FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community

Unhappy Dual-Booting Fedora 11 and Vista (Vista installed first)

Hello there.

I'm trying to find a simple solution to dual-boot Fedora 11 onto Vista Home Basic Edition, using the live disk as the installation media, but I can't find one anywhere. Maybe you could point me in the right direction... (But first let me explain that I am a newbie when it comes to Linux.)

So, my computer specs are...

Make/Model: Dell Inspiron 1525
    Processor: Pentium Dual-Core CPU T4200

That's basically all I can give. If you need more information, just post saying so.

Thanks, Myrcroft.
    Last edited by Myrcroft; 11th September 2009 at 10:56 PM.

Get a copy of the install DVD. I think there have been problems installing with the Live CD.

Back up your Windows system.
    Use Vista's disk tools to shrink the disk and create a 20GB (minimum) empty partition for Fedora. You should consider a 1 or 2GB swap partition too, but you can get away without it. Install Fedora choosing the empty partition you created as an install destination. The installer will install the boot loader. Reboot when told to and you should see a menu offering Fedora and Other. Other is Windows.
    Glenn
    The Bassinator

@glennzo: I don't think I need to go through another time-deprivating download again. Same to say for the image burning.

But I need to ask, is what you're saying applicable to the live CD? And, are the steps you are stating the only steps I need to take, or is it more intricate than that?

Quote Originally Posted by Myrcroft
    @glennzo: I don't think I need to go through another time-deprivating download again. Same to say for the image burning.

But I need to ask, is what you're saying applicable to the live CD? And, are the steps you are stating the only steps I need to take, or is it more intricate than that?