FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    154

    Thumbs down gdmsetup in Fedora 9

    Something I can not find the Manager of a window of an input in system gdmsetup?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    9
    I can't configure the login window in F9. In F8 there is a gui called "Login Window" in the System - Administration menu (it calls /usr/bin/gdmsetup) where I can set some options. Is there something else for F9 ???

  3. #3
    Seve's Avatar
    Seve is offline Retired Community Manager
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The GTA, Ontario, Canada
    Age
    59
    Posts
    12,371
    Hello:

    GDM Rewrite

    A rewrite of GDM is underway. On 15 October 2007, the new design replaced the existing SVN trunk.

    At the moment, this rewrite provides a functional login program, but is missing some features which are in the last stable (2.20) branch. It would be great if more people could get involved to help complete the rewrite.

    The existing stable branch will continue to be maintained with bug fixes until the rewrite is ready. Apologies for any inconveniences this causes while we are working on this rewrite.
    See /NewDesign for details.

    GDM (last edited 2008-04-15 23:15:50 by AndrewCase)
    http://live.gnome.org/GDM

    http://live.gnome.org/GDM/2.22/Configuration


    Seve
    Registered Linux User: #384977
    .................................................. ............
    See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    9
    Thanks for the answer!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    London Postbox (the red one)
    Age
    52
    Posts
    3,868
    Hi, as a way round it is possible to still use the f8 gdm, but dont advise it
    http://dnmouse.webs.com/autologin.html

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1
    Hello all.

    It is possible to edit /usr/share/backgrounds/waves/waves.xml to customize your GDM background.
    This is not the cleanest solution, but does work.
    Instructions and example here: http://www.hacktux.com/fedora/gdm/theme

    Hope this helps.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    56
    Is there a way to change the picture displayed next to each login name?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    64
    I've done it ugly way ... don't recommend to do it the same way as it will affect some other programs that might use system icon stock. I've substituted "stock_person.svg" in /usr/share/icons/gnome/scalable/generic/ .. to my avatar. It has to be in svg format.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    17
    So...yeah...was this "rewrite" ever completed? FC10 is now out and still no gdmsetup for FC9. Tell me to upgrade to FC10 to get it fixed and I won't be happy...

    Swill
    And you ate the whole... wheel of cheese? How'd you do that? Heck, I'm not even mad; that's amazing.

  10. #10
    Wayne Guest
    Nope, not yet, maybe by Fedora 11..... or 12

    Wayne

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    18

    ..poor

    Why was the login window feature removed. This was well handy and allowed you to login to the gui remotely which is critical for what i need to do.. FC8 was a good release for me 9 and 10 are going backwards in my opionion feature that were there are now missing and fedora is treating the user like a dumb ***k....aka ubuntu... If i want to login as root let me for christ sake.....Fedora is making things more difficult to do rather than easier. Why remove the login window feature... Yes rewrite the code but don't smash the old one up before you have a replacement!

    ... All hail Windows 7!
    Last edited by dodyryda; 24th February 2009 at 09:59 PM.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    64
    at least in ubuntu everything works ( including xrandr S-video option for radeon, including t43 thinkpad volume buttons (no writing of your own scripts ) etc. ) .... fedora is now only on one of my machines .. used to be on 3!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    18
    Think I'll give it a go, need to rebuild a server anyway .. The whole reason I used Fedora (7) when initally set up the server was the fact it didn't prevent root login. Why do all big companies copy each other rather than find their own path?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Ann Arbor
    Age
    50
    Posts
    3,952
    Why was the login window feature removed.
    they were not removed .The code for GDM is being rewrote and this is only a " it's working, sort-of" build of the current dev code.
    OpenSUSE 13.2-64bit & Scientific Linux 6.6-64bit ( fedora 4 to 11) and 20 on KVM
    My Celestia Downloads

    h t t p ://celestiamotherlode.net/catalog/show_creator_details.php?creator_id=10

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    18

    functionailty was removed

    the functionality was removed, I used to be able in FC8 to ssh in to my box and then vnc to the gui login window and then logon to my machine by allowing this via options in the menu 'Login Window' - this functionality was extreamly useful and has been removed now if a power blip or something unforseen happens and computer reboots I cannot get access to my desktop remotely as the session is logged off and you can only connect via a logged in session..

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. CentOS gdmsetup problem
    By granade in forum Linux Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16th January 2009, 03:07 AM
  2. Gdm themes without gdmsetup in F9 ?
    By Brombor in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15th May 2008, 07:09 PM
  3. FC6: gdmsetup files
    By mnisay in forum EOL (End Of Life) Versions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21st February 2007, 05:07 PM
  4. gdmsetup hanging all of a sudden
    By FedoraUK in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29th September 2006, 09:04 PM
  5. Can't access gdmsetup
    By Rick069 in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27th May 2006, 09:23 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •