What is the difference between an 'akmod' and a 'kmod'?
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    UK, Bucks.
    Posts
    354
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    What is the difference between an 'akmod' and a 'kmod'?

    I'm not an experienced user but it was my understanding that a kmod was a driver that needed to be inserted into the kernel or something to that effect. But now when I come back to Fedora 9 from Core 5 and 6 there seems to be these 'akmod' packages as well for traditional things like proprietary drivers and wireless drivers, particularly the madwifi driver in my instance.

    I would appreciate it if someone could explain the difference between these two packages? A quick google suggested that it might have to do with not updating your packages if you update to a new kernel.

    Thank-you in advance.
    Thinkpad T400 - Smolt Profile || Thinkpad T61 - Smolt Profile || Thinkpad T41p - Smolt Profile.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,430
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello Dead1nside

    Your Google search provided the meat of the answer.

    On this machine for instance I've just installed the nvidia graphics drivers.

    I had a choice. If I installed the kmod-nvidia package and its associated dependencies, each time the kernel was updated I wouldneed to download a new kmod package.

    If you install akmod-nvidia and its dependencies it should be a one off job, each time you update your kernel and reboot the machine akmod will generate the new packages needed for the new kernel.

    On a fast internet connection I doubt there is much in it, on a slow connection it could well be worthwhile, though I believe you need kernel-devel for it to work which in itself is a sizeable download.

    There is one other scenario and that is where you keep multiple kernels but only install the nvidia drivers during the life of the distribution. Previously it may have been difficult to get kmod-nvidia's for the earlier kernels but with akmod it should generate the required parts as soon as you boot the older kernel.

    That of course applies to all the akmods, not just nvidia.

    EDIT:

    There used to be a similar (and still maybe) service from the 'freshrpms' repository, only there they called it dkms-nvidia, where dkms stood for 'dynamic kernel module support'.
    Last edited by bbfuller; 2nd July 2008 at 04:32 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    UK, Bucks.
    Posts
    354
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ah thank-you very much bbfuller. dkms looks familiar to my eye also.

    Would dependency resolution not update any kmods when there is a kernel update though? I had my madwifi drivers for my old kernel, seemingly become joined by the current madwifi drivers for the new kernel that was released today.

    Either way I'll try the akmod next time, certainly sounds a lot better than the old situation, things just wouldn't work after a kernel update, at least for me. But maybe I was doing something wrong.

    Thanks.
    Thinkpad T400 - Smolt Profile || Thinkpad T61 - Smolt Profile || Thinkpad T41p - Smolt Profile.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,430
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello Dead1nside

    Would dependency resolution not update any kmods when there is a kernel update though? I had my madwifi drivers for my old kernel, seemingly become joined by the current madwifi drivers for the new kernel that was released today.
    Yes, usually it would. There have been instances in the past though where there has been a day or two's delay in getting out the Livna updates to match a new kernel and akmod would overcome that.

    I assume as well that if we could all be persuaded to move over to the akmod system it would be one less set of packages to recompile whenever a new kernel was issued.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    UK, Bucks.
    Posts
    354
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The reason that madwifi updated along with my new kernel appears to be a 'metapackage' as it calls itself called madwifi-versionnumberhere.lvn.fc9 .

    Just adding it here for posterity. Thanks again for explaining things bbfuller.
    Thinkpad T400 - Smolt Profile || Thinkpad T61 - Smolt Profile || Thinkpad T41p - Smolt Profile.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Freedonia
    Age
    71
    Posts
    3,076
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Currently I'm using kmod because that's how the instructions I found here were set. Is there any reason to switch to akmod and if so, what's the best way to do it?
    Registered Linux user #470359 and permanently recovered BOFH.

    Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Age
    29
    Posts
    9,221
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can use both together:
    Code:
    yum install kmod-foo akmod-foo
    If kmod-foo isn't out when the new kernel is, reboot and akmod will take care of it for you.
    Firewing1
    [+] My open source software and blog
    [+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    UK, Bucks.
    Posts
    354
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There's a good article on fedorasolved.org about this: http://fedorasolved.org/Members/zcat/akmods
    Thinkpad T400 - Smolt Profile || Thinkpad T61 - Smolt Profile || Thinkpad T41p - Smolt Profile.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Freedonia
    Age
    71
    Posts
    3,076
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I followed the instructions, but ran into a problem. When I had akmod try to rebuild the kmod, it failed because the appropriate devels were missing. Checking with yumex, I found that there was a new kernel and kmod available, so I installed them as well as the kernel headers and rebooted. All is OK now, but what devel files do I need to make sure it works next time?
    Registered Linux user #470359 and permanently recovered BOFH.

    Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Littleton, CO
    Age
    36
    Posts
    2,856
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Probably "kernel-devel" and/or "kernel-headers".
    S.C.O.U.R.G.E. Heroes of lesser renown, contributor.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Freedonia
    Age
    71
    Posts
    3,076
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I didn't see kernel-devel in yumex, but might not have looked properly. Checking with youm, there's kernel-devel.i586 and I'm now installing it Just In Case.
    Registered Linux user #470359 and permanently recovered BOFH.

    Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Connellsville, PA, USA
    Posts
    11,308
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by sidebrnz
    I didn't see kernel-devel in yumex, but might not have looked properly. Checking with youm, there's kernel-devel.i586 and I'm now installing it Just In Case.
    "i586" ? I don't think that's a good idea unless you really, actually have an i586 kernel installed and running... you want the i686 kernel-devel packages that match the installed kernels.

    V

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,430
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello sidebrnz

    You really shouldn't just install kernel-devel without checking what you need.

    The command:

    Code:
    uname -a
    in a terminal will tell you that.

    On this machine for instance it reports:

    [bbfuller@atx17 Desktop]$ uname -a
    Linux atx17.local 2.6.25.6-27.fc8 #1 SMP Fri Jun 13 16:38:52 EDT 2008 i686 athlon i386 GNU/Linux
    I've highlighted in red where it shows the architecture of the kernel on this machine. So I would be looking for the kernel-devel package that matched "2.6.25.6-27.fc8" and "i686". I'd be surprised if you had i586.

    The thing is then, that once you have a kernel and it's matching devel package installed, using yum to do updates should update the kernel and its associated devel package.

    I would have thought that if you installed akmod-ndiswrapper it would have installed the kernel-devel package as a dependency. Depending on how you are looking for it the kernel-devel package may not be "available for you to install because it already is.

    Don't get into the situation where you have kernel-devel i586 and i686 on the same machine. It's unecessary, it's also probably dangerous.

    Code:
    rpm -q kernel-devel
    will tell you just what you already have.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Freedonia
    Age
    71
    Posts
    3,076
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanx for the advice. I'll get the right one installed. Why, however, would I have installed akmod-ndiswrapper when I only need akmond-nvidia?

    Checking, I have the i686 installed, not the i586. All's swell that ends swell, as Cutie Bunny used to say.
    Last edited by sidebrnz; 5th July 2008 at 06:33 AM. Reason: More info
    Registered Linux user #470359 and permanently recovered BOFH.

    Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,430
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello sidebrnz

    Why, however, would I have installed akmod-ndiswrapper when I only need akmond-nvidia?
    No reason at all as far as I can see. This thread has been using nvidia as an example but there are several other packages out there that work on the akmod principle. Maybe you just clicked on the wrong one?

    It shouldn't do any harm installed in any case.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. kmod vs akmod
    By mathan in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 27th January 2014, 04:01 PM
  2. [SOLVED]
    akmod can not build kmod-nvidia-96xx
    By saqer in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 26th July 2009, 09:26 AM
  3. kmod to akmod -question
    By GoinEasy9 in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 26th June 2009, 11:23 PM
  4. how difference about kmod & akmod ?
    By tonjaa in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26th June 2009, 11:32 AM
  5. are akmod-nvidia and kmod-nvidia exclusive?
    By marko in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd February 2009, 03:26 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •