removing graphical boot splash screen
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    8

    removing graphical boot splash screen

    Hello,
    I have just install FC10 for ppc on my PS3 and would like to remove the graphical boot splash screen. I have removed all the packaged named plymouth-... but the splash screen is still there; I'd like to see at boot all the initialization messages.

    How can I do?

    Thanks in advance,

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    /dev/realm/{Abba,Carpenters,...stage}
    Posts
    3,285
    I'm not sure you were supposed to uninstall plymouth. It would have been easier to remove rhgb in kernel line...
    For safer browsing, use OpenDNS nameservers 208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220

    SELinux User Guide

    AutoPager

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    8

    removed rhgb from yaboot.conf but still doesn't work

    Hello,
    now my yaboot.conf looks like

    boot=/dev/ps3da
    init-message="Welcome to Fedora!\nHit <TAB> for boot options"

    partition=1
    timeout=80
    install=/usr/lib/yaboot/yaboot
    delay=5
    enablecdboot
    enableofboot
    enablenetboot
    nonvram
    mntpoint=/boot/yaboot
    usemount

    image=/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.27.5-117.fc10.ppc64
    label=linux
    read-only
    initrd=/boot/initrd-2.6.27.5-117.fc10.ppc64.img
    append="quiet root=UUID=00a16a0f-07c4-4025-83a6-d9d027ae3de7"



    (I have removed as you suggested rhgb from the beginning of the append line)
    but the graphical boot is still on.
    May be this is dued to the fact that I use kboot for starting my PS3
    BTW: there isn't a file kboot.conf as in the past YDL5 distribution I used to modify, now the filesystem hasn't kboot.conf.

    How can I do?

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,186
    there are a few plugins for plymouth and one of them is the text plugin

    more info here:

    http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?pag...plymouth&num=1

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    In your closet
    Posts
    15,714
    Here's my Fedora stanza in menu.lst
    Code:
    title   Fedora 10 (2.6.27.9-159.fc10.i686)
    	root (hd0,5)
    	kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.27.9-159.fc10.i686 ro root=UUID=b858b843-29a9-49e5-9979-b947caf9f039 vga=791
    The vga=791 gives me all the boot initialization data scrolling up the screen during the boot process.
    Glenn
    The Bassinator

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    27
    amost:

    have you run ybin as root to change boot process according to yaboot.conf ?
    In ppc you have to do this, not only editing the file

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    In your closet
    Posts
    15,714
    Hmmm. Maybe my comments don't pertain to this yaboot stuff. Nevermind!
    Glenn
    The Bassinator

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    825
    yaboot??? yaaa --- a --- boooot... Okay who the heck let the guy from Minnesota name the thing?

    Okay, hold on a sec... my mistake the guy could be a yooooper... (U.P. Michigan)
    Last edited by pwca; 11th January 2009 at 03:44 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    8

    text plugin enabled but boot messages not displayed

    Quote Originally Posted by hiberphoptik
    there are a few plugins for plymouth and one of them is the text plugin

    more info here:

    http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?pag...plymouth&num=1


    Hello,

    thanks, you are right! The fact is that I have enabled the text plugin for Plymouth issuing the commands:
    [root@PS3 ~]# plymouth-set-default-plugin text
    [root@PS3 ~]# /usr/libexec/plymouth/plymouth-update-initrd
    but at boot now an horizontal scrollbar in text mode is displayed. I'd like to see boot messages in test mode.

    Can you please help me?

    Thanks...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    8

    solved: using plugin details

    Hello,

    I have used the plugin details and everything shows up ad boot:

    [root@PS3 ~]# plymouth-set-default-plugin details
    [root@PS3 ~]# /usr/libexec/plymouth/plymouth-update-initrd

    The question is solved.

    Thanks
    AmosT

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2
    good find,...

    Wasted too much time on such a simple thing. I wonder why no option to show details on the splash with Fedora 10? (maybe 7,8,9 too, I skipped a few)

Similar Threads

  1. Boot splash screen
    By DennyCrane in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 55
    Last Post: 27th October 2008, 10:13 AM
  2. Huge fonts on Boot splash screen. Fedora8
    By zrig in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 31st March 2008, 10:30 AM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 25th September 2007, 11:56 PM
  4. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 19th April 2007, 09:33 AM
  5. Boot Splash Screen Install HOWTO
    By joel69 in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21st October 2005, 09:02 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •