Wine fix for F9
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    leigh123linux Guest

    Thumbs up Wine fix for F9

    If you get this error when running wine in F9

    err:dosmem:setup_dos_mem error
    add this line to /etc/sysctl.conf


    Code:
    # wine fix for F9
    vm.mmap_min_addr = 0
    i.e
    Code:
    # Kernel sysctl configuration file for Red Hat Linux
    #
    # For binary values, 0 is disabled, 1 is enabled.  See sysctl(8) and
    # sysctl.conf(5) for more details.
    
    # Controls IP packet forwarding
    net.ipv4.ip_forward = 0
    
    # Controls source route verification
    net.ipv4.conf.default.rp_filter = 1
    
    # Do not accept source routing
    net.ipv4.conf.default.accept_source_route = 0
    
    # Controls the System Request debugging functionality of the kernel
    kernel.sysrq = 0
    
    # Controls whether core dumps will append the PID to the core filename.
    # Useful for debugging multi-threaded applications.
    kernel.core_uses_pid = 1
    
    # Controls the use of TCP syncookies
    net.ipv4.tcp_syncookies = 1
    
    # wine fix for F9
    vm.mmap_min_addr = 0

    And run
    Code:
    su -
    sysctl -w vm.mmap_min_addr=0
    Last edited by leigh123linux; 18th May 2008 at 01:48 PM.

  2. #2
    JN4OldSchool is offline "Sean The Terrible" -- The forum(er) Vista® rep
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    8,819
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey, I wonder if this is why e-sword just locks my computer forcing a reboot? I will try it. Thanks.

  3. #3
    leigh123linux Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by JN4OldSchool
    Hey, I wonder if this is why e-sword just locks my computer forcing a reboot? I will try it. Thanks.
    I didn't a crash with this , I just got a load of ugly output and the .exe failed to run .

  4. #4
    JN4OldSchool is offline "Sean The Terrible" -- The forum(er) Vista® rep
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    8,819
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I might have to reinstall e-sword. I did the preupgrade thing and this is the last problem I am facing. I actually fixed everything else...I think...

Similar Threads

  1. COMPLETELY REMOVE WINE (Wine + Itunes and Quicktime installation = Trouble)
    By billyransier in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 19th November 2010, 06:34 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3rd February 2008, 08:51 AM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 17th January 2007, 12:19 AM
  4. wine, wine-core, wine-tools
    By GL1800 in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 7th July 2006, 08:36 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •