FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 88
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    21

    Fedora 10 i386 hang on SCSI boot

    Installed F10 i386 release - all defaults - hangs after finding all three SCSI drives on the box (immediately after the SCSI BIOS scan) - cpu still alive (checked by toggle of num lock) - system just hangs.

    screen at hang

    .........
    scsi2 : Adaptec AIC7XXX EISA/VLB/PCI SCSI HBA DRIVER, Rev 7.0
    <Adaptec 2940 Ultra SCSI adapter>
    aic7880: Ultra Wide Channel A, SCSI Id=7, 16/253 SCBs
    .........
    sd 2:0:2:0: [sdc] Write cache: enabled, read cache: enabled, supports DPO and FUA
    sd 2:0:2:0: [sdc] 143666192 512-byte hardware sectors (73557 MB)
    sd 2:0:2:0: [sdc] Write Protect is off
    sd 2:0:2:0: [sdc] Mode Sense: ed 00 10 08
    sd 2:0:2:0: [sdc] Write cache: enabled, read cache: enabled, supports DPO and FUA
    sdc: sdc1
    sd 2:0:2:0: [sdc] Attached SCSI disk
    sd 2:0:2:0: Attached scsi generic sg4 type 0
    ---hangs here


    booting and chroot /mnt/sysimage from rescue no problem!!!

    3 x 73 G drives
    [root@localhost var]# df
    Filesystem 1K-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
    /dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00
    207649384 4145092 192956276 3% /
    /dev/sda1 194442 13112 171291 8% /boot

    any suggestions?
    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    21
    no responses yet
    so trying to fix

    checked CDROM sha1sum OK

    tried Adaptec 2940w and 29160 - identical results

    removed SCSI drives, installed one IDE drive

    installed F 10 all defaults
    no errors reported - no problems during install
    on boot: No Operating System
    using rescue I can chroot /mtn/sysimage
    as before and the system works

    box
    Tyan MB with 2 AMD Athlon(tm) MP 2800+ stepping 00
    dmesg file available on request

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    2

    F10 SCSI no boot

    John,

    I have the exact same problem. I have a Sun Java Workstation with SCSI on-board. I have only one scsi device in the system and it is my HDD.

    I boot from the i386 DVD and format-install with no problems. At first boot after install i get the EXACT same text that you do. Boot to rescue recovery and everything mounts.

    I can install on an IDE system with no problem.

    -Tram

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    8
    Same probelm here with X86_X64 with adaptec 2810SA - Hardware Raid SATA, installs fine on a single IDE...


    sd 2:0:2:0: Attached scsi generic sg4 type 0
    ---hangs here

    I have also tried creating a new initrd image, still hangs at the same place, kernel option debug shows no info, entering cntrl-c when it hangs, shows stopping all md devices..

    no solution yet ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    20
    I also have the same problem too with my IBM iseries 345 server and it hangs at the same place after installing. Me thinks something is missing somewhere... *sighs*

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    21
    thanks posts with same problem
    looks like F 10 problem
    same box AMD with 3 SCSI I loaded F 9 - not problems at all!
    maybe try to get to F10 by trying to upgrade my now F 9 box!

    I did look at F 10 GRUB - seems to be identical to F8 and F9
    apparently the problem is after the boot and during the load of the kernel???

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    20
    Thought I would give FC10 a try and see if it was any better than Ubuntu 8.10 which seams to be a bit buggy at the moment.

    Same problem, cannot boot!

    I have a 3ware raid controller, 6x300Gb in RAID 5.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    6
    I'm also experiencing this.

    I have an old Dell PowerEdge 4400 server using the AIC-7880 and AIC-7890 host bus adapters. What happens is that it tries to read all the physical volumes and then find the volume groups but fails, also complaining about how it cannot mount /dev/root onto /sysroot. Moments later all the disks start showing up. This seems to me like initrd doesn't wait for the devices to show up before it starts mounting. The system doesn't hang but it doesn't proceed from this point. A standard three finger salute (CTRL+ALT+DEL) makes it reboot normally.

    I don't have all the output here at the moment, but I'll see if I can get my hands on it.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    20
    I've tried a number of things to try and fix this, no joy....

    Ubuntu 8.10 uses the same kernel version and has no issues whatsoever.
    I wonder if there is a driver missing in the FC10 kernel or something....

  10. #10
    scottro's Avatar
    scottro is offline Retired Community Manager -- Banned from Texas by popular demand.
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    8,129
    I've seen other mentions of this issue (F10 and SCSI) on the testing list, but didn't pay that much attention. Has anyone checked bugzilla.

    Such errors do occur, usually very quickly fixed.

    I just took a quick look--there's a ton of bugs with keywords scsi install, but none that seem related. However, this might just mean that you folks (and possibly someone on testing) are the first to notice.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    20
    I did check bugzilla but didn't see anything that matched either.

    I'm using x64 edition as well so it's not just limited to i386 edition.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Gastown, Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    42

    Same issue on 3ware-9690

    Well, hi, this is my first post as I am new to the forums and linux all together, but hey there's a first for everything

    Anyways, 3Ware-9690 card running [2] 640gb drives raid1 for OS&Boot and also running a RAID6 on [8] 1tb drives, so about 6tb's available.

    I keep hanging on the same screen as you guys, running 64bit version...

    But, if I boot it up with the DVD in and "Boot Local Disk" from the DVD menu prompt I can get the gui to boot up and by-pass hanging on that screen....

    If anyone has any solutions, I'd like to hear


    Thanks! Nice to meet the community,

    Inso

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    20
    *click.... tapping keys....click click click....*

    Welll weelllll weeeeelllllll been hitting the buggy and this just popped out....
    ====================================
    Comment #2 From Charlie Moschel 2008-11-26 09:40:30 EDT -------

    Yes, F10 initrd does not wait long enough for the disk scans to complete, with
    many scsi and raid cards. 3w-xxxx is confirmed to be a problem in bug #466071
    comment #46, and has one workaround there too. Boot a rescue shell, chroot,
    rebuild initrd with the scsi_wait_scan module, then reboot.

    bug #466534 comment #20 has a list of the 10 or so other dupe bugs that have
    been accumulating for a while, if you want more details.
    ==============================

    That was under Bug 472989. Also Bug 454663 describes this problem too.

    jzc

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    20
    *click.... tapping keys....click click click....*

    Welll weelllll weeeeelllllll been hitting the buggy and this just popped out....
    ====================================
    Comment #2 From Charlie Moschel 2008-11-26 09:40:30 EDT -------

    Yes, F10 initrd does not wait long enough for the disk scans to complete, with
    many scsi and raid cards. 3w-xxxx is confirmed to be a problem in bug #466071
    comment #46, and has one workaround there too. Boot a rescue shell, chroot,
    rebuild initrd with the scsi_wait_scan module, then reboot.

    bug #466534 comment #20 has a list of the 10 or so other dupe bugs that have
    been accumulating for a while, if you want more details.
    ==============================

    That was under Bug 472989. Also Bug 454663 describes this problem too.

    Now I have a question.... how to rebuild this initrd with the mission module?

    jzc
    Last edited by jzc; 27th November 2008 at 04:49 PM. Reason: added question

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    20

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. aacraid trouble (SCSI hang up?)
    By barakuda in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11th January 2010, 04:02 PM
  2. Hang: Installing F9 i386 on old AMD-K6 CPU laptop
    By rweed in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 3rd September 2008, 09:44 PM
  3. Fedora 8 hang on boot
    By Tintinosio in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th November 2007, 10:31 PM
  4. Hang at loading SCSI driver....
    By BlackBear in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24th September 2005, 07:57 AM
  5. GRUB or LILO boot to SCSI drive in SCSI system w/ IDE card
    By mkl838 in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6th March 2005, 07:44 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •