Why no kdesu and gksu?
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    17
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Why no kdesu and gksu?

    New install of Fedora 10. A new adventure for me as I've never tried Fedora.

    Uh-Oh - a big problem.

    Fedora 10 changed all the file permissions for my usb drive so I can't transfer my files onto my hd. I need to rename the owner and group for them - a simple enough solution in any of a handful of file managers - or so I thought.

    I look through a bunch of forum threads and google this topic several ways. I download a few versions of the files in rpm format and attempt to install them. no luck. I search for the files in my files. Now I'm at a dead end.

    question: gksu and kdesu - why are they left out of this distro. That's a showkiller for me.

    Is it a free vs non-free software issue that I am not seeing here? I'm really curious.

    I'll admit I have difficulties figuring out the ins and outs of command line. I know a lot more than I used to but it still overwhelms and confuses me once it gets beyond a few lines of instructions. I always end up with error codes.

    thanks for insights anyone can offer. I hope I can work something out - otherwise I'm enjoying this distro.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    3,868
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    If you have file permission issues, you should report the issue in http://bugzilla.redhat.com.

    gksu is going through a package review at

    https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=468467
    Rahul
    http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/RahulSundaram

  3. #3
    bee Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by Dutchmaster
    question: gksu and kdesu - why are they left out of this distro. That's a showkiller for me.
    Hi!!!!!!!!

    I haven't tested it under F10 atm, but you could try beesu.

    It's a wonderful utility to replace gksu , ........at least on F9

    bye!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. #4
    yulem Guest

    FC 10 and beesu on 64 bit AMD

    A quick try of your tool failed with FC 10 on an AMD 64 bit install
    Below is the error message.
    I did verify that I had libc and libgcc installed but of course the 64 bit versions.
    Thanks,
    Yulem

    # rpm -Uvh beesu-*.fc*.i386.rpm
    error: Failed dependencies:
    libc.so.6 is needed by beesu-2.0-1.fc10.i386
    libc.so.6(GLIBC_2.0) is needed by beesu-2.0-1.fc10.i386
    libc.so.6(GLIBC_2.1) is needed by beesu-2.0-1.fc10.i386
    libgcc_s.so.1 is needed by beesu-2.0-1.fc10.i386
    libm.so.6 is needed by beesu-2.0-1.fc10.i386
    libstdc++.so.6 is needed by beesu-2.0-1.fc10.i386

  5. #5
    bee Guest
    Yeah, you're right.
    As i've compiled beesu for 32bit systems...it needs to have as dependencies 32bits libraries. It's something of mandatory.
    You have to install all the required libraries for a 32 bits system other than those libs for a 64 bits system, in order to run my RPM on your architecture.

    BUT if you don't want to waste the disk space of your system, you can solve this problem in a better way: by building a new RPM for your x86_64 architecture; or just compiling the source code by yourself and nothing else.
    Download the source and follow the steps you can read under the "Source code" paragraph. It's something of simple after all!

    bye!!!

  6. #6
    bor3d Guest
    Hi bee,
    I want to install gksu, but in Fedora 10, when compiling, it don't find the GKSU_LIBS,
    installed under /usr/local/lib.
    How I tell at the ./configure script to search for GKSU_LIBS (environment variable) under that path?

    Any help will be appreciated.
    Thanks!

  7. #7
    bee Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by bor3d
    Hi bee,
    I want to install gksu, but in Fedora 10, when compiling, it don't find the GKSU_LIBS,
    installed under /usr/local/lib.
    How I tell at the ./configure script to search for GKSU_LIBS (environment variable) under that path?

    Any help will be appreciated.
    Thanks!
    Hi!!!!!
    In place of GKSU, you could install beesu!!
    It's easy, type as root: yum install beesu
    I suggest you to try beesu, because i don't know what GKSU_LIBS is about, so i cannot help you on it

    bye!!!!!!

  8. #8
    bee Guest
    don't read here
    i think you need to type:
    export GKSU_LIBS="/usr/local/lib"
    ./configure
    or also look at ./configure --help
    but i'm not sure btw just install beesu in place of gksu

    bye!!!

  9. #9
    bor3d Guest
    Thanks for your help !
    I can't make the ./configure script look at that path, but instead I install beesu and it works fine ! ! !
    Great works, thanks again!

  10. #10
    bee Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by bor3d
    Thanks for your help !
    I can't make the ./configure script look at that path, but instead I install beesu and it works fine ! ! !
    Great works, thanks again!
    Very good!!! You're welcome!!!!!!

    bye!!!!!!!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    121
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Why no kdesu and gksu?

    Accomplished on FC 12 via:
    Code:
    su -c 'yum install beesu'
    
    su -c 'gedit /usr/share/applications/Nautilus-root.desktop'
    Insert the following lines into the new file
    Code:
    [Desktop Entry]
    Name=File Browser (Root)
    Comment=Browse the filesystem with the file manager
    Exec=beesu "nautilus --browser ."
    Icon=file-manager
    Terminal=false
    Type=Application
    Categories=Application;System;
    Save the edited file

    To browse files/folders as root user in Nautilus
    Applications -> System Tools -> File Browser (Root)
    Fedora 20 64-bit
    CPU AMD|PH II X2 545 3.0G AM3
    nVidia GeForce GT220 video card
    4GB DDR2 Memory

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    726
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Why no kdesu and gksu?

    Hello
    I installed gksu on my fedora 12 laptop from source if I remember you have to install the gksu-libs first, then gksu, but all went without a hitch

    A little trick I learnt a while ago if ./configure can't find own built libs residing in /usr/local/libs is to type
    Code:
    PKG_CONFIG_PATH=/usr/local/lib/pkgconfig
    then
    Code:
    export PKG_CONFIG_PATH=/usr/local/lib/pkgconfig
    then ./configure, it works for me
    still doesn't explain why not in any repo

Similar Threads

  1. Sata Raid, 'kdesu' problem.
    By Oakems in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 9th June 2009, 05:20 PM
  2. kdesu and/or gksu on F10?
    By RGB in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27th November 2008, 04:55 PM
  3. Using kdesu or sudo without password
    By Krister Hallerg in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 11th March 2007, 05:35 AM
  4. no gksu ?
    By neighborlee in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 9th February 2007, 03:43 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •