Question about shutdown and Suspend
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    15

    Question about shutdown and Suspend

    Normally, I would not post two separate questions in the same thread but I suspect that they may be linked since they are both to do with power management.

    HP Touchsmart tx2z
    Code:
    lspci
    00:00.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 Host Bridge
    00:01.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 PCI to PCI bridge (int gfx)
    00:04.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 PCI to PCI bridge (PCIE port 0)
    00:05.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 PCI to PCI bridge (PCIE port 1)
    00:06.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 PCI to PCI bridge (PCIE port 2)
    00:11.0 SATA controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 SATA Controller [AHCI mode]
    00:12.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI0 Controller
    00:12.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700 USB OHCI1 Controller
    00:12.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller
    00:13.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI0 Controller
    00:13.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700 USB OHCI1 Controller
    00:13.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller
    00:14.0 SMBus: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 SMBus Controller (rev 3a)
    00:14.1 IDE interface: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 IDE Controller
    00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
    00:14.3 ISA bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 LPC host controller
    00:14.4 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 PCI to PCI Bridge
    00:14.5 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI2 Controller
    00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h HyperTransport Configuration (rev 40)
    00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h Address Map
    00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h DRAM Controller
    00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h Miscellaneous Control
    00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h Link Control
    01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RS780M/RS780MN [Radeon HD 3200 Graphics]
    08:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11b/g (rev 01)
    09:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 02)
    Regarding shutdown:

    I click on System --> Shut Down... --> Shut Down and it kills all the processes and then on the top of the screen it says "Power off."

    Is this intentional behavior? If so, is there a way to make it power off on its own rather than have me do it... sort of like, fire and forget, if you will...like Ubuntu does. That way I can shut it off and stuff it in my backpack quickly.

    Regarding suspend

    I close the laptop lid and it goes into suspend mode...I can tell because the power LED blinks. When I open the laptop lid again, the normal behavior is that I have to log back in, however, instead of a login prompt, there is bizarre screen interference (looks like something I would experience in my old laptop with a failing video card) and instead of a mouse I have control of a box.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2,743
    Sounds to me like both problems are related to your ATI graphics adapter. You may try some workarounds mentioned in the release notes:

    https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Commo...phics_adapters

    What graphics driver are you using?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    15
    I am using meta-dri-drivers-experimental. fglrx simply broke my system and made me think, "it would be really great if I could set up a grub option that simply went straight to the command line without doing anything like startx.

    Thank you for the information... I'll be creating that script ~/screenfix.sh
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    xrandr --output LVDS1 --off
    xrandr --output LVDS1 --auto


    ---------- Post added at 07:38 AM CST ---------- Previous post was at 04:18 AM CST ----------

    Just a thought: is there an easy way to add this script to the script that happens when I open the laptop, so I don't have to press alt_del_space_n or whatever...that way it just works no problem?
    Last edited by bogamol; 15th February 2010 at 10:21 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. Suspend and Shutdown Issues
    By Flounder in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22nd November 2009, 03:52 PM
  2. xfce4 suspend shutdown options
    By anika200 in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24th June 2009, 02:43 PM
  3. FC 8 Shutdown Question....
    By Captn in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 25th November 2007, 05:45 AM
  4. Shutdown question?
    By xploder in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th February 2007, 03:16 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •