Ubuntu Hardy's LCD sub-pixel font rendering in Fedora 9 - Page 6
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 6 of 11 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6 7 8 ... LastLast
Results 76 to 90 of 161
  1. #76
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    70
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you're familiar with roaming around in /etc/yum.repos.d/, then it's not an impossible task to make your own, local repository of Brebs's stuff.

    Here's the idea. We want to make a shell script that could do this stuff:

    1. Automatically download the new packages
    2. Create a local repository for Yum
    3. Run "yum update", or perhaps "yum update --enablerepo=[The New Repo Here]"

    Let's get started. Try creating a folder called "freetyperepo" or something, and then run these commands in a terminal:
    Code:
    cd freetyperepo
    wget -N ftp://brebs.me.uk/fedora/9/cairo*.fc9.i386.rpm ftp://brebs.me.uk/fedora/9/freetype*.fc9.i386.rpm ftp://brebs.me.uk/fedora/9/fontconfig*.fc9.i386.rpm ftp://brebs.me.uk/fedora/9/libXft*.fc9.i386.rpm ftp://brebs.me.uk/fedora/9/pixman*.fc9.i386.rpm
    
    cd ..
    createrepo freetyperepo/
    That will download the newest versions of the packages from Brebs's site (thank goodness for FTP and wildcards). After that, make a repository (.repo) file for that folder. Example freetyperepo.repo:
    Code:
    [fedora-freetype]
    name=Fedora $releasever Freetype - $basearch
    baseurl=file:///home/myNameHere/freetyperepo/
    enabled=0
    gpgcheck=0
    You'll see I leave mine disabled by default (you could do enabled=1 if you like), and I have to enable mine with --enablerepo on the command line, or from the Repository Page in Yumex.

    Drop that .repo file in your /etc/yum.repos.d/ folder. Then either run the yum command, or use Yumex.

  2. #77
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    162
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I wonder as these patched packages are way way better than vanilla fedora pkgs why doesnt fedora include them by default Let all the people who would like out of the box experience enjoy them.

  3. #78
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    558
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Come on, read this thread. The question is already answered. Click on the clicky links.

  4. #79
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    162
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    got it patent issues right

  5. #80
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    110
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm honestly going to consider switching to Ubuntu as I think this is essential and should be included by default.
    Samsung SpinPoint 500GB & 320GB SATA-II, Corsair HX 520W, Corsair 4GB, Quad Q6600 SLACR, EVGA 8800 GTS 512MB, Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme, Samsung SH-S203NRSMN DVD±RW SATA, Abit IP35, Antec Solo, Dell 22 inch (SP2208WFP), Logitech MX518 & Desktop Wave, Auzen X-Plosion

  6. #81
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    36
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Exclamation

    Quote Originally Posted by brebs
    For F10, grab the 5 .src.rpms and recompile & install in order:

    pixman (might as well compile first, although it's only needed by cairo)
    freetype
    fontconfig
    libXft
    cairo
    Hi,

    i have a problem compiling freetype-2.3.7-3.fc9.src.rpm under Fedora 10 (latest rawhide updates)

    [boss@david SPECS]$ rpmbuild -ba freetype.spec
    Executing(%prep): /bin/sh -e /var/tmp/rpm-tmp.vPLiPE
    + umask 022
    + cd /home/boss/rpmbuild/BUILD
    + LANG=C
    + export LANG
    + unset DISPLAY
    + cd /home/boss/rpmbuild/BUILD
    + rm -rf freetype-2.3.7
    + /usr/bin/bzip2 -dc /home/boss/rpmbuild/SOURCES/freetype-2.3.7.tar.bz2
    + /bin/tar -xf -
    + STATUS=0
    + '[' 0 -ne 0 ']'
    + /usr/bin/bzip2 -dc /home/boss/rpmbuild/SOURCES/freetype-doc-2.3.7.tar.bz2
    + /bin/tar -xf -
    + STATUS=0
    + '[' 0 -ne 0 ']'
    + cd freetype-2.3.7
    + /usr/bin/bzip2 -dc /home/boss/rpmbuild/SOURCES/ft2demos-2.3.7.tar.bz2
    + /bin/tar -xf -
    + STATUS=0
    + '[' 0 -ne 0 ']'
    + /bin/chmod -Rf a+rX,u+w,g-w,o-w .
    + echo 'Patch #1 (freetype-bytecode-interpreter.patch):'
    Patch #1 (freetype-bytecode-interpreter.patch):
    + /bin/cat /home/boss/rpmbuild/SOURCES/freetype-bytecode-interpreter.patch
    + /usr/bin/patch -s -p0 -b --suffix .freetype-bytecode-interpreter --fuzz=0
    + echo 'Patch #2 (freetype-2.1.7-backwards.compat.patch):'
    Patch #2 (freetype-2.1.7-backwards.compat.patch):
    + /bin/cat /home/boss/rpmbuild/SOURCES/freetype-2.1.7-backwards.compat.patch
    + /usr/bin/patch -s -p0 -b --suffix .freetype-2.1.7-backwards.compat --fuzz=0
    1 out of 1 hunk FAILED -- saving rejects to file src/base/ftbase.c.rej
    error: Bad exit status from /var/tmp/rpm-tmp.vPLiPE (%prep)


    RPM build errors:
    Bad exit status from /var/tmp/rpm-tmp.vPLiPE (%prep)

  7. #82
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    558
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dhlacik
    --fuzz=0
    That is the problem. "man patch" says:
    The default maximum fuzz factor is 2.
    I haven't a clue why Fedora or whoever have changed the default fuzz factor for patches from 2 to 0. Change it back with e.g.:
    Code:
    %patch4 -F 2 -p1

  8. #83
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    36
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by brebs
    Code:
    %patch4 -F 2 -p1
    Thanks, that worked.

  9. #84
    Belkira Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by brebs
    I haven't a clue why Fedora or whoever have changed the default fuzz factor for patches from 2 to 0.
    It's a policy, so package monkeys review fuzzy patches which no longer apply.

  10. #85
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    558
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    cairo 1.8.2 is out, fixing a few bugs as usual. Get it from the usual place, stated at the start of this thread.

  11. #86
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    558
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Fedora 10 RPMs are now available.

  12. #87
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    110
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This patch or rather the patches posted by leigh123@linux on http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...=175874&page=2 are actually better than ubuntu's version. Some fonts such as inconsolata render much better with leigh's version.

    I haven't tried yours brebs. Care to explain how yours differs?
    Samsung SpinPoint 500GB & 320GB SATA-II, Corsair HX 520W, Corsair 4GB, Quad Q6600 SLACR, EVGA 8800 GTS 512MB, Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme, Samsung SH-S203NRSMN DVD±RW SATA, Abit IP35, Antec Solo, Dell 22 inch (SP2208WFP), Logitech MX518 & Desktop Wave, Auzen X-Plosion

  13. #88
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    558
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mohbana
    render much better
    Are you forgetting that, in ~/.fonts.conf, you can specify e.g. hintnone, hintslight, hintmedium, hintfull - on a per-font basis.

    It's just another slight rendering algorithm variation. Use whatever you prefer.

    Tell you what - create a patch which includes "hintcleartype" or whatever you want to call Leigh's version, and I'll include it

    Care to explain how yours differs?
    It's Ubuntu's rendering, with occasionally some upstream git patches. See the main Gentoo thread I keep linking to, for explanations to all the usual questions.

  14. #89
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    110
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I using Ubuntu 8.10 at the moment, here's the a screenshot of subpixel enabled and hinting at full;

    http://img148.imageshack.us/my.php?i...untu810xm4.png

    Quite strange, since If I use leigh's patches on Fedora with the exact same settings the output is great.

    Quote Originally Posted by brebs
    Are you forgetting that, in ~/.fonts.conf, you can specify e.g. hintnone, hintslight, hintmedium, hintfull - on a per-font basis.
    No I didn't. Thanks! MS's consolas and Inconsolata seems to only render well with hinting set to None or Medium.

    Quote Originally Posted by brebs
    It's Ubuntu's rendering, with occasionally some upstream git patches. See the main Gentoo thread I keep linking to, for explanations to all the usual questions.
    So your packages does include http://quanli.googlepages.com/davidt...esfordebiansid?
    Samsung SpinPoint 500GB & 320GB SATA-II, Corsair HX 520W, Corsair 4GB, Quad Q6600 SLACR, EVGA 8800 GTS 512MB, Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme, Samsung SH-S203NRSMN DVD±RW SATA, Abit IP35, Antec Solo, Dell 22 inch (SP2208WFP), Logitech MX518 & Desktop Wave, Auzen X-Plosion

  15. #90
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    558
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Using "inconsolata" font? Apparently it doesn't have truetype hinting. Anyway, use the power of ~/.fonts.conf to tell fontconfig how you prefer to view the font.

    Your link is old news. There are several variations of David Turner's original algorithm, e.g. lcdlight, lcdlegacy.

Page 6 of 11 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6 7 8 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 48
    Last Post: 2nd September 2008, 07:02 PM
  2. weird font rendering in Fedora 7
    By oayfer in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 23rd October 2007, 10:50 PM
  3. Font Rendering - Fedora 7
    By euler2 in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20th June 2007, 01:54 PM
  4. Font rendering is so bad in Fedora 7 on my LCD
    By cr4ck3r in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 10th June 2007, 04:19 AM
  5. Font rendering in Fedora
    By mario.lopes in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th February 2005, 12:35 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •