display/Graphics problem HP 6730b
    By tinti in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22nd November 2009, 09:00 PM
  3. FC5 does not seem to recognize that I have a graphics display.
    By jonhumphrey in forum EOL (End Of Life) Versions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th March 2006, 07:29 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •