FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 33
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    101

    KDE4 Network monitor KNemo

    In Fedora 10 knemo package marked as dead.
    But today KNemo for KDE4 was released
    http://www.kde-apps.org/content/show...?content=12956

    I build knemo package:
    knemo-0.5.0-2.fc10.i386.rpm
    knemo-0.5.0-2.fc10.src.rpm

    Is it possible that knemo will be included again in fedora repository?




    Last edited by nucleo; 10th March 2009 at 04:24 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Connellsville, PA, USA
    Posts
    11,307
    Hi nucleo:

    Thanks for the RPMs. I missed KNemo in KDE4. However, I think that you would have to contact the Fedora Project about getting KNemo back into the Fedora repos.

    V

    P.S. Hey nucleo: The i386 RPM seems to be damaged - it downloads, but it is an HTML document, NOT an RPM ?!?!?!
    Last edited by Hlingler; 24th February 2009 at 12:29 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    101
    It will be HTML doccument if download with wget http://freefilehosting.net/download/45cl3
    If you open this link in browser there will be page with download button. Downloading of file starts when you press on Download.
    I check downloaded file. It seems to be good.
    I am sorry, but I can't upload rpm to this forum because uploading seems broken.
    What is the best way to upload rpm's?

    Last knemo-0.4.7 build was by faucamp. I should write him about getting KNemo back?
    Last edited by nucleo; 24th February 2009 at 06:11 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Connellsville, PA, USA
    Posts
    11,307
    You can attach the RPM(s) to a post by:
    > "Go Advanced" => select "Manage Attachments" => enter URL of RPM(s) from web site (upload from your machine is broken, but upload from web site URL works).

    Yes: I would suggest that you contact faucamp.

    Thanks Again, nucleo,
    V

    P.S. The SRPM downloaded fine, and I just rebuilt it instead. Works fine!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    101
    With upload from URL I get Invalid URL, Remote file uploads have been disabled, and other errors
    Last edited by nucleo; 25th February 2009 at 04:27 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Connellsville, PA, USA
    Posts
    11,307
    Well, poo. Our vBulletin attachment feature is seriously broken. Sorry, I thought that would work.

    Yes, those FTP links work here. Nice to have KNemo back.

    Thanks,
    V
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	snapshot1.png 
Views:	106 
Size:	13.7 KB 
ID:	17712   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	snapshot2.png 
Views:	100 
Size:	150.3 KB 
ID:	17713  
    Last edited by Hlingler; 25th February 2009 at 02:31 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    101
    There is traffic plot in traffic window if you enlarge that window.

    I rebuild knemo rpm with export CXXFLAGS.
    zip archive with knemo-0.5.0-3.fc10.i386.rpm
    zip archive with knemo-0.5.0-3.fc10.src.rpm

    I have written the letter to faucamp on his fedoraproject.org e-mail but he has not answered yet.
    Last edited by nucleo; 27th February 2009 at 12:21 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Connellsville, PA, USA
    Posts
    11,307
    knemo-0.5.0-3.fc10.i386 looks good here. Hope faucamp gets it back into Fedora repos.

    Thanks,
    V

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,719
    Nice, thank you.

    Dumb question, probably doesn't belong here; to toss on an old x86_64 can I take the src.rpm and basically 'rpm --rebuild xyz.src.rpm', and it'll dump it into /usr/src/packages which I can then 'rpm -Uvh /usr/src/packages...../xyz.x86_64.rpm?'

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Connellsville, PA, USA
    Posts
    11,307
    You should rebuild the SRPM as a normal user - in which case the RPM will end up in /home/<username>/rpmbuild/RPMS/x86_64/

    If you choose to rebuild as root user, the resultant RPM should be in /usr/src/redhat/RPMS/x86_64/

    Also: the correct command is (in folder where SRPM is located):
    rpmbuild --rebuild knemo-0.5.0-3.fc10.src.rpm

    V

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    101
    Update from git
    - Add Ukranian translation from kde-apps
    - Don't need to link to solidcontrol
    - This is a better way to save the statistics directory
    - Clamp some numeric values when setting/reading config
    - The horizontal line count setting is no longer used
    - Clean out horizontal line stuff from interfaceplotterdialog
    - Setting the plotter axis font size now work
    - Configuring the plotter dialog's bottom bar should work as expected
    - Scale changes back to KB/s when appropriate
    - Take axis text width into account when calculating number of visible samples. This should reduce rescale delay when a large value finally goes offscreen
    - Use QColor, not QRgb
    - Changing the plotter color works
    - Clamp font size values in the config dialog
    - Make sure to update the max axis font size when settings change
    - Trigger an update when the axis font changes
    - statisticsDir should be a KUrl
    zip archive with knemo-0.5.0-9.fc10.i386.rpm
    zip archive with knemo-0.5.0-9.fc10.x86_64.rpm
    zip archive with knemo-0.5.0-9.fc10.src.rpm

    faucamp didn't answered. To whom else can I write?
    Last edited by nucleo; 1st March 2009 at 06:49 AM.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Connellsville, PA, USA
    Posts
    11,307
    Hi nucleo:

    Well, you can:
    > Wait a little longer.
    > File a formal bug report/feature request to have KNemo restored (component/package name: knemo). If you do not have an account at bugzilla.redhat.com, you can register, or post back and I will file the report/request.

    knemo-0.5.0-5.fc10.i386 looks good here.

    Thanks,
    V

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    101
    I have write request to restore knemo package.
    https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=487791

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Connellsville, PA, USA
    Posts
    11,307
    Outstanding, nucleo! I added a comment just for metrics.

    However, I see that knemo appears to be without maintainer:
    Assigned To: Orphan Owner
    Let's hope someone picks it up. If no one does soon, then perhaps a note to Rex Dieter would help....

    V

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    101
    I rebuild knemo with updates from git fixes traffic plotter bugs.
    But one of the patches makes statistics don't work.
    - This is a better way to save the statistics directory
    New build knemo-0.5.0-9.fc10 both for i386 and x86_64 restores statistics work.
    Last edited by nucleo; 1st March 2009 at 07:00 AM.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. KDE4 not running in second monitor? (Dual monitor problem)
    By thylacine222 in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27th December 2008, 05:30 PM
  2. monitor network usage
    By cwu-linux in forum Security and Privacy
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th August 2007, 05:23 AM
  3. knemo 0.4.7 issues
    By zagrin in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th May 2007, 03:33 AM
  4. ksystemguard network monitor
    By Imiro in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26th July 2006, 08:48 PM
  5. network monitor
    By Xarious in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1st May 2005, 07:02 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •