Sudo is slow in F11
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Sudo is slow in F11

    Hey all. This is my first time using Fedora. After using Ubuntu and finding it way too unstable, Opensuse and finding it bloated, Arch and finding it confusing, I have finally settled on Fedora 11.

    The problem that I am having is a minor annoyance. I found that my default user couldn't use Sudo, so I added the following to the sudoers file:

    USER_NAME ALL=(ALL) ALL
    -- Where User_Name is the the name of my default user.

    The problem is that I can now use sudo but it is incredibly slow. For example if I type sudo yum install _____

    It'll ask me for my password and then pause for a minute or two literally before proceeding. It isn't the network causing this problem because it does the same thing if I issue commands that are specific to files only on my computer. Interestingly enough I don't have this problem if I use tty, only in Konsole.\

    Edit: in case it isn't obvious I'm running KDE (whichever version is default on an F11 x64 DVD).
    Last edited by Crunchy Carrot; 17th July 2009 at 06:59 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Fixed. Apparently your hosts file becomes corrupted if you change your hostname during dvd installation. Repairing this file (adding your hostname) not only makes sudo work speedily, it also solves laggy firefox problems!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Farum, Denmark
    Age
    37
    Posts
    314
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am having the same problem: sudo is extremely slow.

    But I do not understand what the fix is. My /etc/hosts looks like this:

    Code:
    127.0.0.1               localhost.localdomain localhost
    ::1             localhost6.localdomain6 localhost6
    I have tried to change it to this

    Code:
    127.0.0.1 Spectrum
    127.0.0.1               localhost.localdomain localhost
    ::1             localhost6.localdomain6 localhost6
    ... or this:
    Code:
    127.0.0.1               localhost.localdomain localhost
    ::1             localhost6.localdomain6 localhost6
    127.0.0.1 Spectrum
    ... where "Spectrum" is my host name (as reported by calling "hostname" from a command line).

    Both the above attempts results in Linux refusing to start up.

    How is /etc/hosts supposed to look?

    Thanks in advance.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Connellsville, PA, USA
    Posts
    11,308
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Here's mine (unique machine name omitted):
    Code:
    127.0.0.1       <machine-name>.localdomain    localhost.localdomain   localhost       <machine-name>
    So you might try:
    Code:
    127.0.0.1       Spectrum.localdomain    localhost.localdomain   localhost       Spectrum
    Re-start of network service daemon required.

    V

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Farum, Denmark
    Age
    37
    Posts
    314
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Hlingler
    Here's mine (unique machine name omitted):
    Code:
    127.0.0.1       <machine-name>.localdomain    localhost.localdomain   localhost       <machine-name>
    So you might try:
    Code:
    127.0.0.1       Spectrum.localdomain    localhost.localdomain   localhost       Spectrum
    Thanks. I will try that.

    Quote Originally Posted by Hlingler
    Re-start of network service daemon required.
    What process is that? Can it be restarted without a full reboot?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Connellsville, PA, USA
    Posts
    11,308
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am assuming that you are using the 'network' service daemon and not 'NetworkManager'. In either case:
    su -
    service network restart

    Or:
    su -
    service NetworkManager restart


    V

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Farum, Denmark
    Age
    37
    Posts
    314
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Hlingler
    I am assuming that you are using the 'network' service daemon and not 'NetworkManager'. In either case:
    su -
    service network restart

    Or:
    su -
    service NetworkManager restart


    V
    I am using NetworkManager.

    This worked. Now sudo is fast again. Thanks for the help.

Similar Threads

  1. sudo very slow
    By actaea in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th June 2009, 07:08 PM
  2. F8 slow to boot and slow to open terminal/gedit
    By JonR in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 25th March 2008, 08:37 AM
  3. how do i use sudo
    By linux-newby in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 16th September 2007, 02:28 PM
  4. Replies: 25
    Last Post: 11th July 2007, 07:58 AM
  5. why I cannot use sudo
    By Stevenisme in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 29th December 2004, 07:36 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •