fedora-release 13.1/updates-testing --> updates
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Manorville, New York, USA
    Posts
    1,677

    fedora-release 13.1/updates-testing --> updates

    Tonight's Fedora-release update changed the repos from updates-testing to updates. For those of you who are following the changes.
    Registered Linux User #348347
    Have you been seduced by siduction? http://siduction.org/index.php
    Running Fedora 19/20, siduction and openSUSE 13.1 with KDE

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    94

    Re: fedora-release 13.1/updates-testing --> updates

    fedora-release 13.1 update:
    I can't get the update to work:

    Downloading Packages:
    Running rpm_check_debug
    ERROR with rpm_check_debug vs depsolve:
    system-release >= 14 is needed by (installed) rpmfusion-free-release-14-0.2.noarch
    system-release >= 14 is needed by (installed) rpmfusion-nonfree-release-14-0.2.noarch
    Please report this error in http://yum.baseurl.org/report
    gstreamer-plugins-ugly-0.10.14-1.fc13.x86_64 has missing requires of libx264.so.83()(64bit)
    rpmfusion-free-release-14-0.2.noarch has missing requires of system-release >= ('0', '14', None)
    rpmfusion-nonfree-release-14-0.2.noarch has missing requires of system-release >= ('0', '14', None)

    before this I did a preupgrade to test fc13....
    disabling rpmfusion repos doesn't work either????

  3. #3
    leigh123linux Guest

    Re: fedora-release 13.1/updates-testing --> updates

    Quote Originally Posted by gman1
    fedora-release 13.1 update:
    I can't get the update to work:

    Downloading Packages:
    Running rpm_check_debug
    ERROR with rpm_check_debug vs depsolve:
    system-release >= 14 is needed by (installed) rpmfusion-free-release-14-0.2.noarch
    system-release >= 14 is needed by (installed) rpmfusion-nonfree-release-14-0.2.noarch
    Please report this error in http://yum.baseurl.org/report
    gstreamer-plugins-ugly-0.10.14-1.fc13.x86_64 has missing requires of libx264.so.83()(64bit)
    rpmfusion-free-release-14-0.2.noarch has missing requires of system-release >= ('0', '14', None)
    rpmfusion-nonfree-release-14-0.2.noarch has missing requires of system-release >= ('0', '14', None)

    before this I did a preupgrade to test fc13....
    disabling rpmfusion repos doesn't work either????

    Try


    Code:
    su
    rpm -Uvh --force  http://download1.rpmfusion.org/free/fedora/updates/13/i386/rpmfusion-free-release-13-2.noarch.rpm   http://download1.rpmfusion.org/nonfree/fedora/updates/13/i386/rpmfusion-nonfree-release-13-2.noarch.rpm
    yum clean all
    yum update

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    94

    Re: fedora-release 13.1/updates-testing --> updates

    well I did this before I saw you reply

    remove rpmfusion - do update - add rpmfusion back in:

    yum remove rpmfusion*
    yum update
    rpm -ivh http://download1.rpmfusion.org/free/...ble.noarch.rpm
    rpm -ivh http://download1.rpmfusion.org/nonfr...ble.noarch.rpm

    and that worked for me....
    If there is ever another update from 'fedora-release' I will probably have the same problem though?
    For some reason it thinks rpmfusion needs to be fc14 or greater?

    Thanks for your help....

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    4,328

    Re: fedora-release 13.1/updates-testing --> updates

    no, it's the other way around. You had set up RPM Fusion for Fedora 14, not Fedora 13, and that was causing the problem when you tried to update the fedora-release package (because the RPM Fusion release package demanded that fedora-release indicate a Fedora version 14, not 13). As long as you set your RPM Fusion repo up correctly, you won't have a problem.
    Adam Williamson | awilliam AT redhat DOT com
    Fedora QA Community Monkey
    IRC: adamw | Twitter: AdamW_Fedora | identi.ca: adamwfedora
    http://www.happyassassin.net

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    94

    Re: fedora-release 13.1/updates-testing --> updates

    thanks for the explanation....

    I have been using f11 until I did the preupgrade to f13.... I think recently rpmfusion did an upgrade on me to rawhide or f14????

    well however it happened - thank you everyone for your help....

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Chicago, IL, USA
    Age
    76
    Posts
    233

    Re: fedora-release 13.1/updates-testing --> updates

    Quote Originally Posted by gman1
    thanks for the explanation....

    I have been using f11 until I did the preupgrade to f13.... I think recently rpmfusion did an upgrade on me to rawhide or f14????

    well however it happened - thank you everyone for your help....
    gman1 you have about the same results I got when I did my first yum update after the preupgrade. I went from F12 to the preupgrade on April 29, 2010 for the test to F13. The next time I tried a yum update I got a very similar response. Thanks to Leigh123linux's suggested corrections I am now working again. Luckily this is my casual/test computer so it did no harm that somehow, without my DIRECT intervention, I got the #14 rpmfusion settings.
    Linux Registered User #362558/ Three computers with AMD CPUs. One six core Phenom II 1090T and two eight core FX8350s

Similar Threads

  1. Will a beta version of fedora be upgraded to the final release with updates?
    By jonathonp in forum Alpha, Beta & Snapshots Discussions (Fedora 10 Only)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15th November 2008, 04:05 AM
  2. Question about fedora updates testing repo
    By DennyCrane in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd November 2008, 02:01 AM
  3. where are release notes for Fedora updates?
    By mwette in forum Fedora Focus
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th June 2007, 03:43 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •