FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 30 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 438
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    13

    Packagekit "failed to get a TID:" - rendered unusable

    After the latest batch of updates today, I can no longer use PackageKit. Whatever I attempt to do (search, install, etc.), results in this error message. Any help appreciated!

    failed to get a TID: A security policy in place prevents this sender from sending this message to this recipient, see message bus configuration file (rejected message had interface "org.freedesktop.PackageKit.Transaction" member "SetLocale" error name "(unset)" destination "org.freedesktop.PackageKit") (0)
    I've found another "failed to get a TID:"-post in the forums. However, the solution posted in that thread, namely to killall packagekitd, didn't help here...

  2. #2
    Demz Guest
    use Search in the Forum.. you'll find an answer to this problem as its been asked many times

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    38
    i think it is a new problem after the update on 7th Dec.
    i need help as well.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by nightfrost
    After the latest batch of updates today, I can no longer use PackageKit. Whatever I attempt to do (search, install, etc.), results in this error message. Any help appreciated!

    I've found another "failed to get a TID:"-post in the forums. However, the solution posted in that thread, namely to killall packagekitd, didn't help here...
    I've also got this same problem, starting this morning with the dbus updates to 1.2.6-1

    I've searched the forums but the list of posts with failed to get a TID does not reveal anything that helps to fix it.

    I'd appreciate a steer to what to do please. Killing packagekitd does not help, and two reboots and changes of booted kernel don't help either. Seems to be more than just a simple fix to me.

  5. #5
    sergio.gil Guest
    I am having the same problem as you and no clues to solve it for now.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    6

    same problem

    Same problem here. Run a search of the forum but nothing seems to solve the problem.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Demz
    use Search in the Forum.. you'll find an answer to this problem as its been asked many times
    Either something is wrong with the search engine at the forums, or this is a different problem :-)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1
    Same problem. I have just installed this morning from Net Install so updates have been installed automatically.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    4
    Same problem, just want to install a RPM. But since i installed some updates i get that error message.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1
    Same Problem: I updated 1 hour ago and then was unable to install new RPMs nor start again the update process.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    38
    I just wonder why the update is on Sunday

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3
    Yes, this problem just came in for me as well, it's got to have something to do with all the updates to the packages that just arrived, gnome, dbus etc. I checked with yum though, and it still works installing things from there, it knows about the repos even though none show up in the program "Repositories" under System->Administration. Any repo admins around who knows anything about this yet? Thanks for any help =)

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    13
    I think there might be a problem here with hal. I've noticed a bunch of my Fn-keys stopped working as well, and /usr/share/hal/fdi/* was empty...

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1

    bummer, same thing

    same thing for me, and will be after everyone updates today...... so a fix would be awesome.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Piedmont-Triad NC USA
    Posts
    3
    Same here with a fresh installation of Fedora 9. Below is output of "yum install gvim"...

    Code:
    [root@flounder ~]# yum install gvim
    Loaded plugins: refresh-packagekit
    Setting up Install Process
    Parsing package install arguments
    Resolving Dependencies
    --> Running transaction check
    ---> Package vim-X11.i386 2:7.1.291-1.fc9 set to be updated
    --> Processing Dependency: vim-common = 2:7.1.291-1.fc9 for package: vim-X11
    --> Running transaction check
    ---> Package vim-common.i386 2:7.1.291-1.fc9 set to be updated
    --> Finished Dependency Resolution
    
    Dependencies Resolved
    
    ================================================================================
     Package            Arch         Version                 Repository       Size 
    ================================================================================
    Installing:
     vim-X11            i386         2:7.1.291-1.fc9         fedora           1.0 M
    Installing for dependencies:
     vim-common         i386         2:7.1.291-1.fc9         fedora           6.6 M
    
    Transaction Summary
    ================================================================================
    Install      2 Package(s)         
    Update       0 Package(s)         
    Remove       0 Package(s)         
    
    Total download size: 7.6 M
    Is this ok [y/N]: y
    Downloading Packages:
    (1/2): vim-X11-7.1.291-1.fc9.i386.rpm                    | 1.0 MB     00:01     
    (2/2): vim-common-7.1.291-1.fc9.i386.rpm                 | 6.6 MB     00:08     
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Total                                           691 kB/s | 7.6 MB     00:11     
    Running rpm_check_debug
    Running Transaction Test
    Finished Transaction Test
    Transaction Test Succeeded
    Running Transaction
      Installing     : vim-common                                        [1/2] 
      Installing     : vim-X11                                           [2/2] 
    ERROR:dbus.proxies:Introspect error on :1.30:/org/freedesktop/PackageKit: dbus.exceptions.DBusException: org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.AccessDenied: A security policy in place prevents this sender from sending this message to this recipient, see message bus configuration file (rejected message had interface "org.freedesktop.DBus.Introspectable" member "Introspect" error name "(unset)" destination ":1.30")
    
    Installed: vim-X11.i386 2:7.1.291-1.fc9
    Dependency Installed: vim-common.i386 2:7.1.291-1.fc9
    Complete!
    Maybe I'm replying to the wrong thread but this one seems to be the closest to what I am experiencing.

    If this is a different problem please let me know as I'll gladly make a new post.

    EDIT: This seemed to be a security issue so I disable selinux using the System>Administration>SELinux Management" dialog. So this output is _after disabling SELinux and rebooting so that setting took affect.

    -mark
    Last edited by markthecarp; 7th December 2008 at 03:12 PM. Reason: additional details

Page 1 of 30 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Fix for dBUS - "packagekit" now in update
    By Chilly Willy in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 10th December 2008, 10:48 PM
  2. Packagekit "failed to get a TID:"
    By theWayner in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 9th December 2008, 01:37 PM
  3. nvidiia: "Failed to load module "nvidia-1.0-9746"
    By StefanJ in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 25th February 2007, 04:56 AM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th February 2007, 02:47 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23rd May 2005, 04:59 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •