FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

I enabled desktop effects in KDE/Gnome - now unusable - bug or driver?

As the title suggests, I am rather new to Linux and just installed Fedora 10. While "tweaking" the desktop settings, I decided to enable several visuals for the windows (animations, shading, etc.), and now I have a screen full of black and grey boxes corresponding to the windows that were there, but KDE is now unusable as I can't see anything.

I thought a box popped up when I selected "apply" that said the settings would revert after a period of time if I didn't click okay, but apparently it didn't work.

Is there a way that I can reset the desktop to the default settings? I would assume that I'll need to log in as root and delete some things with an editor? Can I do this from Gnome?

I couldn't find anything similar when I searched.

Thanks!
    Last edited by llebcire; 29th December 2008 at 05:23 PM. Reason: Updated thread title

my method was

log in with gnome and create a new user and use this one instead. Move you files there and change ownership to the new user. Then delete the old user.

Maybe there are some better ways. But one known working way is better than 100 better ones if they are unknown.

More info

After deleting/recreating account several times, here's what I've found -

If I enable desktop effects (default) in Gnome I get a white screen, no mouse. Pressing control-alt-delete gets me to the log off screen, if I cancel I get to the desktop effects window that I can close and all is good.

If I enable in KDE (default options), I get a black screen with a mouse, only option is to control-alt-delete, log off, log in under different user and delete/recreate my account.

Bug or driver issue? Fresh install of Fedora 10 with no updates.

Specs:
    Gateway GT5648E (got it cheaper than building my own this Spring)
    Vista Home Premium SP1/Fedora 10