VMWare Tools error Workstation 5.0.0 build 13124
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    testlinux4ever Guest

    Exclamation VMWare Tools error Workstation 5.0.0 build 13124

    Ok so I am complete Noob to this (well not complete) and I have tried so hard to install VMware tools so my resolution will be better than 800x600.
    So far I have extracted the .tar.gz to a folder I like.
    I navigated to the .pl (perl) file I need to run to install the tools.
    It starts running and I follwed the instructions that the "Read_Me" file said to accept all default locations to install. So I did that and came up with a question that,
    asked me to find where the Kernel files with C something was, so I found THAT and typed the folder location as needed and got this error
    It is Fedora 8 also the Lightening plugin for Thunderbird will not go to any other view but the "Today" view. and some errors I can post but would have to reinstall. I was going to try Evolution, but resolution is KILLIN me.
    "see attachment"

    Any help would be much appreciated.
    Drew
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Linux VMWare problem.JPG 
Views:	129 
Size:	47.5 KB 
ID:	16388  
    Last edited by testlinux4ever; 13th June 2008 at 04:19 AM. Reason: missed something

  2. #2
    Seve's Avatar
    Seve is offline Retired Community Manager
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The GTA, Ontario, Canada
    Age
    62
    Posts
    12,371
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello:
    You need to install some packages
    From a terminal:

    su -

    yum groupinstall "Development Tools" " Legacy Software Development"
    [Using the exact syntax including the quotes.
    Then

    yum install kernel-devel kernel-headers


    Seve
    Registered Linux User: #384977
    .................................................. ............
    See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    49
    Posts
    4,164
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Why VMWARE Workstation? What is wrong with Vmware Server?

    http://fedorasolved.org/server-solut...server-install

    VMWare Server 1.0.6 does not need patching.

  4. #4
    testlinux4ever Guest

    Question Still Problems

    I did the instructions to the "T" and still same issue I even looked somewhere else and tryed pointing it in a different location and that didnt work either. Do you have any more suggestions?

  5. #5
    Seve's Avatar
    Seve is offline Retired Community Manager
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The GTA, Ontario, Canada
    Age
    62
    Posts
    12,371
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello:
    What is the output of
    rpm -aq | grep kernel|sort
    and
    uname -r

    Seve
    Registered Linux User: #384977
    .................................................. ............
    See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    HK
    Age
    39
    Posts
    196
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    my kernel devel src is something like this:
    /usr/src/kernels/2.6.25.6-55.fc9.x86_64/include

    and I have totally 3 of them...

    even tho i am F9, i think your location should be similar?? At least normally we got 2 kernel source (kernel-devel package) kept??

    On my vmware server, my src path for c compiler eventually become this

    [/lib/modules/2.6.25.6-55.fc9.x86_64/build/include]

    I think that's because I have compiled that since my first installation.....

  7. #7
    testlinux4ever Guest

    Talking

    Quote Originally Posted by meowdin
    my kernel devel src is something like this:
    /usr/src/kernels/2.6.25.6-55.fc9.x86_64/include

    and I have totally 3 of them...

    even tho i am F9, i think your location should be similar?? At least normally we got 2 kernel source (kernel-devel package) kept??

    On my vmware server, my src path for c compiler eventually become this

    [/lib/modules/2.6.25.6-55.fc9.x86_64/build/include]

    I think that's because I have compiled that since my first installation.....
    I actually tried both of those paths because I was doing some reading till like 11pm last night. My paths were a little different because of the kernel# but that didnt work either. So I read this one thing that said the version of VMWare Tools I am using might be too old.

    Hence the reason I believe Seve had me install " Legacy Software Development"

    So I coped out and took advice of marcblevins and downloaded and installed VMWare Server 1.6 last night and updated it this morning before I had to come to work.

    Thanks for all the help I will be on here quite a bit because I am trying to transition from M$ to Open Source world and this is my start.

    I actually had issues with Lightening Plugin for Thunderbird too with the last install where it wouldnt let me view the "Month View".

    Hopefully that will be fixed along with the resolution issue.
    Thanks guys,
    Drew

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    4,851
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by marcrblevins
    Why VMWARE Workstation? What is wrong with Vmware Server?

    http://fedorasolved.org/server-solut...server-install

    VMWare Server 1.0.6 does not need patching.
    I'm confused. Who said anything about patching?

    In both VMWare Server and VMware workstation, in order to build the tools in a Linux guest, you need certain devel tools (C compiler, kernel headers, make, etc.).
    - Tom
    "What is freedom? To have the will to be responsible for one's self." - Stirner

  9. #9
    testlinux4ever Guest
    Tjvanwyk,
    So your solution is????????

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    4,851
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, I'm not sure. I was just confused why "patching" was mentioned because the tools have to be built against the kernel of the guest Linux VM.

    I've been trying in vain to get the tools working in Fedora and Debian guests, and have only managed to get some of the functions working (for instance, I can't get mouse and clipboard integration working). I can get the tools to build, but some of the functionality isn't there.

    Maybe this will help:
    http://www.howtoforge.com/vmware_tools_on_linux
    Last edited by forkbomb; 14th June 2008 at 09:21 PM.
    - Tom
    "What is freedom? To have the will to be responsible for one's self." - Stirner

  11. #11
    testlinux4ever Guest
    Cheers,
    I will try this more when I get off work and always keep posted on results.
    I really hope to rid of the buggy 800x600 resolution, which is the main reason for doing this.
    I believe it is not supporting a better resolution because of the VMWare tools. (at least that is what I have read.

    Seve,
    I will also get the results of the cmd you advised, if I still have issues with this new VM-server setup.

    Thanks again
    Drew

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    4,851
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by testlinux4ever
    Cheers,
    I believe it is not supporting a better resolution because of the VMWare tools. (at least that is what I have read.
    Yup. I believe 800x600 is the limit for Linux guests unless you install the tools. I've managed to get higher res by installing the tools but the configure script seems to be messing up the Xorg config (had to hand edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf to force the proper resolution).

    VirtualBox seems to be easier for getting better resolutions and mouse integration working in Linux guests.

    EDIT: about to try a Fedora 8 VM in VMware server. We'll see if it has something to do with F9.
    Last edited by forkbomb; 14th June 2008 at 11:38 PM.
    - Tom
    "What is freedom? To have the will to be responsible for one's self." - Stirner

  13. #13
    testlinux4ever Guest

    Arrow

    Quote Originally Posted by Seve
    Hello:
    What is the output of
    rpm -aq | grep kernel|sort
    and
    uname -r

    Seve
    Here are the results from that cmd
    Some how in my last install I had made a change so I can view the whole path while browsing through folders and it didnt open in another window. I am searching like hell for that setting to make my life better.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	kernel headers.JPG 
Views:	183 
Size:	15.0 KB 
ID:	16415  

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    4,851
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Grr... so I just tried Fedora 8 in VMware Server (I know, the thread is about Workstation, but same basic principle and same tools) and the modules would not build. I'm through trying to troubleshoot why. Then I tried F8 in Virtualbox and the tools wouldn't build there, either.

    I'm thinking Fedora doesn't do well in VMs.
    - Tom
    "What is freedom? To have the will to be responsible for one's self." - Stirner

  15. #15
    Seve's Avatar
    Seve is offline Retired Community Manager
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The GTA, Ontario, Canada
    Age
    62
    Posts
    12,371
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by testlinux4ever
    Here are the results from that cmd
    Some how in my last install I had made a change so I can view the whole path while browsing through folders and it didnt open in another window. I am searching like hell for that setting to make my life better.
    Hello:
    I cannot read the whole output ?

    What I was looking for is that the output of
    uname -r
    matches the installed version of
    kernel-devel and kernel-headers

    Seve
    Registered Linux User: #384977
    .................................................. ............
    See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Fedora 7 & VMware Tools (6.0.1 build 55017)
    By cryptic1 in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 24th September 2007, 03:28 PM
  2. vm tools in vmware workstation 6.0 and fc7
    By teto in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25th July 2007, 02:42 AM
  3. FC3 Test1 on VMware Workstation 4.5.2, cannot install the vmware tools
    By aiirii in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25th August 2004, 01:11 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •